Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Corn, Crab, and Chipotle Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Corn, Crab, and Chipotle Chowder

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on September 19, 2010

      Deee-licious! I cut way back on the chipotle pepper for my kids. I only used 3/4 on one. I also had to use chicken stock instead of clam juice. Very tasty, will make again for sure.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2003

      Very good,I made it just like the recipe said, except I used canned Crab meat, Also 1 can of clams plus the clam juice. Be careful of how much of the chipotle chiles in adobo sauce that you use, Unless you like it really hot. I used 1&1/2 chiles (seeds removed) it was a little to spicey for us, but very good tasting except for that.The corn cob does add a lot of flavor. I will be making this again but with less chile's. Thank you Rita for posting the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      Excellent recipe - DH said it was better than our local fish place. I did make a few changes: 1) Used 1/2 crab and 1/2 shrimp. Crab is a little rich for me. 1 lb of crab really flaovered it and there was lots of it. 2) Only 1 chipotle - and that was just the right spice for me! 3) Forgot to buy clam juice - so I used chicken stock. I used pastuerized crab in the refrigerator case and did not drain it - so that helped make up the difference. 4) Used half and half and a bit of skim milk instead of the cream. - A bit thin - but I like my chowder thin. Very quick and Easy - definitely in my regular rotation

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2010

      We loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      I used only one potatoe and next time I would cook the potatoe first before adding it to the soup. I didn't have clam broth but I used a lobster base instead and it added an even richer taste. I pureed the soup in the pot, trying to break up the chunks of potatoe and then I added the crab last. Watch those chipotle chiles. Sometimes they can be quite hot. Very easy to throw together, especially if you use frozen corn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      This is the BEST Crab chowder I have ever eaten!!!!! I couldn't find clam broth, so I used the same amount of chicken stock. I cut the recipe in half, because I didn't want to waste crab meat if the recipe wasn't good. After tasting the chowder, I wish I would have made the full amount! It was DELICIOUS!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2009

      I originally thought this recipe was just going to be "OK", but wanted to make it because I had all the ingredients on hand. Boy, was I glad I did! This recipe was awesome. I had to cut it in half because I only had 1 cup of clam broth and cream. I did use imitation crab instead of lump also. To me it was still great. The one thing I would do differently next time is puree the chowder a little to make it less chunky and then add the crab. This one's a keeper. Awesome recipe! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      this was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      This was awesome!!!!!! I added some blanced asparagus at the end and a 1/4 cup of sherry during the cooking process. It is perfect. I am now making this with two cans of clams instead of crab to see what it tastes like. Should be some goood chowda!!!!!!!!! Ill keep ya posted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

      This chowder is out of this world incredible! Sooo Delicious.I made this tonight for myself and DD (who is 9). I used 1 chipotle because it was a hot one! I added some of the adobo sauce as well,I used frozen corn.(no fresh here in jersey during january...)Followed the rest as is and oh boy!My daughter said.. Mommy..this is a do again! Absolutely Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2008

      Excellent recipe, very flavorful. I would not change a thing. I used this a dip with crackers and my sister-in-law and I ate it for dinner, our husbands liked it too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2007

      Very substantial and tasty! The chipotle adds just enough kick. No changes necessary for this winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2007

      This is a great chowder that has a wonderful taste. I followed the recipe expect I used a 10oz container of frozen corn, use only 1lb. of crab meat and used skim evaporated milk for the cream. I'll will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2006

      Very good!! I love corn and crab togther. I did make half the recipe but kept the clam juice at 2 cups and the cream at 1 1/2 cups. I used dungeness crab. The kick from the chiles is perfect. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2005

      I recently had corn and chipotle chowder at a high end restaurant and it was delicious, so I began my search. This is a fine recipe. What I did do was food process the ingredients after the simmering and before adding the cream. Since I used canned corn, I found this to be a must since the kernels made the chowder appear more like a soup than a chowder. I also used imitation crabmeat since the cost of fresh is almost prohibitive. The chipotle chiles added zip and fire! I will make this chowder again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2004

      5 Stars for ease of preparation (what's a little chopping?)and FLAVOR GALORE! I really think there's a difference between real crab and imitation..but at $5/lb I couldn't afford to do it all real - so i split the difference and did 1lb fresh crab and 1lb imitation -no one but me knew (not even my hubby who HATES imitation crab). I used frozen corn instead of cob.. didn't have enough clam juice and substituted 1 c. chicken stock instead. Also, opted to add an additional cup. The two chipotles were perfect for my family and friends. I'll remember to get more clam juice next time, as I think it probably adds to the flavor of the dish. Thanks Rita - Fantastic recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2003

      delicious with just the right kick! i only used 1 chipolte for my less adventurous eaters, and i did use frozen corn. we just loved the combination of textures and flavors in this and it was a great starter for a tex mex meal

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Corn, Crab, and Chipotle Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (366 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 583.0
     
    Calories from Fat 314
    53%
    Total Fat 34.9 g
    53%
    Saturated Fat 20.6 g
    103%
    Cholesterol 225.9 mg
    75%
    Sodium 842.9 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.7 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    14%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 39.4 g
    78%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chipotle chiles in adobo

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes