Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cornbread Heaven (Vegan, Gluten Free) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cornbread Heaven (Vegan, Gluten Free)

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on October 27, 2011

      You may be hesitating and thinking, "Is this REALLY going to work?". But don't. It works!! It's delicious!! Instead of refined sugar, I used palm sugar. It was sweet and moist, scrumptious!! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      MMMmmmmm! I changed a few things on your recipe, but not much. I swapped honey for sugar because I like honey in cornbread. I also did grease the pan (and I am glad I did) and I did preheat the oven. Pan size wasn't specified, but I used an 8x8 pan and the bread ended up being about 1 inch thick. So if you want a thicker bread, use a 6x6 or double the recipe. WE at nearly the entire pan between my husband and I and my 2 year old son served with some ham and bean soup (we are not vegan...just gluten free). I will definitely make it again. It was really really easy (much easier than most gluten free or even regular recipes) and should have a good amount of protein with all those almonds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2012

      This recipe rocks! I am doing a vegan/GF detox diet right now and needed something bread-like. All the other recipes I found used lots of ingredients that I do not have on hand, so this one was perfect! Used 1/4 C agave nectar instead of sugar, added into the blender with the water in step 1. Added additional 1/4 TB cornstarch to compensate for the extra liquid from using the agave. Baked until the edges were golden and the top was crackly. I didn't grease the baking dish and it came out fine, mine was not crumbly at all. Much denser than my regular flour-based cornbread but very tasty! Great plain as well as drizzled with additional agave nectar. THANK YOU FOR THIS! I will be making it again!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2011

      I really appreciated this recipe! Simple and wholesome ingredients. It became a foundation to a few changes I made to the original recipe. I used coconut sugar granules in place of regular sugar and soaked 3 Tbsp of flax seeds and added it to the batter. I also used kudzu root as the starch and added a pinch of salt. I am experimenting more with the flavors, like adding jalapeno and sun dried tomatoes. The bread came out moist with a delightful crunchiness from the corn. I used a bit of ghee to butter the pan as well and preheated the oven. Thank you for posting this, it gave me a blueprint to making some delicious vegan and gluten free corn bread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2011

      Made it exactly as the recipe says.
      Tastes GREAT!!
      Kinda gritty and crumbly, but I'll take what I can get.

      Plan to make this again super soon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2014

      Awesome simple and tasty recipe! I make this for pretty much every pot-luck function I go to because I know just about anyone there (barring allergies) can have them. Thank you for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2014

      Everyone in the family liked it, but it is pretty sweet even after cutting the sugar in half (for my taste). I liked having the almonds in it instead of flour because that has to be better for my diabetic husband than regular corn bread. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2012

      Although I've certainly had better cornbread, this was surprisingly good given that it's vegan and gluten-free. And SO simple and fast to make! I had it with chili, and it's very yummy. I did, however, let it cook for about 25 minutes as opposed to the 12-15 minutes that is called for in the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cornbread Heaven (Vegan, Gluten Free)

    Serving Size: 1 (52 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 127.3
     
    Calories from Fat 44
    34%
    Total Fat 4.9 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 125.0 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 8.8 g
    35%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes