148 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We loved this cornbread! It is soft, but not sweet like a cake. I usually like a grainy cornbread, but this has won my heart. Our family of 3 ate the whole batch. This is similar to the recipe for our favorite cornbread dressing (maybe I will post next year) - That cornbread uses even more flour for a bread-with-cornmeal-type bread that does not need other bread crumbled in it to make the dressing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K-Sue January 28, 2009

Good cornbread. I would have liked it a little sweeter, but over all great texture and rose nicely. I cooked it in muffin tins and it only took about 15 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krista Roes January 14, 2009

I halved the recipe and put in a muffin pan, yielding 8 muffins. I subbed half the oil with yogurt and used agave nectar instead of sugar. I found they needed to be a bit sweeter with only the agave so I will add a bit more next time. The cornbread was very moist and went great with chili. A very quick way to make cornbread as well!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
londongavchick January 08, 2009

This is a really great simple recipe. I made mine wheat-free by using 1 cup barley flour instead of all-purpose flour, and instead of using all cornmeal I used 3/4 cup corn flour + 1/3 cup course cornmeal (polenta). Also made my own "buttermilk" by adding 1 TBl vinegar to the 1 cup of milk, and used extra virgin olive oil for the cooking oil. It turned out DELICIOUS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
caitlinyoga January 05, 2009

Wonderful and simple

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amdprincess January 01, 2009

Great! I followed the recipe exactly using the 2% milk and vegetable oil. Everytime I make cornbread I find that it is a tad too sweet and tastes more like actual cake. This had just the right amount of sweetness to it. This is the ONLY cornbread I will make from now on. Thanks so much for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashlynn08 December 25, 2008

I rated this 4 stars about 8 months ago, but it has become my standard cornbread recipe so I am upping my rating to a 5! It's very easy... I leave the sugar out for my husband, who's the real cornbread fan. He likes lots of crispness so I make it in small loaf pans (pampered chef mini loaf pans). I also use sodium-free baking powder and only 1/2 tsp salt (sea salt) to reduce the sodium. It is the perfect size recipe for 4 small loaves, and he can have some with dinner (goes great with chili or pinto beans) and some left over the next night. I use 2% milk or skim, depending on what I have more of. Have not tried it with buttermilk, but that is not something I keep on hand.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
queen-o-my-kitchen December 24, 2008

easy, classic, and good! i love cornbread; made exactly like recipe except put in muffin tin. turned out great for my chili feed nite!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seamonkey420 November 24, 2008

Loved it--I made it as is, no deviations (I used the buttermilk)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amylsimpson November 03, 2008
Cornbread