Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Corn Cob Jelly Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Corn Cob Jelly

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on August 29, 2001

      this recipe is wonderful. it taste like honey and apples. it is great. thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2001

      I have made this recipe for many, many years now. It was my grandmother's recipe in the beginning. Our whole family loves it. It tastes like apple jelly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2013

      A generous neighbor gave me a large batch of fresh sweet corn from his garden and after I'd frozen the kernels using How to Freeze Fresh Corn I had all those cobs left over and remembered seeing this recipe so decided to give it a try. I followed the directions and did add 3 drops of yellow food coloring just because I wanted to make sure it had some color. I did skip the straining part as I like the looks of flecks in my jellies. It turned out wonderful and from what I was able to taste on the spoon very yummy with that slight, sweet apple flavor. I did small jars as not sure how it would go over - but now know it'll be enjoyed and will be an interesting addition to my gift baskets.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      This was fun to make! Has a mild apple-like flavor. I let my cobs boil a little too long and had to add more water and start again, so next time I'd start with 6 cups of water. Not sure if this has enough acidity to be safe in a water bath, so I just refrigerated the jars. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2004

      wonderful and it really does taste like apples, i like this recipe because your using everything you can from the ear of corn

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2003

      Taste GREAT. We bought some of this at pigeon forge last year. I found a recipe, but i lost it before canning time. I made this three ways, First, just like the recipe says. Wonderful! Second, I remembered the other recipe i had, said to add 1 small box of red hots. I could'nt find them so i used 10 of the large cinnamon disc. I just desolved them in the 3 cups of hot juice then finished just like the recipe says. Third, I found the empty jar from last year and noticed it had apple juice as one of the ingredients. So i used 2 cups of the corn cobb juice one cup of apple juice and the 10 cinnamon disc in the next batch. It is all just great. I dont think this jelly can be bad.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2011

      I actually took this recipe as a joke...the jokes on me...my whole family likes it...we made ours red because I knew my grandkids would eat it if it was red...I've been giving the stuff to everyone I know, including the Chef at Hy-Vee...I'm really glad I copied this recipe...Thank-you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2011

      delicious! Great on buttered toast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2011

      I love this recipe! I've made jelly from lots of disgards, but I never thought about corn cobbs. It's really good. It reminds me of my apple peel jelly recipe. I will make lots of this jelly as gifts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2010

      Ok...I was skeptical and I tried it for the fun of it...but this really does taste a lot like honey! What a hoot to take something you would normally though out and make something yummy from it. I have frozen all my sweet corn...I should have tried this recipe before I threw out all those corn cobs! I'll know better next year! This recipe goes in my permanent file...thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      I actually made recipe 50140 which was posted by Jellyqueen but since they are identical in ingredients I'm reviewing both.This was pretty easy to do (never made jelly) and neat because it's a bit different. I blanched 24 ears of bi-color corn (for freezing), strained the liquid and measured 10 cups (reserved a bit more in case I needed to add it later). After cutting off the kernels I threw the cobs and 10 cups of liquid in the pot but it wasn't enough to cover the cobs! Couldn't find anyone mentioning this in Jellyqueen's reviews so I didn't add more water, just followed the recipe anyway. After boiling for 10 mins I ended up with about 7 cups of liquid so threw some out but since 10 cups wasn't enough to cover the cobs anyway I'd rather have the extra to throw away than add water to get 6 cups. I also did a 10 minute water bath. I saved the foam I skimmed off before pouring in jars and heated in the microwave on high in 30 second intervals (watch it as it boils over easily) so it would become like the other jelly again. I didn't can the foam, just let it cool a bit and put it in the fridge to use up first. It smelled great cooking, definitely reminds me of apples and something I can't quite figure out yet! Finished this 6 hours ago and the stuff in the fridge is set, the canned stuff is not yet but it's still a little warm and I'm confident it's going to turn out. Yield for my (double) batch was 5 pints plus about half a pint from what I skimmed off in foam. My only complaint is this is very very sweet, even for a jelly. I feel like I'm missing out on some subtle flavor due to the high sugar content. I found another (tested, so it's safe for canning) recipe for this that is almost identical except it calls for 3/4 cups sugar, 1/8" headspace and a 5 minute water bath. Next time I make this, I'll start with 3/4 cup sugar and add more to taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      I saw this recipe and thought you have to be kidding, tried it because I froze 55 dozen ears of corn, so why not....everyone loves it! I found I needed more then 4 cups water but other then that is set up great and it tastes like apples! Big Hit!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      I was beginning to think I was crazy because I could not find my Corncob Jelly recipe. I sort of knew the basics but finding DiB's recipe confirmed the process. Corncob Jelly is an excellent jelly and apple honey describes it really well. Hadn't made it in years but the family wanted to put up produce once again and I loved making jellies and jams. Glad I found this site and very thankful that you thought enough of this receipe to post it. Thank you, aecann

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2008

      What? Corn cob jelly? Okay, thats weird!! Well it was so weird I had to try it. They are sealing on the counter as I write this. I tried the little bit that was left in the pan and oh my, oh my it's so yummy! The kids all came running in wanting a taste I swear they have esp or something. Any how all 5 kids gave it a thumbs up!!! Thanks DiB's for another wonder recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2007

      OK, I admit, I was attracted to the strangeness of this. It's taken me a while to accumulate enough corn cobbs. I have been freezing them. Finally, I had enough of both the cobbs & the time to do this. It turned out much better than I thought. Now if I only had that acorn bread I made a couple years ago - I think my dh would have me committed! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2007

      Turned out great .Taste heavenly.It's like BUTTER!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2007

    • on September 15, 2002

      My girls just loved this.. they are picky

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Corn Cob Jelly

    Serving Size: 1 (3778 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 866.4
     
    Calories from Fat 23
    70%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 39.2 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 218.3 g
    72%
    Dietary Fiber 9.9 g
    39%
    Sugars 145.5 g
    582%
    Protein 10.8 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites