Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Corn on the Cob ( Cooked in the Old Ways) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Corn on the Cob ( Cooked in the Old Ways)

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on August 31, 2003

      Everything old is new again! This is the only way I will boil corn from now on. It is more flavorful and it's so much easier to shuck! You have to let it cool a couple of minutes but then the silk just slips right off, totally, completely, no fuss, no muss. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      Definitely flavorful and easy to shuck. Ours came out really chewy rather then crisp. Not sure if it was the corn or the 10 minute cook time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2008

      I thought this was quite nice! I wondered how easy to peel the corn would be what with wet silks and all but it really was a snap. I just used a towel to keep my fingers ok so no scorched fingertips! It doesn't really make the corn taste different but I didn't want my corn to taste different- just nice sweet fresh farmer's market corn- what else does it need? Thanks for sharing! ~Sue

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

      This is so much easier than the traditional way of boiling corn. I do need a bigger pot now though because I can only get about 4 ears in mine. Fast cleanup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2008

      I don't see big deal. Sorry, but it didn't taste any different than the stuff I peel. Having to serve kids is no fun either. My fingers are hurting now from trying to peel hot corn. Personally I prefer my corn raw anyway but even DH and the kids agree that it was more trouble than it was worth. Sorry. Glad others have found it better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      This is a great recipe especially if the weather doesn't permit grilling. For years I've preferred "grilled corn on the cob". Soak corn with husked on in water for 30 minutes or more. While cooking your other foods on main grill, just place corn on top rack of grill or to the side. Depending on your grill temperature, cook 20 to 30 mins. Spray with water when husks start looking to dry out while grilling. Let cool a little before shucking the husks. The silks come right off.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      I've enjoyed good corn using other recipes I found here but...we've never enjoyed corn as much as tonight prepared this way. Boiled a couple of minutes less only, it was melt in your mouth heaven. The husks and silk threads came away so easily, too. If it was good enough for great-great grandmother, it's good enough (more than good enough)for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2007

      Wonderful, simply wonderful! I was looking for a nice easy way to cook corn for freezing, and with 2 little ones this fit the bill! It was so simple, yet the taste was amazing! I'm surprised I got as much as I did out of the 14 ears I cooked, as I was muching off the top every chance I got. I will definitely make corn this way when I'm not grilling it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2007

      Perfect!! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2007

      Very good, very easy. The corn I bought was questionable, there was almost no selection left at the supermarket. But it came out tender and tasty. I put a spoonful of sugar in the water because that's what my mom always did. I will always cook corn this way from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2007

      This is so much easier! Thanks for the recipe! The silk came off so easily.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2007

      Wow! I can't believe what a difference this makes! Thank you SO much for sharing this! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

      I always have a hard time cooking fresh corn. My family has become accustomed to canned corn. But this recipe is very easy to understand. I added some butter to the water and it came out really flavorful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

      We are greedy pigs when it comes to corn on the cob and I cannot believe I have never tried this, seeing how I like things to be easy in the kitchen. It was also much neater- no little bits of silk sticking to everything, and the shuck and silk came off as easily as peeling a banana. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2007

      YUM! I will never spend another afternoon shucking corn again... I was always missing out on the fun at the beach while stuck with "KP". My family devoured this...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2006

      Wow!! Super easy and tastes great. To think of all of the trouble I used to go to removing all of the silk. This is a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2006

      Boy what flavor, dh wanted to know what I did different..now this is the only way he wants it cooked... it's so easy yet i'd never thought of trying it. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2006

      Outstanding! I have already made this twice! This method really seems to lock in the flavor. A keeper for sure. Thank You

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2006

      Love this recipe! This is how we always make corn on the cob, with the exception that I only cook it about three to six minutes (especially for younger corn). In the summer, we sometimes cook a bunch and make our whole dinner out of this with fresh herb butter, it's that wonderful. The corn stays fresh longer in the husk as well. As my mom taught me, do be sure to peek under the husk at the top and pick cobs with small, even, healthy-looking kernals.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2006

      So easy and yummy! The silk comes right off. I love the taste of fresh corn. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Corn on the Cob ( Cooked in the Old Ways)

    Serving Size: 1 (118 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 127.4
     
    Calories from Fat 13
    10%
    Total Fat 1.5 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 20.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.6 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    14%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites