149 Reviews

Great recipe and super easy! I made in muffin tins and cooked for about 12 minutes. Delish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andrea185 January 02, 2010

Through no fault of this recipe, I am reviewing it but not providing any stars. I've never had "Southern" cornbread so perhaps this recipe reflects that areas taste, but no one in my family would eat this after I made it. It came out technically perfect but was very bitter tasting and I'm going to attribute that to the 4 teaspoons of baking powder. Also, it fell apart in my hands after cutting a cooled piece! It would never hold up to being buttered. Instead, I found this recipe, Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread, which turned out exactly what this Northern gal wanted: sweet, dense, very corn tasting and not bitter at all. At allrecipes.com, which is where the recipe originated, there are 1,330 reviews of the recipe that I ended up using. Again, no negative comments towards the chef who posted this, but it was NOT what we were looking for in a corn bread and I baked it twice, just to make sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The_Swedish_Chef December 14, 2009

good, basic cornbread. Be careful to Pam pan, it sticks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha November 29, 2009

I followed the recipe exactly using butter for the oil. It was perfect. I spread it as a topping for chicken pot pie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grace-AK November 27, 2009

Fantastic! I doubled the recipe, and used a 9" x 13" pan. This was a great success, and flew out of the pan! A keeper ~ THANKS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
truebrit November 01, 2009

Great! I added in a cup or so of canned corn, which added to the sweetness and texture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lindseyv October 31, 2009

I really have no idea how you could improve upon this recipe??!!?? Maybe by adding in the bacon, as suggested?? Perfect cornbread recipe - perfect amount of sweet, lovely texture and nice & moist. I used skim milk and the oil. The reason I actually made this recipe was to try something I saw on Diners, Drive-ins & Dives - sliced cornbread, pan-fried in butter!! It was fabulous -nice & crispy. I just drizzled it with a touch of honey - great snack!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb October 25, 2009

Tonight I served this cornbread alongside chili and salad, with brownies for dessert. The only one thing that everyone ate was this cornbread. Really yummy, and so quick to throw together! Thanks so much, Janic412.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susiecat too October 21, 2009

Moist. Slightly sweet. Perfect texture. I've made this several times now and felt it was high time I rate this with 5 stars. This recipe goes together quickly and is the perfect accompaniment to homemade chili, soup, or just as a tasty snack. Although, be sure to have some sweet tea to have along with it. They just go together. Hey, I'm a southerner. Having the dry ingredients premixed in a container or baggy along with the print out of the recipe is helpful in streamlining meals even more and I plan on having a couple extra to send as a gift to loved ones, friends, or neighbors along with some hearty soup or chili of course.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TipMuf October 20, 2009
Cornbread