Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    148 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 148

    Sort by:

    • on May 20, 2007

      Great recipe. Made per instructions, DH said 4 times during the first piece that "I like this cornbread".... Thanks for sharing....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2007

      Very very good. I sprinkled some cayenne pepper on top of the batter before I mixed it all up and served it as a side to my chili.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2007

      Good solid recipe. Needed more sugar for us, but I think with chili this would be a hit! I made it with another recipe and change the cook temp to 350/45mins. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2007

      The taste was a little sweet and it crumbled a lot, but I would say that could be because of the really dry climate up here in the mountains. will try again. thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2007

      Wowee, great stuff! Needed a recipe to go with lentil soup #16662. This was very quick and easy to make. We gobbled up the first batch so I made another! I added canned corn the first time, frozen corn the next; both turned out great. Mmm yummy! Even better than my mom's recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      This was the perfect recipe! It was moist, and the edges browned perfectly. We had it with TGIFriday's Black Bean Soup TSR Version of T.G.I. Friday's Black Bean Soup by Todd Wilbur, and it made dinner complete.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      This is the best recipe I have made for cornbread! It is moist and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      I made this the other night with my home made chili, and it tasted great; though next time I may add a tad bit more sugar; we like it sweeter. Thank you for a great corn bread recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2007

      This is just like my old recipe and I love it. I like the sugar in it, but some people prefer no sugar when eating it with blacke-eyed peas etc., like in the South. It always comes out just perfect using sugar or without. Thank you so much janic for posting it!!! I had misplaced my recipe for cornbread. Love, becky

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2007

      Excellent Cornbread - I have never been to the south so I really don't know what Awesome Corn bread tastes like but to me this stuff is awesome. Just the right consistency and very easy recipe. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2006

      This bread was okay, but to be fair, I used "corn flour" instead of "corn meal." I wanted to see what would happen. :) I would heed another reviewers warning next time, though, and use less sugar. Oh! And I used rice milk as my milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2006

      An wonderfull recipe! I'll add just a little more sugar next time, but it was still wonderfull!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2006

      Loved it. I made this for Thanksgiving as I decided to make my cornbread from scratch this year, and not from a Jiffy box. Yummy! My french husband also loved it, to the point he has requested I make it more often. (That in itself is huge.) Since I made this the day before Thanksgiving, I cooled the bread, then wrapped in foil and froze it. On the day, I put it in a hot oven for about 10 mins and it tasted as if I had just made it. Definitely a keeper for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2006

      This was the first time I've ever tried cornbread (I'm from the UK), so I don't have anything to compare this to, but I REALLY liked it - to the extent that I found myself eating up the leftovers by itself after dinner (even though I had eaten plenty!). My boyfriend wasn't so keen, though; he felt it was a bit too sweet to be eaten with savoury food, but I think that's just a matter of personal taste (and judging by the other recipes I've seen, this doesn't seem to be the sweetest cornbread). The kids really liked it, and asked for more, so I'm sure this will be made again soon. It was also suprisingly easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2006

      The BEST cornbread I have ever tasted! It was so moist and flavorful. I think the buttermilk made the difference as I could tell it enhanced the flavor. I also used vegetable oil. I did not sift the ingredients in step one. I mixed the dry ingredients well with a fork. What a super easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2006

      Excellent recipe! My first experience of making cornbread,and it couldn't have been easier or more delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2006

      I found this very tasty, though made some changes due to what we had on hand and what we didn't. I had to use Splenda in place of sugar because we are out of regular sugar - I used about 1/8 cup of Splenda instead. I also used two egg whites, as we are out of eggs and only have the carton eggwhites. Used 1% milk. With the changes, still came out quite nicely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2006

      I fixed these as muffins. They were crispy just the way we like them. The only changes were the adding lemon juice to the milk substitution and I cut back the sugar to 1 tablespoon. Also as muffins they took less time. Thanks for this keeper recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2006

      This is delicious. I followed the recipe as described (using the milk with lemon juice variation mentioned in one of the reviews), and it came out very moist. I used a 9 inch round pan, same temp and time, and it came out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2006

      Very,very good & oh so easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (79 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 235.0
     
    Calories from Fat 88
    37%
    Total Fat 9.8 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 50.7 mg
    16%
    Sodium 437.9 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 6.4 g
    25%
    Protein 5.4 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes