Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    148 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 148

    Sort by:

    • on January 04, 2008

      This is a very nice cornbread. My family always raves about it. I personally think it's good, and it's not too unhealthy. It's easy, I can just whip it up in seconds, that's on my list, it has to be easy!! I don't like it too sweet with supper, so I just cut down on the sugar. If I'm making it for muffins, I just add a little more sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      I've attempted this cornbread several times, and it always comes out soggy in the middle. I've tried shorter/longer cooking times, varying temperatures, different oven positions... The stuff I can eat tastes ok, but not quite sweet enough. Next time I'm going to try a more reliable recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

    • on December 31, 2007

      I love cornbread. I mean, REALLY love it. For years, I've been making the standard recipe from the can o' cornmeal, and been quite happy with it.. but now that I've tried this, I'll never go back. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out moist and tender. I made mini-muffins and a small loaf, and they're great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      This is very much like the cornbread I've been making and my mother has made for the longest time! Dad doesn't like any sugar in his - he prefers a savory cornbread so often we would omit it completely. The only thing that I do always is to use lard (old fashion cooking on this) and melt a little in a preheated cast iron skillet so that a nice crust forms. This also is great base for any cornbread stuffing recipes. Don't let me sell this short - this is the only recipe we use for our Ham & Beans! Thanks for posting a great standard.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2007

      very tasty cornbread although i didnt have shortening or oil so i use butter instead and use a cast iron skillet to pour it in and turn out wonderfully thanks for a good recipes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      I loved this recipe! I increased the sugar to half a cup as I like a slightly sweet cornbread/muffin. This is the best cornbread recipe I have found, not at all dry, and absolutely great! Thanks Janic

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      This was good. The flavor was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2007

      Moist with just a slight taste of sweetness. I added a can of hominy but the bread was excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2007

      Thank you for posting this recipe. I have been trying to find the perfect cornbread for my family that would not generate any negative comments. Based on all of the comments left I folded my wet ingredients into the dry. Followed with a few brisk stirs being careful not to over mix. It does begin to rise as soon as you let it alone for a second so I had my pan and oven ready to go. I tried to not disturb it as much as possible. I was rewarded with a nice high cornbread that had a nice crumb to it and for once not dry! I made no additions to it this time and I used Canola oil. I will be trying different options in the future as this one is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2007

      This is the best cornbread recipe I have ever had! Making tonight for the second time, sorry- I thought I had reviewed it before, good thing I had a printed copy in my recipe file because it's the best ever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2007

      It turned out soft and moist, but unfortunately, I found it to be very bland. I only put in a few shakes of salt instead of what was recommended and did not add any of the optional ingredients suggested as variations. Maybe would have been better with some creamed corn added. But, in my opinion, a recipe should not rely on salt for flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

    • on September 17, 2007

      Because of the majority of very good reviews, I tried this recipe unaltered, using buttermilk (even though I was concerned about the high volumne of salt) and again without the salt. Either way, I found it to be bland, and my family did not eat it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2007

      I love it. Moist and delicious. Not too sweet and so flavorful. Must be the buttermilk. This is a Keeper. Change I made: increased the sugar by 1 Tablespoon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2007

      This was the best cornbread I've ever had. It was easy to make and everyone loved the sweetness of it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2007

      Very good, I used white cornmeal instead. Easy to mix up and baked up beautifully in my skillet in the oven. Just enough sweetness for me too. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2007

      I struggle with cornbread because we like it but if I make a large recipe, it is usually wasted. I have tried the packaged things because they are fast and don't make large quantities. But I had a yen to make something from scratch. This has a nicer texture because of the addition of flower and 2! eggs. Great flavor. DH and DS both loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

    • on May 26, 2007

      Excellent texture and flavour! A lovely side dish for any meal and it's easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (79 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 235.0
     
    Calories from Fat 88
    37%
    Total Fat 9.8 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 50.7 mg
    16%
    Sodium 437.9 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 6.4 g
    25%
    Protein 5.4 g
    10%

    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes