Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    151 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 151

    Sort by:

    • on January 07, 2010

      What a wonderful cornbread! A snap to put together, great flavor and texture -- what's not to love? :) My fiance loves a good cornbread, and gave this one high marks. Coming from him (he can be very particular and discerning when it comes to food), that's a great compliment indeed! Thanks for a recipe that I'm going to turn to again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      Very good. My very picky family of 12 adored it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      I made this to go with a smoked brisket DH made. Very moist cornbread, easy to put together too. Thank you for sharing this recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      I made a batch of this for New Year's dinner and was very pleased with it. Moist and flavorful, but not too sweet. I used a cast iron pone pan (corn sticks) greased with bacon drippings... you just can't beat corn pones and this recipe turned out excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      This is the first cornbread that my husband will eat. He even had seconds. It is nice and moist, not dry and crumbly. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      I doubled this recipe so i could make stuffing. I ended up with one 9x13 pan and 4 muffins. The pan only took 16 min's to cook in my oven and the muffins took 20 min. We really liked the flavour and texture on itz own but probably won't use it for stuffing again. Also, I cut off a few extra pieces for my dog to try, she drooled lots which is her way of saying "yummy, yummy, thank-you, thank-you!" Will use this recipe again for chilli night.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      This recipe just didn't do it for us. I followed it exactly with no variation of my own except to increase the sugar a bit. Although this cornbread is very tasty, it was just too crumbly for us. I was looking for one that was a bit more moist and dense. Tastes great though, wasn't too crazy about the texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      Used olive oil instead of butter, and as some reviewers suggested added a little extra milk, and used only 1/3 cup sugar. Very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      This was the first time I have made cornbread and very nice it was to I used polenta as I live in Scotland and I can't get cornmeal in my usual shop but I will try and get the real thing and make it again as it was very light not stodge at all we had it with soup very crispy round the edges I liked that bit best. Thank's for a good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2009

      THE best cornbread I have ever had. and I eat a lot of cornbread! No need for butter - it is so moist and tastes great! This might have moved onto my greatest recipes EVER list! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2009

      EXCELLENT & SO EASY! Made with yellow corn meal. Served it with taco soup and it was soooo yummy!!!!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      I followed the recommendation to use 1-1/4 cups of milk. Coated a cast iron pan with bacon grease and cooked the cornbread in the pan...that's how we Southerners were taught to do it. This was perfect. Just like my Grandma used to make. I love that it wasn't ruined by the addition or corn or cheese or any of those things that, in my opinion, ruin the simple goodness of cornbread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      Follow the recipe exactly and it turns out pretty good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2009

      Really good. I used 1 1/4 cups of milk as Melvin'sWifey suggested, and it was very moist yummm! I used Bob's Red Mill Coarse Grind Cornmeal, but next time I think I'll just use the regular cheapo stufff with the fine-grind, because the coarse granules made it granite-y. I'll also dot with butter immediately after taking it out. Great recipe, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      Can't complain!! Love the sweetness and the moistness. I also added 1/4 cup extra milk. It did however take 32 minutes to bake, which was fine, in my 8 inch square pan. I love that it didn't stick to the pan at all (greased) and cut real nicely. I added about a cup of shredded cheddar cheese as well, which tasted great. Crispy outside, super moist inside. Served with turkey chili. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      Best recipe for cornbread I have ever tried! Easy & yummy!!! Will make again & again! Even my kids raved over it & they have never liked cornbread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      Sweet...just the way I like it. My family is from Virginia's western border and they all make cornbread. It's much less sweet than this. Anything this sweet would derisively be called "Johnny Cake" but I love it! Mine didn't need the whole 20 minutes to be golden and cooked through though. I halved the recipe and put it in a loaf pan which might explain the shorter cooking time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2009

      This was great and went perfectly with the salsa chicken I made for dinner. Ir was moist and flavorful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2009

      This cornbread is exactly how my husband prefers it. I did make another recipe recently and although it was good and I gave it 5 stars, your recipe gives the right texture and amount of sweetness. My dh says this is the real deal (he's the cornbread expert in the family) so who am I to argue? I'm sending him off to work with a huge piece of this along with a tupperware bowl full of spicy beans and rice. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      This was my first attempt at making homemade corn bread and it turned out wonderfully. Even my husband who doesnt like cornbread normally raved about this! Thank you so much fors sharing this recipe. It made the nights I make chili even more cozy and warm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (65 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 169.6
     
    Calories from Fat 49
    29%
    Total Fat 5.5 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 28.5 mg
    9%
    Sodium 242.0 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.3 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 8.4 g
    33%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes