Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cornbread Mix Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cornbread Mix

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on August 13, 2008

      Excellent mix. I like to substitute 1 cup of dry buttermilk powder for 1 cup of the powdered milk and use 1/2 cup of sugar. Perfect Southern style cornbread! I'm also thinking about adding powdered eggs to the mix if I can work out the correct ratio...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2010

      This is great! I'm doing homemade gift baskets for Christmas this year, and I'm pairing this with bags of homemade chili mix. This tastes a whole lot better than boxed cornbread, and it bakes beautifully. I like having this on hand at home, too. I like mine a little less sweet, so reducing the sugar is the only change I made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2010

      Very good, and thank you for sharing this one. I discovered that the 2.5 cups mix for a single batch will fit in a pint jar with a little persuasion. (I packed it down with the back of a spoon to get the last half cup of mix in) This will make it easier to label and store.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2008

      Excellant! Can't get cornbread mix around here so this is great for recipes that call for a box mix. Very easy to put together; I made the cornbread as written , except I used splenda instead of sugar, turned out wonderful, we love it. It does make a lot so I will share it with a friend. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2008

      A friend made the whole amount of your cornbread mix and nicely gave me enough for two batches. It is wonderful. I am not a baker and it came out perfect! My neigbor gave me a lot of peaches so I thought it would be nice to put peaches on the bottom of the corn bread - It worked - Great breakfast treat -No extra sugar added and no butter needed on the cornbread - Loved it Thanks Paula for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2008

      love this stuff. i just dump it all in my mixer and let it go while i'm doing something else. couldn't be easier, plus cheaper and better for you than boxed mixes. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      excellent......

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      This was really good! I made some before giving as part of a gift basket (I just put the mix in a mason jar with instructions). I scaled recipe to 7 Cups instead of 10 1/2, and it came out pretty close to both allowing me to make one batch plus fill a 1 Quart jar (4 Cups).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2007

      Quite nice, but i found the end product a little 'grainy' ... not sure what cornmeal actually is, here in australia, though -- i used polenta, and suspect that's why it's grainy. Paula suggested i grind the polenta - i did with a coffee grinder, and whola! In the next batch, i also reduced the salt and oil by half. It was great - my toddler loved it with pumpkin soup, and i know this might gross out some americans, but margarine and vegemite on the cornbread! yummmm. thanks, paula!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2007

      Excellent mixture. We can't purchase ready made cornbread mixes up here so this came in extremely handy when doing Extra Moist Jalapeno Cornbread (Extra Moist Jalapeno Cornbread) by yay78006. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      Very good and easy! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      Great mix that made great cornbread! I packaged 2 1/2 cup portions in quart-sized ziploc bags for storage, with ingredients and baking directions written on the outside, which made prep go even more quickly. Used half whole wheat pastry flour, half unbleached flour in the mix, and oil for the cornbread. After reading the other reviews, am also thinking of using part plain yogurt or buttermilk for the water in future batches. Lovely moist cornbread with a nice crisp crust with the convenience of a mix, but with no hydrogenated fats or lard like the yukky boxed versions. Thanks, Paula!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2006

      This made some of the best cornbread you can make. I was making this for Corn Bread Confetti Salad so I added 1 cup of cheddar cheese and a hot pepper to it, but I know it would be just as good as written. Now my oven has a mind of its own and after about 13 minutes it was golden brown, so I tented foil over it and baked for the full 25 minutes in my cast iron skillet, which is the only way to make cornbread, and it turned out perfect. Don't know if I'll use another corbread mix recipe or not. This is the best and very versital. Thanks Paula Update: I made this again today to have for my crockpot dressing and I used 1 cup buttermilk instead of the water and it was absolutely wonderful. thanks again Paula

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2006

      Thanks Paula, I was looking everywhere for cornbread mix, but couldn't find any. This worked great. I now have the prepared cornbread mix for when I need it.The cornbread was very good, it had a nice flavour and dense texture. I used it in stuffing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2006

      this is really easy to throw together and keep in the pantry. i followed the recipe for cornbread, very basic, but i can see this working well with added corn, cheeses, and maybe even milk instead of water- it will be fun experimenting with this mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2006

      This is a handy mix to have in the cupboard, and I can see myself using this in many different recipes, thanks Paula!...Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cornbread Mix

    Serving Size: 1 (1720 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 487.0
     
    Calories from Fat 45
    38%
    Total Fat 5.0 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 25.8 mg
    8%
    Sodium 1554.4 mg
    64%
    Total Carbohydrate 97.3 g
    32%
    Dietary Fiber 5.1 g
    20%
    Sugars 19.9 g
    79%
    Protein 14.3 g
    28%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cornbread mix

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites