Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    148 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 148

    Sort by:

    • on January 08, 2011

      This is a very good cornbread recipe. I think it's the buttermilk that makes this dish. I like my cornbread sweeter so instead of 1/4 cup sugar I used 1/2 cup honey. I also reduced salt to 1/2 tsp (I might keep it at 3/4 tsp next time).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      Turned out perfect. I only used 2 teaspoons of baking powder, and next time I think I'll try it with a little more sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2010

      Excellent cornbread - just like I remember from growing up in E. Texas. I baked it in my iron skillet and it was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      First cornbread I've made that wasn't dry! Thank you! I also substituted plain lowfat yogurt for buttermilk and it worked great! Also, I had self-rising cornbread so I only added 1 tsp baking powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      This is fantastic!! Very moist...great flavor. I followed the recipe exactly. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      Excellent cornbread! The texture was moist and the flavor was just right, not too sweet. Very nice and just what I was looking for. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      Excellent cornbread recipe. I used milk and canola oil. Next time will use shortening and buttermilk, and maybe try less sugar than suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      The best cornbread I've ever made. Even being made with white corn meal and 2% milk, it was...fabulous. Great crumb and moisture content. Be sure to grease your pan very well, because I always forget to add extra and mine sticks but not like that stops me from practically burying my face in it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      Great corn bread, we loved it. The recipe worked perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      Great recipe and super easy! I made in muffin tins and cooked for about 12 minutes. Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

    • on December 14, 2009

      Through no fault of this recipe, I am reviewing it but not providing any stars. I've never had "Southern" cornbread so perhaps this recipe reflects that areas taste, but no one in my family would eat this after I made it. It came out technically perfect but was very bitter tasting and I'm going to attribute that to the 4 teaspoons of baking powder. Also, it fell apart in my hands after cutting a cooled piece! It would never hold up to being buttered. Instead, I found this recipe, Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread, which turned out exactly what this Northern gal wanted: sweet, dense, very corn tasting and not bitter at all. At allrecipes.com, which is where the recipe originated, there are 1,330 reviews of the recipe that I ended up using. Again, no negative comments towards the chef who posted this, but it was NOT what we were looking for in a corn bread and I baked it twice, just to make sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      good, basic cornbread. Be careful to Pam pan, it sticks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      I followed the recipe exactly using butter for the oil. It was perfect. I spread it as a topping for chicken pot pie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      Fantastic! I doubled the recipe, and used a 9" x 13" pan. This was a great success, and flew out of the pan! A keeper ~ THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      Great! I added in a cup or so of canned corn, which added to the sweetness and texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      I really have no idea how you could improve upon this recipe??!!?? Maybe by adding in the bacon, as suggested?? Perfect cornbread recipe - perfect amount of sweet, lovely texture and nice & moist. I used skim milk and the oil. The reason I actually made this recipe was to try something I saw on Diners, Drive-ins & Dives - sliced cornbread, pan-fried in butter!! It was fabulous -nice & crispy. I just drizzled it with a touch of honey - great snack!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2009

      Tonight I served this cornbread alongside chili and salad, with brownies for dessert. The only one thing that everyone ate was this cornbread. Really yummy, and so quick to throw together! Thanks so much, Janic412.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      Moist. Slightly sweet. Perfect texture. I've made this several times now and felt it was high time I rate this with 5 stars. This recipe goes together quickly and is the perfect accompaniment to homemade chili, soup, or just as a tasty snack. Although, be sure to have some sweet tea to have along with it. They just go together. Hey, I'm a southerner. Having the dry ingredients premixed in a container or baggy along with the print out of the recipe is helpful in streamlining meals even more and I plan on having a couple extra to send as a gift to loved ones, friends, or neighbors along with some hearty soup or chili of course.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2009

      This was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (79 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 235.0
     
    Calories from Fat 88
    37%
    Total Fat 9.8 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 50.7 mg
    16%
    Sodium 437.9 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 6.4 g
    25%
    Protein 5.4 g
    10%

    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes