Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    151 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 151

    Sort by:

    • on August 05, 2008

      Really good basic cornbread recipe! My Dad is southern so I grew up with alot of Southern cooking and this is up there. Needs some bacon grease to really add nostalgia.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2008

      Excellent cornbread! Perfect texture, and sweet while not being too sweet to serve with chili. Also releases from the pan perfectly (I used cooking spray). I'll definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      I absolutely hate cornbread and I made two batches so I could have more!! I did substitute granulated splenda for sugar to lower the calorie content, so it didn't rise as high, but it was still moist and delicious and sweet and I STILL want more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      Thank you so much found it very helpful Thanks again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      Yummy cornbread. Made as written other than used olive oil instead of butter. Had some for breakfast with a glass of chocolate soymilk. Thank You for a great cornbread recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2008

      We loved this! I tried another recipe on here and it didn't even come close to this. It has the right amount of "corn" flavor, and not overly sweet. I found it to be perfectly moist. Took 20 minutes to bake. It is really good with some melted butter on top YUM. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2008

      Wow! This came out amazing! Not too sweet and just enough of the grainy cornbread taste. I made muffins and only got about 9 muffins from it, so will have to double the recipe next time. I had one question though: there is a slight eggy smell to the muffins, I think I did something wrong? Not sure what...maybe my egg was a bit old? I am a very novice cook so any advice would help!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      This was wonderful. Easy and as you said, sweet! It wasn't to dry at all. My southern husband loved it! It's taken me 8 years of marriage to try to make cornbread to his expectations, and you made me the queen of the kitchen today! Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      Very nice bread. I dont care for cornbread with corn kernels in it as much as I like the kind without so this was a prefect fit for my tastes. This bread has that nice crust around the edges yet soft on the inside and it's perfectly sweetened, just how we like it. Went together in no time. My family loved it. Thank's!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

    • on December 16, 2007

    • on December 08, 2007

      Excellent cornbread! Looked beautiful and turned out perfectly moist. Served these with honey butter - yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2007

      I mistakenly forgot to put the butter in, but the recipe turned out to be great anyway! Not as tender but not really tough either; and the sweetness shone through. The cornbread tasted even better as the days passed. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      Very good and easy recipe. This came out very moist and rose beautifully. My bf loves the texture and thinks this one is perfect. I'll be making this one over and over!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      Excellent! Its almost midnight now but I just finished baking this delicious cornbread for tomorrow's breakfast. Of course I had to have a small piece before rating LOL! It's sooo good! I had been looking for a recipe that didn't call for more flour than cornmeal as I prefer the gritty texture of the cornmeal. I wish I had found this recipe before Thanksgiving s this is so much better than the one I served. Very easy and mess-free, I made it after everyone had gone to bed. THANK YOU!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2007

      Here's another rave review from a new fan. This was easy to prepare, baked up beautifully (even at 5,520 feet elevation), and tasted very light and delicious. And you are right about it not being dry. There were many fewer crumbs under the table than we'd have had with a mix! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2007

      My friend across the street passed this recipe on to me tonight. My family was really happy with it. It fit the bill for what I was looking for. I'm trying to wean them from the boxes of Jiffy mix. It was sweet enough for them and the wedges I cut for them out of my cast iron skillet did not fall apart. The kids finished their vegetable soup so they could have a second piece.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2007

      Lovely! I will definately make this again!! My husband and two boys loved it too. I have never been a fan of cornbread so I was pleasantly surprised at this one. Thanks for posting a yum recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2007

      This was great cornbread! I doubled the recipe (except for the sugar, baking powder, and salt) and baked it in a 9x13 pan. The sugar I left at 1/2 cup; salt was 1/2 teaspoon; baking powder was increased to 1 tablespoon plus 2 teaspoons. I baked it for 25 minutes. I thought I had done something wrong, because the batter was more like a sponge when I spooned it into the baking dish. But it came out great, everyone loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2007

      Wonderful easy recipe! I loved the crispy crust with a very moist center. Served it with butter and honey. The family loved it. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (65 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 169.6
     
    Calories from Fat 49
    29%
    Total Fat 5.5 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 28.5 mg
    9%
    Sodium 242.0 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.3 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 8.4 g
    33%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes