Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    148 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 148

    Sort by:

    • on October 20, 2008

      This was good -- added a little more sugar, so added a splash more milk. Next time might try adding cheese and or bacon. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      I made corn muffins out of this recipe and followed it precisely except substituting soy milk instead of regular milk to make them vegetarian. I thought that it was a bit dry, but even if they were more moist, the muffins were just so-so.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      It was easy and great. I halved the recipe and added 1/4 c. frozen corn kernels. Very tasty and I'll be using it again. Thanks Janic412!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      It was more moist and less dense than the cornbread I usually have, with more of a cake-like texture. It tasted excellent with some cinnamon honey butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      VERY EXCELLENT! My dad and I ate all of it within 2 days. One recommendation: it was very good the way it was but it requires a little bit more sugar for me. Though last time I made it, I made without eggs because I had none - still perfect, but needs more sugar. I recommend 13 cup of sugar instead 14.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2008

      I've tried several cornbread recipes and this is my favorite! This recipe makes 12 scrumptious cornbread muffins. I cooked the muffins at 350 degrees for 18 minutes. Thank you for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2008

      Was pretty good overall. But for some reason, I didn't like it as much. I have a major sweet tooth, so this recipe wasn't for me. If you're like me and you love sugar, go for something sweeter. There was also a strange taste it left in my mouth. Maybe I added a tad too much salt by mistake, I don't know. But I used fat free milk and olive oil for the recipe. Maybe that changed it. I mean, if you're looking for something super tasty, it's not this in my opinion. But still, its taste is okay.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2008

      I searched for a cornbread recipe which used equal amounts of flour and cornmeal - like the old recipe on the cornbread box, and that wasn't like a piece of cake - this one is perfect! I also love the extra flavor of using fresh buttermilk. This cornbread mixes up in minutes - I can't imagine why any one would ever use a mix. I use oil and a smidge extra sugar and bake in a 9" cast iron frying pan which give it a great crust. Served up with butter and honey, mmm mmmm mmm. Thanks Janic412

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      This cornbread mixes up as fast as a mix and tastes delightful. I only have an 8" pan so I used a l3 x 9 . This worked out just fine. The only change I made was to add 2 tbsp of chopped pickled jalapenos. I baked it 18 minutes and it came out perfect. I bought a 9" pan for next time. I will also be adding a can of corn and more peppers, The leftovers went great with scrambled eggs this morning!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2008

      Made this in a 12 inch cast iron skillet in the oven, baked for about 25 minutes, turned out very nice. I greased the skillet with bacon grease and added 1 can of no-salt-added corn. I will add a tad more sugar next time, as I like a sweeter cornbread. Served with "Chili Con Carne With Beans". THank you for supper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2008

      This turned out great for me. Thanks for a good basic cornbread recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2008

      Really nice and firm. Cut well and was enjoyed by all

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2008

      Very good cornbread. I like mine a bit sweeter so will add more sugar next time. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      Good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      Really good indeed, as everyone else has attested to! I added some frozen corn (thawed by running warm water over before putting in batter), a little chopped jalepeno and a drizzle of honey. Will make again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      This was really easy and very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      This is a quick and easy cornbread recipe that can be made in no time. I sometimes substitute all-purpose flour for whole wheat (but it will be a bit drier). Goes great with chili!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      This is so easy. A tasty and moist cornbread, with a lovely golden brown color. I have made this twice, the first time, since my mom likes a sweeter cornbread for breakfast, I doubled the sugar and followed the rest of the recipe exactly. I found it a little bit oily (or mayby it just me, because my family didn't say something about that). The second time, I used 1/4 c of sugar and 1/4 c of Splenda. Work well. I tried half veg. oil, half applesauce, and the cornbread wasn't as moist as the recipe stated, but I guess that a few more tbsp more of applesauce would correct that. The house smelled so good :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      I don't know what is going on with SoulofaJedi's experience with this recipe, but it came out GREAT for us. It rose beautifully and was a lovely golden color when done. The taste was excellent; just the right amount of sweetness. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      This is the recipe that I have always made. I think I got if off of the baking powder. I leave out the sugar ==we don't like the sugar in it. Yes, we're from the south. Back in the day when I had all 3 kids at home and we were BUSYBUSYBUSY! I used to have my oldest DD make up a few ziploc bags of the dry ingredients so all we had to do was add the wet ingredients, She's an old married woman now and she does that at her house too! just saves a few minutes and we can always use those!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (79 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 235.0
     
    Calories from Fat 88
    37%
    Total Fat 9.8 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 50.7 mg
    16%
    Sodium 437.9 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 6.4 g
    25%
    Protein 5.4 g
    10%

    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes