Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    148 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 148

    Sort by:

    • on October 21, 2013

      MMM GOOD! Not dry at all, perfect amount of sweetness. Made exactly. Cooked in my cast iron skillet that I heated in the oven. Perfection.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2013

      Look no further -- this is an amazing cornbread recipe. Didn't want to run to the store for buttermilk, so I landed on this one because I had all the ingredients. A couple of considerations: I saw the suggestions for adding bits of bacon and corn, and the suggestion for baking it in a cast iron skillet -- so I did all 3! Amazing. I first fried up the bacon in the cast iron skillet then took out the bacon and left the bacon grease in the skillet. I made the batter, added the chopped up bacon and some corn, then I poured the batter in the skillet until the edges were starting to separate from the skillet and I transferred to the oven for about 17 minutes. The edges were crisp and it was very moist!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2013

    • on September 29, 2013

      This isn't overly sweet and we thought it was great bbq cornbread. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2013

      I loved it! I, myself, would probably give it 5 stars, but my husband said he would give it 4. It was the kind of sweet that doesn't hit you instantly like a desert would, but that you have to take a few bites of to get the full effect, which is good, because I don't like overly sweet cornbread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2013

      Great cornbread! I made this to go with some ham and beans and everyone loved it. Perfect texture, easy to cut and just the right amount of sweetness. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2013

      awesome, whole family loved it! i used whole wheat/all purpose mix and it still turned out well. thanks for a great tasting and easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2012

      Love this cornbread recipe! I added two tablespoons of chopped bacon and two tablespoons of honey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2012

      I made this too go along with a pot of chile verde con cerdo. I have to say I am not very big on cornbread but this one was very good. The only cornbread I usually think is good is from restaurants. I have made jiffy before and didn't like it. My husband wants me to add a little bit of corn next time. Will update again when I do that :) added some honey to this the second time I made it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2012

      I really liked this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2012

      I have been meaning to review this cornbread for a long time and keep forgetting to do so. This has become my go-to recipe. It is sweet, but not so sweet that it feels out of place at dinner. Furthermore, this cornbread is dense without being dry as most dense cornbread tends to be. or a real treat, I whip up honey butter to serve with it. I highly recommend it :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2012

      YUMMY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I always wanted to make cornbread and when I made this, not only was the recipe simple but it was delicious! I made this to go with a venison stew I made and my husband loved it!
      I substituted the butter with margarine and used only a 1/4 cup of sugar and it turned out perfect! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2012

      Holy stinkin' cow. This. Is. GREAT!!!!!! I used only 1/3 cup sugar, and I couldn't have asked for a better cornbread. I made it in my cast iron pan, and it was tasty. My roommate was basically yelling at me when he was saying how good it was. My dad says to never make it again, because he'll eat a pan of it everyday and get fat. HAHA! Thank you sooooo much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2012

      Very easy and yummy, as promised! I cut the sugar down to 1/4 cup, and it was still perfect! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2012

      Excellent recipe. Sweet but not a heavy sweet, and moist. Thank you for posting it here. I made this for our new years day "good luck" dinner; black eye'd peas 'n ham over cornbread with a little relish. To be clear, your cornbread is delicious all by itself, you don't even need butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2011

      I made this using my cast iron skillet greased with bacon fat. I used polenta grits for all the cornmeal and should have used some cornmeal. I liked the crunch but would prefer less. Perfect sweetness for us. Served with New Orleans Red Beans and Rice. Will be great with chili this fall and winter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2011

      This is good, and I've had satisfactory results using a little less sugar and substituting some/all of the canola oil for butter. I would describe the original recipe as good, moist, sweet, and slightly crumbly. The oil substitutions seemed to result in a slightly dryer and less crumbly cornbread. I love having cornbread with chili. I'm intrigued by suggestions to try this in a cast iron skillet greased with bacon grease... maybe I'll try that someday. Thank you for the recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2011

      For some reason, this did not turn out well for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2011

    • on April 07, 2011

      my DH says this is the best cornbread he's ever had.. and wants me to "make it every night"... : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (65 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 169.6
     
    Calories from Fat 49
    29%
    Total Fat 5.5 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 28.5 mg
    9%
    Sodium 242.0 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.3 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 8.4 g
    33%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites