Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cornbread Chicken Pot Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cornbread Chicken Pot Pie

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on October 28, 2010

      This recipe is wonderful and so very versatile. The versatility is what I love about it.
      This is my absolute go-to dish when I have any left over meat, and I am looking for a recipe.
      I have made this with leftover chicken, turkey, beef, and even ham.
      The meat selection pretty much determines the soup selection, but not always. Creativity is the key.
      For chicken or turkey, I usually use cream of chicken soup; for beef I use cream of mushroom soup; for ham I use cream of celery soup.
      The vegetable selection depends on your mood. A can of mixed vegetables is the usual choice for me since it is so very easy.
      But you can play with the many cream soups.
      I have made this dish with beef and canned diced potatoes, ham with canned carrots and peas, chicken with butterbeans, etc.
      Everything does not have to be canned.
      Once, I cut up some leftover roast beef (lean part), sautéed some onion, bell pepper and mushrooms and added that to the mix. So good.
      I am always adding cheese to it, too. For chicken, turkey or beef, I usually add a quarter cup of cheddar to the meat/soup mixture (Sharp? Mild? Depends on my mood). For ham, I like shredded Swiss.
      And the choice of cornbread is a variable, too. You can use yellow, white, Mexican. Every one of them is a champion.
      Anyone who has ever read any of my reviews knows that I cannot stay out of the spice rack. Do not be afraid of adding spices to this recipe. Of course, that all depends on whom you are serving and what they like. But I will suggest that you always add a little black pepper and a touch of garlic.
      Other spices that I recommend as an optional dash are sage, rosemary, thyme, basil and/or paprika.
      Play with this recipe.
      Smile.
      Enjoy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2012

      This was so easy and amazing! It was quick enough to put together since I had all the stuff already and used left over chicken from the night before. Even my picky toddler loved it and wanted seconds, newly added to my monthly meal for left over chicken!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2011

      Great recipe for when you need something quick and easy! Instead of just corn, I used mixed veggies, and I didn't have any cream of chicken in the house, so I actually used cream of broccoli. It was absolutely delicious. I was concerned about the amount of milk that the recipe called for because the package called for less, but it cooked beautifully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2011

      I really like this recipe! It is economical, quick, and very hearty. I did make one change to the recipe, I used a can of mixed veggies, instead of a can of corn. I will definately make this again. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      I tried this with leftover rotisserie chicken, mushroom soup and 15oz of corn (all I had) and it was MARVELOUS!!! This from one who is not much of a cook but it was delish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2009

      One of my hubby's favorite meals! I use a can of mixed veggies in place of the can of corn, for variety, and sweet cornbread mix. We love the mix of sweet and savory that it gives the dish. I also sprinkle a little cheddar cheese in the soup mixture. Perfect for a cold winter day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      This is a family favorite. We use frozen corn instead of canned, and add 1/2 cup of shredded cheddar to the cornbread mix before baking, and it's scrumptious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      My boyfriend really liked this one. I think with just corn it wouldn't have been as good. We added peas, onion, and mushrooms as well. I was worried about the cornbread getting mushy for second day leftovers, but it held up well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2007

      Very easy to do, but I didn't like the cornbread as the crust for the potpie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2007

      This was fast and easy to make. It was also very delicious! A must try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2006

      I improvised a little with this by making a chicken gravy out of my roast chicken drippings and using this gravy in place of the cream of chicken soup. I used leftover chicken and roasted veggies from our roast the night before. I even threw in some of the roasted sweet potato pieces and some peas and mushrooms, and the whole thing turned out wonderful. I only used 2/3 cup milk cause I was worried- the mix I have says to use only 1/3 cup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2006

      I am a big fan of cornbread - so this was perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2006

      Good Stuff! I think I've made just about everything you've posted, and have yet to be disappointed....next time, I think I'll add some garbanzo beans just for kicks!! :-) Way to go, Rach2!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2006

      This was very good. I did substitute the cornbread with Grands biscuts (sliced in half). I added some frozen green beans, chopped carrots, and a dash of 1/2 and 1/2. I wanted to eat it all up. I'm going to make this a regular for my family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2006

      This was very easy to prepare and did take 45 minutes before the cornbread topping was baked. The filling was very good, but we just didn't care for the flavor of the cream of chicken soup with the cornbread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2006

      Being someone who loves cornbread this dish was awesome. I did add frozen peas to the mix and it came out great. Baking time was a little longer than suggested about 40 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2006

      A different twist on potpie! My family liked it, although I would have liked it to have more veggies like traditional potpies. I love how easy and quick it is to prepare. The only change I made was to add thyme to the chicken/corn/soup mixture. Thanks for a new idea for old favorites! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2005

      Delicious, I used ham rather than chicken or turkey. If you opt for ham be sure to use leftover baked ham rather than processed lunchmeat type ham. It was salty, but oh so good. Thanks for sharing. Great and easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2005

      Finishing the leftover chicken has never been this easy or yummy. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2005

      Love this! My favorite Friday night dinner! My husband rarely eats seconds but he eats seconds and thirds with this tasty dish. Thanks so much for the ease of this dish. I tend to add a lot of seasoning to the chicken though to give the dish some more flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cornbread Chicken Pot Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (323 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 532.7
     
    Calories from Fat 178
    33%
    Total Fat 19.8 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 5.9 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 112.7 mg
    37%
    Sodium 1311.2 mg
    54%
    Total Carbohydrate 60.5 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 5.1 g
    20%
    Sugars 14.1 g
    56%
    Protein 28.1 g
    56%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites