Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    151 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 151

    Sort by:

    • on February 10, 2011

      Whoa BABY! I've been looking for a recipe like this for so long...

      It was moist, held together well, it cut well, it crisped on the bottom but didn't get too done in the middle and best of all, it was hands down the best tasting cornbread I have ever eaten. We eat beans and rice once a week and I will be making this every week now that I have found it. I'm not kidding..you can stop looking! This is it.

      I used a cast iron skillet that I heated on the stove and greased with shortening. This did result in a crispy bottom but didn't really shorten the cooking time (oddly enough). I used stick margerine. I was concerned about how much sugar was in this recipe. I thought it would be too sweet but it was PERFECT. LOVE IT. Thank you for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2011

      I didn't have butter, had to use margarine substitute (veg oil spread)...used splenda instead of sugar. I'm trying to cut down on using a lot of butter and sugar, anyway. It was quick and easy, and the end result was surprisingly good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2011

      Perfect cornbread. Thanks for sharing the recipe! UPDATE: My son decided this is the best cornbread ever, so I've made it several times since my original review. Have used melted butter as well as canola oil with good results. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2010

      I made this with buttermilk. delicious. and your right very moist!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2014

      Delicious. I made this recipe into Cornbread Muffins. I used Nutrigrain flour went with the suggestion of 1/3 c of sugar & added a can of corn drained then baked at 400 F for 20 min. Served warm with butter & Hot Pepper Jelly as aside to Turkey Chili. Definitely a winner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2012

      Because of a milk allergy, I substituted rice milk for the milk and oil for the butter and it still tasted good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2012

      I made these this morning and they were gobbled up by my family right out of the oven! Unfortunately, I started to make them before realizing that I had corn FLOUR and not cornmeal, but they still turned out great with a cup-for-cup substitution. The only major difference was that the batter was quite thick and didn't even out as they baked, so the tops were lumpy rather than flat and smooth. This made 15 medium-size muffins for me. Quick, simple, and yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2012

      This worked out great!
      Though I did cut back the sugar by a few tbsp and added 1 egg and 2 tbsp of oil/milk
      I served it with chili and the family loved it.
      Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2010

      I have never tried or cooked cornbread before, as it is not popular here in Australia. I made this for a tex-mex themed dinner and it was very popular. I didn't know what I was missing before, because this is delicious! Absolutely beautiful warm with some butter and a cup of tea too. Will be making this again and again and don't want to try another recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      This is the same recipe for cornbread that I use all the time. Have tried a few others, including some that seemed a lot more complicated, but this is always the best. A wonderful standard cornbread. I put about 1/3 c. of sugar to get just the right amount of sweetness.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2014

      Perfection. Just sweet enough. Perfect crumb & crust. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2014

      Made it exactly like the recipe said, but here's two warnings! <br/><br/>1) Cool down the butter before you use it or your milk will curdle!<br/>2) Use finer cornmeal if you can. I used a brand I've never worked with before, and it had visibly bigger chunks in it, which caused it to be a big turn off in terms of texture.<br/><br/>I think if I avoided these mistakes, then it would have turned out quite nice! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2014

      It was just ok. It really didn't have much taste.( I am not a novice cook) I probably won't make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2014

      This is easily one of the best cornbread recipes I have tried. I added the extra egg, (kept the same amount of sugar) and cooked it in a clay baker. The added moisture of the clay baker made for the perfect texture. A little honey butter was the cherry on top! Thank you Crazycookinmama!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2014

      This is the best cornbread ever! It's fast and simple and I made muffins out of them and saved half of them on the freezer. When I need them I just warm them in the oven and it's delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2014

      I used 2 eggs and reduced the sugar to 1/3 cup. Baked it in a warmed cast iron skillet. Perfect! Moist and cuts well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2014

      This is the best cornbread I have ever had! I've been told by all my family that it is better than any restaurant. I constantly get requests to bring this to pot lucks and parties. I have made it jalapeño cornbread by adding 2 freshly chopped de-seeded jalapeños. It is not hot at all but adds an amazing flavour to the loaf. Also I sometimes put shredded cheddar on top after pulling it out of the oven. I have also made it maple cornbread by exchanging the sugar in the recipe for granulated maple sugar. You just can't beat this basic recipe! Its sweet, southern, classic recipe with simple ingredients that are always on hand! I love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2014

      Followed recipe exactly, except cut the sugar in half since we don't like really sweet corn bread. Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2014

    • on February 12, 2014

      This was absolutely atrocious. It was very bland, and crumbly. Not moist in the slightest. I followed this recipe to a tee. I am highly disappointed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (65 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 169.6
     
    Calories from Fat 49
    29%
    Total Fat 5.5 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 28.5 mg
    9%
    Sodium 242.0 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.3 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 8.4 g
    33%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes