68 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a great base recipe for kids and family. I was excited when I saw it but new that for my family, green onion and sage would not work. I substituted sweet walla walla onions and added garlic powder and 1 cup frozen corn. HUGE HIT for the family. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ocprincess January 14, 2009

A recipe must be good if you forget an ingredient and the family still likes it! I forgot the cheese but hubby and I still enjoyed this very much. I also used yellow onions instead of green onions. 5 stars for originality!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MadCatKim August 09, 2003

I halved the recipe and used a bit more cheese than indicated but I felt that it needed something extra added to add more flavor--maybe sliced tomatoes on top of the casserole.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ June 27, 2003

Very good. We put the left overs in the frige and snacked on them for a couple of days.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clifford Boren June 15, 2003

Yummy! Actually this was a lot better than I expected. Way more sophisticated than a corn dog and a lot more flavor too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
berry271 August 26, 2013

I've been wanting to make this for some time because I like corn dogs, but this seems much easier and healthier. I used Jiffy Corn Muffin Mix Copycat for the Jiffy Mix. I didn't have any green onions, so I used chopped red onion. I also added chili powder, garlic powder, and a diced jalepeno.
It was pretty yummy and my 2 year old also approved!
Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Excalabra January 30, 2013

In my ongoing search for a meal my visiting DGD would eat tried this one. She still wouldn't touch it but the rest of us loved it; what a great, easy dinner. There was not a bite left over. Such a differant dish with flavors that remind you of those fair corn dogs, but with enough extra to make it a meal. I baked in an iron skillet mainly for the looks and it turned out great. I'm sure another less picky eater will enjoy it so planning to make it again when my DGSs come to visit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 July 29, 2012

Very Tasty! My son Seth LOVED it!!!! He ate half of it because he loves corn dogs!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MichelleJSmith May 20, 2012

Tasted bland, onions may have helped that, but I had to leave them out since my daughter doesn't like them. She wouldn't eat it anyways. I couldn't even coax her to pick out and eat the hotdog pieces. I made this for her, I am not a big fan of hotdogs, and I didn't want to eat it, so we threw it in the garbage.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aHardDaysNight March 27, 2012
Corn Dog Casserole