Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Corn Chowder (Crock Pot) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Corn Chowder (Crock Pot)

    Average Rating:

    37 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 37

    Sort by:

    • on January 02, 2001

      This really is a great recipe. I substitute Chicken Broth for the water and at the end I add some cream (Heavy, Light or Half & Half) just to add some creamy richness. Also for a special twist add some cooked baby shrimp (peeled & de-viened of course) 15-20 minutes before serving. And plenty of cracked Pepper and Soda Crackers :-) Enjoy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      this has become a staple in our household! it is so versatile and some of the recommendations here have been great. i typically use broth in place of water, add a clove or two of garlic & other veggies (carrots, zucchini, turnips, whatever is on hand). i omit the sugar and add a tsp+ of cumin, paprika and crushed red pepper. about half an hour before chow time, i stir in a 1/2 cup of half & half or whole milk and 1 cup of chopped spinach. yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      Why oh why haven t I rated this before? Been making my corn chowder this exact way for years now. Its absolutely the best corn chowder you will ever find! Few changes tough :) First of all skip the water and add 2 cups of good quality chicken stock. I make my own and freeze for later use. Secondly I add a 1/2 to a 1 cup of heavy cream few minutes before serving. This is a wonderful meal that everyone one in my house enjoys!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2003

      We loved this. I used beef fry instead of bacon to make it kosher and left off the Worcestershire sauce instead I just used some extra salt. Will make this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2003

      This is one of my favorite comfort foods. I have used this recipe for years with the exception that I have always used milk instead of the water. Tonight, I will be adding the shrimp.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2002

      This was easy and tasty. I used the little shrimp and the half and half. I served it with grilled cheese and everyone loved it. I had little leftovers. Thank you

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2001

      I used the suggestion of Bob LeBlanc and it was wonderful. I found out that half way through the cooking process, I needed to add more water (or broth) I added a 1 1/2 cups more. At the last 20 minutes of cooking I added a cup of 1/2 and 1/2 (we use the fat free one). The recipe made about 16 cups of soup. It only took 20 minutes to fry bacon, then the potato mix and the rest was put in the crckpot and stirred occasionaly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2013

      I thought I would need the 5 quart crock pot but it fit in the smaller 3.5 qt.
      I used turkey bacon, used Splenda instead of sugar, broth instead of water and added a few more onions. Yummy.
      The only thing I may change the next time work be more liquid/creamed corn

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2012

      This is great - I've made it twice now and I LOVE it. I basically double it and add 2 garlic cloves and a cup of half and half at the end. Because of what my grocery store has, I use 8 oz bacon, 32 oz bag of corn kernels, 1 and 1/2 cans cream-style corn, 4 large red potatoes, 1 medium sweet onion, and a 10 oz can of chicken broth (instead of water). Sometimes I cook it on high for 2 hours then low for 4 hours. I serve it with garlic bread and it's to die for! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2012

    • on December 31, 2011

      I tripled this recipe with no changes made at all, except to add about 2 cups of light cream at the end. I am taking it to my church tonight for our New Year's Eve service, and I'm telling you, I know there won't be a drop left...This stuff is delicious!! thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2011

      Loved it! I did replace water with chicken broth, added half n half towards the end, and made it thicker with cornstarch mixed with water. I like corn chowder on the thicker side (:

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2010

      This recipe turned out well and my family liked it. It made A LOT so we had leftovers for a couple days. It was not as flavorful as I had hoped, so I will use chicken stock instead of water the next time I make it. I also like the idea of adding some cream or milk at the end to make it a bit creamy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

      we couldnt stop eating it, really hearty and wholesome. I followed the recipe exactly, I used organic corn and fresh potatoes, mrs. dash, no salt! Everyone loved it! I served it with salmon -- a perfect meal! http://www.recipezaar.com/recipe/The-Ultimate-Salmon-Fillets-53198 I initially was taken aback -- no milk in chowder? I was going to add some, but decided to serve it as is, and four people ate the whole pot! I pureed mine and added it to another scoop, this mixture was really good, too, made it look more like a chowder. I wouldnt change a thing, just dont use GMO corn! Aloha!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      This tasted good but it was like eating corn with a little sauce. There is too much corn for the liquid the recipe asks for. I ended up putting it through a blender and making a puree. It didn't look to good but tasted alright

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      What a great flavor. my whole family loved it. Since my husband is lactose intolerant, it was nice to find a chowder recipe with no dairy. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      I didn't have time to use the crock pot, so I prepared mine in my dutch oven. Turned out fabulous! Instead of water, I added chicken broth and I also added some heavy whipping cream at the end. For a little heat, I added some crushed red pepper. I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      I found this recipe when looking for a way to use up some frozen corn I had. This chowder is wonderful! We ate it right up. What I liked most was how easy the prep was. Some crock pot dishes require a lot of prep and so lose their appeal. I usually have a few pieces of leftover cooked bacon in the freezer, so... simple!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2009

      Fantastic! This was so easy and delicious I will definitely make it again and again. I followed another reviewers advice and used 2 c chicken broth instead of water, and 1/2 cup half & half at the very end. Delish and full of flavor!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2009

      This recipe sounds great, the only problem is that I am gone at least 10 hours a day and I am afraid it would get too dry or mushy, Any suggestions??

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Corn Chowder (Crock Pot)

    Serving Size: 1 (441 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 353.5
     
    Calories from Fat 64
    18%
    Total Fat 7.1 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 8.1 mg
    2%
    Sodium 449.1 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 71.6 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 7.1 g
    28%
    Sugars 8.3 g
    33%
    Protein 9.8 g
    19%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites