12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I was very pleased with this recipe. The corn I had was store-bought, partially husked and wrapped in plastic. It tasted sweet and fresh. Made for PRMR Tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario July 19, 2011

I made this exactly as directed using 4 freshly husked ears of corn. I don't know the purpose of the vinegar (we couldn't taste it or smell it on the corn), but the sugar in the water made the corn nicely sweet. Thanks for sharing the recipe. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu May 28, 2009

The best corn I have had in a long time. Tomorrow, I plan to try to do a few corn my old way and a few this way and compare them. I have never heard of adding vinegar to the water. We really enjoyed this so thank you very much.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word May 07, 2008

This was great... made store bought corn taste as fresh and sweet as fresh picked sweet corn. It was so good that I wanted a second piece and I really was surprised that the corn was not over cooked. This is the only way I will make boiled corn from now on.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Morningfeather April 13, 2008

This is the only way I will make corn on the cob now. I have never had it to fail and it always comes out just right.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Taxi Mom March 04, 2008

Growing up and living in 'corn country' all my life, (50+ years!), I've tried LOTS of corn recipes and ways to prepare it 'on the cob', but this has got to be the ABSOLUTE BEST one I've tried! We had some of this with our dinner, then after dinner I wanted more! I took another ear out of the hot water, about 15 minutes later, and it was just as tasty and fresh-tasting as the first. I'll never cook corn-on-the-cob any other way! Thanks so very much for an easy, awesome recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ziggy54 December 03, 2007

What a very simple but effective way to cook and serve corn. I love BBQ corn too but this will be so much easier when the weather is not cooperating for a BBQ. Thanks for posting this foodtvfan

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo August 12, 2007

OH MY YA GOTTA TRY THIS! Tender, sweet, yummy. Put corn on before I started prparing dinner, Left them on low simmer for 1 1/2 hrs. Would have tried for longer, but everyone complained that dinner was over and I still hadn't served them the corn! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L DJ July 27, 2007

The corn tasted great! I used Silver Queen. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 July 26, 2007

Quick, easy and tasty. This is definately the only way to cook corn on the cob.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lalala109 September 19, 2006
Corn on the Cob; Stays Hot and Fresh