9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Same way we make ours with a few modifications. We use almond milk, and 1/4c of honey or maple syrup rather them sugar. Delish!! but as it says above, don't over mix the batter! it dry's a good batch of corn bread right out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Autumn D. April 02, 2014

Made as directed using milk instead of buttermilk (as that's what I had) and served with Hamhocks n greens. Easy to put together, but for us I think the baking time was a little to long as it was kind of dry so think next time I'll reduce it by 5 minutes. The flavor was good with just a hint of sweetness that we enjoyed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 July 20, 2013

I made this last night and my family enjoyed it lots. Substituted coarser cane sugar for the regular sugar, which gave it a bit extra pebbliness of texture that my southern partner assures me is authentic, plus used soy flour instead of the typical flour. Yum! It was all gone before dinner was done ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Geri by the Sea March 18, 2012

I just made this a few minutes ago and I LOVE IT!! My first ever attempt at "from scratch" cornbread. It was wonderful! The perfect amount of sweetness. I also want to try it sometime with a little less sugar and some cheese as another reviewer did. And maybe sometime with some jalapeno in it. I'll never make cornbread from a box mix again...definitely a keeper....thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommaJen January 01, 2010

This cornbread is delicious. It is quick and easy. We make ours with rice milk and gluten free flours. I need to find a recipe for a 12 inch skillet....this only lasts one meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jengehl December 29, 2008

Wow, this is really good! You weren't kidding when you said the batter was thick, but DH and I really thought it was good, it's sweet cornbread and it tastes extra good with some honey butter

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hojo January 31, 2008

This is really good -- tastes like true southern cooking. I made the original recipe a couple of times and made it last night with a little bit of artistic license. I added a cup of shredded cheddar and cut the sugar to 1/4 cup. It was really excellent that way, too. Great recipe, Greg!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
toost December 31, 2007

This was so yummy. One of the best cornbread recipes I have ever tried. It's kind of funny how I chose this particular recipe...I was watching ESPN the morning I was making chili and what town should be on the TV but Barrow, Alaska...talking about an astroturf field for the team. LOL But the name caught my attention when I was looking through the cornbread recipes and I am sure glad it did! Super recipe, Greg! Thanks so much! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookinggina November 26, 2007
Cornbread in a Skillet