Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    148 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 148

    Sort by:

    • on August 03, 2009

      Simple comfort food. We made this last night to go with our rib dinner and we LOVED this. No more packaged corn muffin mixes for this family. It was easy to put together and it baked up perfectly. I doubled this and baked in a 9 x 13 pan. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe with us......yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      I made this to go with chili I made from another website, the chili was horrible, but this cornbread saved the day. This made the meal. I have made a lot of cornbread recipes and this is by far the best, it is thick, great texture and just the right amount of sweetness. Hats off to you and this recipe, thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      Have to say this was a winner with my husband. My children asked for more. In my permanent collection! Updated to add that I have a grain mill now and use freshly ground sweet corn to use in this recipe. The flavor is now astounding. If you get the chance to get some fresh ground corn from a friends or your own mill don't hesitate! We have the Family Grain Mill and crack it first on 3 then do a second grind on the finest setting. Beautiful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      This was delicious. I was out of all-purpose flour, so I used about half a cup each of whole wheat and bread flour. It was good both with my chili soup and simply buttered.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      This turned out nice for us. I used my moms cast iron frying pan and I also added a little bit of corn. The only reason it got 4 stars is because it was a bit dry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      I made this last night because I had some leftover corn meal. It was fantastic and easy. I like a slightly sweet cornbread and this delivered. It had a nice flavor without being overly sweet or bland. A real "keeper" in my recipe file. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      I made this recipe on 3/14/09 as part of mine and SO's dinner. I did however have to use a white cornmeal since that's all that I had. Other than that, the only other change I did was to make it in a cast iron skillet. Instead of dirtying up another dish,I just melted the shortening in the skillet while the oven was pre-heating. The baking time was right on the money. The taste was very good, but just "a tad " on the dry side. But other than that, the cornbread was very good. Thanks for posting and, "Keep Smiling :)"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      Have never made cornbread from scratch before. This was soooo easy! I made it for an office function and it was a huge hit. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      Made in a cast iron skillet; added chopped jalapenos and 1 cup sharp cheddar cheese - Awesome! Ate with Ground Beef Vegetable Soup #184585. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      OMG, this was sooo good! I followed the recipe, but used melted butter in place of cooking oil / shortening. No more box mix for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      We loved this cornbread! It is soft, but not sweet like a cake. I usually like a grainy cornbread, but this has won my heart. Our family of 3 ate the whole batch. This is similar to the recipe for our favorite cornbread dressing (maybe I will post next year) - That cornbread uses even more flour for a bread-with-cornmeal-type bread that does not need other bread crumbled in it to make the dressing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      Good cornbread. I would have liked it a little sweeter, but over all great texture and rose nicely. I cooked it in muffin tins and it only took about 15 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      I halved the recipe and put in a muffin pan, yielding 8 muffins. I subbed half the oil with yogurt and used agave nectar instead of sugar. I found they needed to be a bit sweeter with only the agave so I will add a bit more next time. The cornbread was very moist and went great with chili. A very quick way to make cornbread as well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      This is a really great simple recipe. I made mine wheat-free by using 1 cup barley flour instead of all-purpose flour, and instead of using all cornmeal I used 3/4 cup corn flour + 1/3 cup course cornmeal (polenta). Also made my own "buttermilk" by adding 1 TBl vinegar to the 1 cup of milk, and used extra virgin olive oil for the cooking oil. It turned out DELICIOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

    • on January 01, 2009

      Wonderful and simple

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      Great! I followed the recipe exactly using the 2% milk and vegetable oil. Everytime I make cornbread I find that it is a tad too sweet and tastes more like actual cake. This had just the right amount of sweetness to it. This is the ONLY cornbread I will make from now on. Thanks so much for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2008

      I rated this 4 stars about 8 months ago, but it has become my standard cornbread recipe so I am upping my rating to a 5! It's very easy... I leave the sugar out for my husband, who's the real cornbread fan. He likes lots of crispness so I make it in small loaf pans (pampered chef mini loaf pans). I also use sodium-free baking powder and only 1/2 tsp salt (sea salt) to reduce the sodium. It is the perfect size recipe for 4 small loaves, and he can have some with dinner (goes great with chili or pinto beans) and some left over the next night. I use 2% milk or skim, depending on what I have more of. Have not tried it with buttermilk, but that is not something I keep on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      easy, classic, and good! i love cornbread; made exactly like recipe except put in muffin tin. turned out great for my chili feed nite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      Loved it--I made it as is, no deviations (I used the buttermilk)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Quick Breads Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (79 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 235.0
     
    Calories from Fat 88
    37%
    Total Fat 9.8 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 50.7 mg
    16%
    Sodium 437.9 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 6.4 g
    25%
    Protein 5.4 g
    10%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites