Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Corn Cob Jelly Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Corn Cob Jelly

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on July 22, 2003

      This is one of the easiest jellies to make....I am glad I tried it--corn season is upon us! The taste is quite surprising...light, sweet & has a hint of something in the background I can't quite put my finger on--very tasty though. This one is going in my gift baskets...what a nice surprise! Thanks for a Great Recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2010

      I boiled a 16 quart stockpot full of bi-color and white cobs for about 20-25 minutes, strained it and got 4 quarts of "corn water" which I took 4 cups of with only two cups of sugar and a box of low sugar pectin.

      It turned out amazing! Sweet and so honey-like! I plan on making another (double) batch with the rest of it tomorrow - I got three pint jars and about 1/4 of another one from it. Just great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2003

      This did not set for me. I opened the jars and redid it, using more pectin, but it was still like water. I tasted it, and at that point all I could taste was pectin. I did add a small amount of additional sugar when I reprocessed, but still no luck. I imagine when this turns out it is good, but it didn't do it for me. :(

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2013

      My wife Patti and I made this jelly 7/29/13 it was fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2013

      This is soooo good. I tried to cut the recipe down. I had bought a pack of corn, that only had four in it. The amount of water wasn't enough, so added more, don't know how much, so, it didn't turn out right. It didn't get thick. I boiled it some more, and put just a pinch more of pectin into it. It turned out perfect. We just love it. Can't wait to buy more corn and make more. This time I will make the full recipe.<br/>Update<br/>I made this again last night. I used the 12 ears of corn this time, and followed the recipe. The amount of water just isn't enough. You need to put at least 2 or 3 more cups in. I didn't have 3 cups of liquid, so had to put the cobs in and boil again. It turned out really good. It really don't make much. I just fill the jars, turn them upside down on the counter for awhile, then, I left them out all night, and put in the fridge in the morning. Works fine for me.<br/>Sure is good. It is our favorite jelly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2011

      I followed the ingredients/directions to a T. It was easy to make as is any other jelly, only instead of juice of fruit, it was corn cob "juice." The only thing I didn't like was the taste. I didn't think it tasted like honey at all. It was very sweet, like sweet corn syrup. But that was just me, because others liked it a lot. I'm glad I had the experience of making this. It was an interesting recipe. :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2011

      Very interesting recipe. And, it is VERY SWEET and the sweetness does taste just like honey.

      I didn't add the food dye, so it is pretty clear.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2011

      Easy to make! Popping lids as I type...smells great, great appearance & can't wait to taste! Will edit after tasting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2009

      This was pretty easy to do (never made jelly) and neat because it's a bit different. I blanched 24 ears of bi-color corn (for freezing), strained the liquid and measured 10 cups (reserved a bit more in case I needed to add it later). After cutting off the kernels I threw the cobs and 10 cups of liquid in the pot but it wasn't enough to cover the cobs! Couldn't find anyone mentioning this so I didn't add more water, just followed the recipe anyway. After boiling for 10 mins I ended up with about 7 cups of liquid so threw some out but since 10 cups wasn't enough to cover the cobs anyway I'd rather have the extra to throw away than add water in step 6. I also did a 10 minute water bath rather than turning the jars upside down. I saved the foam from step 10 and heated in the microwave on high in 30 second intervals (watch it as it boils over easily) so it would become like the other jelly again. I didn't can the foam, just let it cool a bit and put it in the fridge to use up first. It smelled great cooking, definitely reminds me of apples and something I can't quite figure out yet! Finished this 6 hours ago and the stuff in the fridge is set, the canned stuff is not yet but it's still a little warm and I'm confident it's going to turn out (EDIT: All of the jelly set perfectly!). Yield for my (double) batch was 5 pints plus about half a pint from what I skimmed off in foam. My only complaint is this is very very sweet, even for a jelly. I feel like I'm missing out on some subtle flavor due to the high sugar content. I found another (tested, so it's safe for canning) recipe for this that is almost identical except it calls for 3/4 cups sugar, 1/8" headspace and a 5 minute water bath. Next time I make this, I'll start with 3/4 cup sugar and add more to taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2009

      Everyone I have given a jar of this to has LOVED it. I ended up using organic sweet corn from the farmers market, worked great. Mine set fine, although it did take about a week to do so. I loved using something I would normally throw away. Thank you for the recipe JQ.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      I made this recipe mostly out of curiosity, but it turned out to be REALLY good. I took my corn kernals and blanched them in the boiling water first (So I could keep them in the freezer for an easy dinner), then added my cobs for an extra sweet flavor. I wish I had added just a drop or two of yellow food coloring- the color is almost clear, and seems uninteresting. Oh and mine only made 4 half pint jars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

      I made this first, out of curiosity...and then became HOOKED! OMG this is wonderful! I used 6 cobs from field corn (early September) and 6 cobs from some silver queen sweet corn. Can you say...TOO DIE FOR??????? Can't wait to use it and also put in my Cristmas gift baskets this year!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

      I must admit....I'm very surprised. After reading such an interesting recipe, how could I not give it a try. I had just made Cream-Style Corn for the Freezer, so had plenty of cobs that would have just gone into the compost. This is very tasty. Much like honey, and so *easy*. I ended up with 5, 1/2 pint jars. Thanks for sharing Jellyqueen

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2007

      How unique!! I made this today.. and had the hardest time coming up with the liquid... I boiled 2 batches of cobs (20 total cobs)and could only come up with 2 1/3 cups liquid. It killed me to add the water... It still turned out nicely though. I also didn't strain the liquid since I thought the small corn chunks made it kind of pretty... I got 5 1/2 pint jars out of all of it and intend to give some away as Christmas gifts. i taste tested it thought out and it was good! Sweet with a slightly bitter undertone... very much like honey! Thanks for the unusual recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2007

    • on May 16, 2006

      What a great recipe. The saying waste not want not came to mind first. I had some frozen corn on the cob sitting in my freezer that had to be cycled out, so after making Gina's Creamed Corn creamed corn, I saved the cobs and made up the jelly. When they said this tasted like honey they weren't kidding, and yes everyone very easy to make...so all you beginners really wanna try this one. The only problem I had is that in following your recipe I found that this makes up into 3 half pints not pints. So next time I make it I will be sure to make up more than one batch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2004

      I made this with ears from fresh sweet corn. It was very easy to make and my son really likes it. I plan to use this in some gift baskets at Christmastime.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Jellies Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Corn Cob Jelly

    Serving Size: 1 (3165 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1485.1
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    29%
    Total Fat 7.0 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 16.8 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 365.6 g
    121%
    Dietary Fiber 11.3 g
    45%
    Sugars 287.5 g
    1150%
    Protein 16.1 g
    32%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    powdered fruit pectin

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes