13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A very unique and tasty idea! I used 2 boxes of Jiffy cornbread mix (made as directed on package), then added a Tbsp of chopped jalapenos and used about 1 cup shredded pepper jack cheese. This gave it a wonderful kick! We got 12 muffins. We'll be making these often, thanks for sharing the recipe! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu March 26, 2010

Well to start I have to admit that I actually used this more as a base concept than a verbatim recipe. I fell in love with the idea but had to cut the fat content. I used Paula Deen's Mexican Cornbread Lightened instead of the Jiffy mix and veggie dogs which I just stood up in the batter and skipped the cheese. They had a great tex-mex flavor as I used Southwest style eggbeaters, fat free sour cream and jalapenos in the cornbread. They came out delicious and fun too. My apologies for mangling your recipe hon but they were a giant hit.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia September 06, 2009

I've made these several times over the last few weeks. We like them so much better than regular corn dogs and it's got to be because of the batter and the addition of cheese. The first time I made them exactly as directed (that's what my stars are based on) and they were awesome. Since then, I've added more cheese to a batch and also used monterey jack and colby cheese. I love that I can change this up depending on what I've got on hand and what we're in the mood for. Chad wants some with pepper jack cheese the next time I make them.
*Edited 10/14/12: Not wanting to deal with the muffin pan, I put this in casserole dish today. I did not make changes to the recipe, other than cheese. Baked at 400 degrees for 20 minutes. (I looked up other corn dog casserole recipes to get an estimate). After 20 minutes, I kept checking it every 3 or 4 minutes to ensure it was done all the way through. Still just as amazing and easier clean up than with the muffin pan.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chads Cook October 14, 2012

We enjoyed these. I made a half batch and got 8 muffins. The only problem I had was that the muffins stuck to the tin. I had sprayed the tin pretty thoroughly. Next time I will reduce the cheese. The kids loved these! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda Beth August 12, 2012

Delicious, easy, and VERY kid-friendly! I lightened it up and used light hot dogs & skim milk. I also cut the recipe in half. We ALL loved it, which is rare in this house! ;) I served with baked beans and mashed potatoes. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megs_ August 05, 2012

These are pretty awesome. They taste great and take just moments to throw together for a nice hot lunch. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Realtor by day, Chef by night September 18, 2011

Love the idea but these were just Ok.. they really had no flavor and needed something else. Kids didn't really eat them and hubby only ate it after I opened a can of chili to pour on top.. Probably will not make again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CareyLee August 15, 2011

How fun are these??!! 3 year old DS had a ball helping me make these, and DH ate quite a few. I used turkey hot dogs, slightly less cheese (will omit next time) and "Jiffy Corn Muffins Mix Clone" (Jiffy Corn Muffins Mix Clone). I thought 18 was too many but I', glad I didn't cut the recipe as I know they will frreeze well for kiddo lunches. Thanks for posting! Made for PRMR.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smellyvegetarian April 02, 2011

It has been years since I had a corn dog but I do believe the flavor of these muffins is reminiscent of that kid favorite. Thanks for posting. Made for PRMR.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swissms May 19, 2010

This is such a good idea for a quick snack, to place in lunch boxes etc. I made the cornbread from a seperate recipe (I dont use mix) and added the cheese, hotdogs + extra milk for the right consistency. Made for PRMR.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini March 15, 2010
Corn Dog Muffins