Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Corn Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Corn Chowder

    Average Rating:

    60 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 60

    Sort by:

    • on November 07, 2006

      Delicious. I used frozen corn (this is winter), and didn't have either turmeric or cumin so I used a little curry powder. Easy to make. A definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2006

      This recipe definitely "lends itself well to personalization". We used a bit more cornstarch to thicken it. Very good, very yellow, and going straight into my Comfort foods cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2006

      Wonderful!!! My picky toddler ate this right up.I made a few changes because I am trying to lose weight- but it was still excellent. I used one can of fat free evaporated milk instead of the cream,and used half olive oil in place of the 2 tbsps butter. I didn't have any turmeric or thyme so I left them out, but I added a full teaspoon cumin because I love it. This recipe lends itself well to personalization and is just excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2006

      This was a hit in our house! I used dired thyme because I couldn't get fresh and omitted the red bell pepper, but still this was so tasty. My husband even called me from work to tell me how great it was!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2006

      Delicious, I have made it for my family several times since I found this site and although I have made a few substitutions if I did not have something on hand, it still turns out great. I like to use the frozen pepper-onion stir fry vegetable chopped while they are frozen, add some extra onion and fry in the butter lightly before adding other ingredients. I have also used whatever potato I have at the time. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2006

      Easy... I served this as a starting dish to corned beef instead of a salad. NO one could get enough of it! Making a second batch today! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2006

      Excellent chowder!!! Made me feel like I was back home in New England. Thanks! Al

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2006

      I used frozen corn and dried thyme. I skipped the bacon, cumin and turmeric and instead used 1 tsp paprika. I flooded the soup with chives. And still it was one of the best soups I ever had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2006

      Fabulous! The only thing I did differently was to use peppered bacon and leftover cooked (fresh) corn. A definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2006

      This is only the second recipe from this site that I have tried and it is another winner. I used canned corn (had lots handy) and evaporated milk and it is still seriously good. Can't wait to try it with fresh ingredients! With crusty bread, a warm family meal for a chilly autumn night.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2006

      Fabulous recipe. Easy to prepare, and oh sooooooo delicious. My family loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2006

      This was very good. We followed exactly as directed. Next time, I will use more fresh corn, and roast on the grill prior to adding to the soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2005

      A great tasting soup. I made a few changes and it still turned out gr8. I was so sure I had tined corn in the cupboard it turned out I only had cream style corn, so I used it. we dont consume bacon so i left it out. Lastly I didnt have any chives so I added fresh corriander. I will be making this recipe often in winter and stick to my changes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2005

      I'd give this more than 5 stars if I could. It was simple to make, too. I love the blend of flavors and textures. This will be add to my "permanent file". This is my first "MEAN CHEF" recipe I've tried and you've lived up to your reputation on Zaar!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2005

      Used frozen corn and didn't have any tumeric with me so used paprika. DELISH! The best corn chowder ever. Danke MC!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2005

      Excellent, we only had canned corn on hand to use, so if this recipe was good with yucky canned corn it has to be 10 stars with fresh or frozen! I didn't have cream so I substituted evaporated milk. When I served it I placed a bowl of shredded cheddar cheese on the table so if anyone wanted they could sprinkle a little on their hot chowder. It really added to the flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2004

      meanchef, thanks for making me a star! I made this soup for Thanksgiving dinner while the family came and went from the kitchen. It was awesome, the most asked for leftover! The only changes were I used frozen corn and I used red and orange peppers for the festive color (I had to triple the recipe). The spices were wonderful and added great color and flavor to the soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2004

      Extremely tasty and really hit the spot on a cold New England night. Everyone loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2004

      A wonderful thick chowder- the only addition I made was to add half a container of Imperial Cold Pack sharp cheddar at the end along with the whipping cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2003

      Surprise! Another 5-star review for the Mean Chef! ;) This was great- I have to admit, I was naughty and substituted frozen corn for the fresh, but I had a big ole' bag of it in the freezer and made this recipe because I was looking to use it up. I also used unpeeled russet potatoes rather than yukon gold because that's what I had on hand. I also used dried thyme and curry powder instead of tumeric. BUT regardless of all my substitutions- this was still fantastic. I think that next time I will make the effort to make it with fresh corn, though. My boyfriend and I loved this. I found that I did not need the cornstarch mixture and I also used half-and-half (the grocery was out of cream for some reason). Yum yum yum yum, as always. I am craving some more, but it's already gone!! Thank you again, Mean Chef! (I also used your Brown Chicken Stock #56806 as the chicken stock.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Chowders Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Corn Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (514 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 631.7
     
    Calories from Fat 394
    62%
    Total Fat 43.7 g
    67%
    Saturated Fat 22.3 g
    111%
    Cholesterol 121.4 mg
    40%
    Sodium 534.3 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.1 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 4.8 g
    19%
    Sugars 8.1 g
    32%
    Protein 14.0 g
    28%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh thyme

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes