Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cornbread Dressing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cornbread Dressing

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on December 02, 2003

      Unbelievable! I made a side of this because some of us Southerners just have to have our cornbread stuffing and everyone just raved! It was the best I have ever had! Thanks a keeper! 1

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2003

      Dh is sending a big sloppy kiss your way, Bev. In twenty years, I've never been able to make the "right" cornbread dressing. Thank you so much for the "right" recipe! This Yankee girl prefers her bread stuffing, but my Southern boy likes his cornbread and his mom can't make it either. He actually put some aside tonight after dinner and plans to take it to my MIL tomorrow morning. Says it'll bring back memories for both of them. Thank you so much for the real thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2010

      First off I have to tell everyone I dont like cornbread dressing or any stuffing for that matter. I made this recipe cause my boyfriend is a huge cornbread dressing lover. It has nothing to do with taste, it is a texture thing for me, but i had every intention of trying this recipe. Since I dont eat dressing I doubled it not knowing how much it would make. :) haha jokes on me... it made alot. :) The smell putting everythng together was yuummmmyy.. I did enjoy this dressing. The mixture of the cornbread and toast made a difference for me. I really didnt realize how much work went into the recipe. I boiled six turkey legs with celery and onions, pulled the meat and used the broth for the recipe. I did still cook celery and onions as the recipe calls for. It was very flavorful and i will make this again.... and eat it also. :) Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      This is just like Mom's! She always used biscuits and cornbread so that's what I used. It was very moist and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      I'm making cornbread (whenever I say it it sounds like conebread) dressing right now. My grandma told me how to make hers, which is delicious, about 2 years ago and I'm about halfway through and I couldn't remember what to do. Thank you for this recipe, it's similar to what my grandma does. I'm not a fan of white bread in my dressing though so I'll leave that out we also shred up some boiled chicken and put it in there along with some hard boiled egg, cut up into chunks, without yolk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      This recipe tastes just like my late mother-in-law used to make (except she never measured)! Since she passed, I have become the official dressing maker for the holidays! If using a disposable foil pan, make sure you put your pan on a cookie sheet when baking since it can be heavy and difficult to get in and out of the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2007

      I am a City girl raised by Southern women. For years my Aunt Emma has always made my dressing for the holidays. I was getting scared because she passed away this spring and I never got her recipe, but I've purchased the ingredients and this looks really close to the ingredients that she used. I will make a sample this month to see how close it tastes to my Aunt Emma's.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2006

      This is just like my dressing recipe, except that I only use a pinch of sage and about a tablespoon of poultry seasoning. Sometimes my proportions end up with a little more cornbread, or a little more bread, but it always turns out to be delicious. I usually bake at 350 for an hour or so; everything else I need to put in the oven at the same time cooks at 350, and the dressing is flexible as far as temperature goes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2004

      Definitely a keeper !!!! One word of caution... do not add 1 TBSP of salt all at once, especially if your cornbread, bread and stock might already be salted (like mine was). Even so, by adding some mashed cooked potatoes this turned out perfect. Oh instead of bread I used biscuits and I didn't use eggs... and I only used one teaspoon of sage... At first I wasn't going to rate this because of these changes... but here it is only a few weeks since Christmas and I'm already craving it !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      Wonderful!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      This is so simple, and yet so reminiscent of Mom's which involved my dad chopping for what seemed like two days. Truly enjoyed by all.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2008

      This dressing is delicious! I tried it last year, used store bought bread, and used turkey broth (after simmering turkey wings). That was my first time making dressing on my own and I received my mom's approval after 2 plates of it. She was convinced that her "baby girl" was growing up and knew how to cook! The recipe was easy to follow and will become a tradition in my home.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      Delicious. I had never used cornbread in my dressing before. I always just used regular white bread, but this is great! I made this to go along with a roasted chicken and will now include this with our holiday dinners from now on. I'm not sure why I've waited so long to try this. Thank you for this very flavorful side that just screams HOLIDAYS. Stephanie

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2007

      Fabulous - what else can I say? Probably the best cornbread dressing I've ever made and likely ever tasted. I did discover, however, that my large mixing bowl isn't quite big enough - if you are going to make this recipe, be sure you have a very very large bowl (bigger than the standard large mixing bowl) for mixing or it will overflow when you add the eggs.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2007

      My mom has always made the dressing at Thanksgiving, but this year I stayed home, so I searched until I found one that sounded close to hers, and was my first time making it myself. It was EXCELLENT...just like moms! I will be making this again next year and I'm sure for years to come. Thank you for posting it :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      Excellent!!! Perfect cornbread dressing. It does make a lot so make sure to use your largest mixing bowl. My only additions were 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder and 1/4 cup of drippings from the turkey I roasted. Delicious dressing!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2007

      This is a great dressing. I used croutons and used the seasoning packet for stuffing so I didn't use your seasonings. I used canned chicken broth. I didn't use the eggs. This recipe except for the eggs is my Mom's recipe for cornbread stuffing. She never wrote it down and I have been trying to come up with the recipe for my recipe book.Thank you for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2006

      We've been enjoying this recipe here. I've used chicken broth to substitute the turkey broth recommended in the recipe when we do not have the latter available, but otherwise this turns out well both ways.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2006

      I love "baking" my cornbread dressing in a crockpot. It will not dry out! You can put it on high early in the morning. When its done it stays hot in the crockpot and frees up the oven. de-de

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2006

      I thought this dressing was just perfect! Taste very similar to my mom's dressing. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cornbread Dressing

    Serving Size: 1 (104 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 220.7
     
    Calories from Fat 133
    60%
    Total Fat 14.7 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 8.3 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 123.5 mg
    41%
    Sodium 1145.8 mg
    47%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.8 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    13%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cornbread

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites