Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on September 27, 2012

      As advertised, this is very moist. Loved the texture (not crumbly) and flavor. I made one small change. I used a full cup of sour cream (light) and cut back the milk to compensate. Didn't want to store 1/4 cup leftover sour cream :) Baking time was perfect. Thanks for a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2010

      Great recipe! I evened out the ingredients for ease of remembering and doubled the recipe. The addition of sour cream made a nice change and the flavor was wonderful. I cooked it in two pans so that the cooked evenly. This will become my basic, no cheese, no fuss, no cream corn recipe for daily use. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2010

      Best I have ever eaten!! I had white self-ricing meal and adjusted the recipe accordingly. Baked in cast iron skillet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2010

      This is a wonderfull recipe, I love how moist it is, the first time I made it I could not believe it's flavor, I keep this posted to my frig. so I can find it quick. Thank You

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      Cut sugar in half, used F/F sour cream, F/F milk, and egg beaters, to cut down on calories, and baked it in my cast iron skillet. Still came out nice and moist and flavorful. It's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      The flavor was good but if I had left it in any longer the top would of burned but the middle pieces were inedible they were so undercooked. Could do it for a longer time at a lower temperature but I think next time I'll do it in a larger pan so they are a little thinner as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2009

      Cut the sugar in half and used Low Fat Sour Cream. Made rest of recipe as it was. YUMMY! It is moist and has a nice rise to it. Sometimes cornbread can fall flat. I baked in a glass dish and the bottom turned a nice golden brown. Not only is it good and easy to fix, it is also a great cutting cornbread and it looks pleasing to the eye. LOVE IT! A KEEPER and thank you! Hubby loved it too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      Hi Rachel,  I followed your recipe and made no changes.  Our cornbread was done in exactly 20 minutes. I'm glad I found your recipe. It was nice and moist and had just the right sweetness for our tastes. Thanks for sharing, I will be making this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      Excellent recipe. I threw in about 1/2 cup of corn I had leftover and it was great. I don't like my cornbread sweet so I cut the sugar down to 1 T. Cornbread came out moist, will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      Best cornbread I've ever made! Seriously! Thanks for posting this, it's definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      Great recipe! It turned out wonderful. Thanks,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      I made this as written, and it was wonderful! Moist enough not to be crumbly, and it was soooo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2007

      You should have named this something besides just "Cornbread"! Maybe Amazing!, or Awesome! I have now found my forever cornbread recipe! This was so moist and delicious, you didn't even need butter. I used light sour cream, because that is what I had. It would do better to cook at 350 for 40 minutes if in an 8" pan, but that was the only issue. Thank you for such a wonderful recipe! I made this again, and doubled the recipe. It wasn't as moist, so next time I will just make single batches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2006

      this was very moist and tasty thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2006

      I thought this turned out really good. It was very moist and my kids loved it to. I substituted honey for the sugar and added twice as much as I tend to like sweeter corn bread. I baked it in a 9 x 9 stoneware pan and it took less than 30 minutes to bake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2005

      I wanted a corn bread recipe that did not fall apart, and this fit the bill. I thought it was a bit dry, however. I doubled the recipe to take to a potluck, so maybe this had something to do with the dryness. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2005

      Good but not great. Moist. I did not rate this with stars because my (fat free) sour cream was not fresh- so that may have affected the taste. I like my cornbread sweeter also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2004

      I, too, needed more than 20 minutes to bake this cornbread. I baked it in a 9" round metal cake pan and needed 30 minutes to get it thoroughly cooked in the center. I also used fat free sour cream and liked the result.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2004

      Wonderful cornbread! I added 1 can of corn niblets and 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper, I had roughly just over 1 cup of sour cream left in the container, so I decided to use all of it, it still came out wonderfully moist. I baked mine in an 8x8-in glass baking pan, it took about 40 minutes to bake, I guess because i added the extra corn and sour cream. This is a great cornbread recipe Rachel, thanks so much for sharing, I will definately be making this again...Kittencal:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2004

      An excellent cornbread. My DH (a Costa Rican native) said it reminded him of the bread his mother used to make. That is the highest compliment he gives anything. Thanks for sharing with the rest of us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (750 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 117.7
     
    Calories from Fat 45
    38%
    Total Fat 5.0 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 34.3 mg
    11%
    Sodium 212.3 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.8 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes