Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Corn Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Corn Chowder

    Average Rating:

    60 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 60

    Sort by:

    • on September 12, 2010

      Very nice with the spices. I used plain yogurt since I didn't have cream around.
      Noticed a trick in Bitman as I was researching these corn chowder recipes which is to boil the cobs in water to create the stock.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2011

      Very flavorful! The cheese on top is a nice touch. I added an eensy bit of cayenne pepper for a little extra zing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2009

      This is sooooooo amazingly delicious!!!!! I even wanted it for breakfast! :o To cut down on the fat, we used 1% milk instead of the cream. Though the chowder obviously wasn't as thick as it should be, the taste was still fantastic! The only other change we made was that instead of fresh corn, we used about 3 cups of canned whole kernel and creamed corn combination. We hardly needed to adjust the seasoning--it was perfect for us! We will definitely make again. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2013

      My family said this is a "Do Over" recipe! I used 3 cans of corn w/liquid, 3 large russet potatoes peeled (I put them in after the onion mixture sauteed and cooked them a little before adding the chicken stock) I also added 1 rib of celery w/the onion. I didn't have any cream, so I used 2% milk w/ 3 heaping teaspoons of sour cream, added slowly as not to curdle. Delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2011

    • on September 04, 2011

      I really liked this although, or maybe because, it's really high calorie! DS who really likes soup didn't like it, DS who doesn't like soup didn't like it, and DH thought it would be better without corn. I used 4 ears of bicolor corn and celery instead of red pepper. Also dry mustard instead of tumeric like another reviewer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2011

      I have tried several corn chowder recipes, and this is by far the best! The seasoning and the bacon add such a wonderful flavor. The smell of this simmering on the stove is heavenly! I used corn kernels from a couple ears that I had roasted earlier in the week. This is my new go-to recipe for corn chowder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2011

      This recipe is delicious as is although I've made variations, depending on what I have at hand. This is a staple in our household during corn season, but I've used both frozen and canned corn in the winter. The longer you let the flavours "meld" after cooking, the better it tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2011

      Very nice soup, flavorful and not difficult. I did use 4 ears of corn, but that was the only change. I did garnish with some chopped scallions.
      Very good flavors!
      Thx for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2011

    • on December 26, 2010

      I didn't have any potatoes, so I mixed in some leftover mashed potatoes instead. Nonetheless, it was wonderful. I will definitely be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2010

      This chowder is really delicious! Didn't make any changes to the recipe. I will make this again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2010

      When I offered to cook dinner for a couple with a new baby, this is what they requested. I'd never even eaten corn chowder, much less made it, so I had to go searching for a recipe. There are a lot posted here but, when in doubt, always trust Mean Chef! It took a little time but was extremely easy to throw together, and my friends absolutely raved about it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2010

      FANTASTIC! My mother overbought corn cobs a few days ago (the woman cannot resist a sale), so I made chowder with this recipe and WOW was it good! So good that I am making it a gain in a few days with the last of the corn! I am for sure saving this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      This was delicious! I used red potatoes instead of yukon and added some green onions at the end. Served with corn bread. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

    • on August 28, 2009

      Added 4 green onions for colour and flavour. EXCELLENT. Used 4 ears, and this makes about 4 quarts. If you don't have cream, try sour cream. Added a little tang and body.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      Absolutely the best corn chower I have ever made. The cumin and tumeric add a special touch without being overwhelming. August corn is up in Vermont and here comes another batch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      I did not have any fresh thyme, and used a bit too much dried. Even so, this soup was delicious! Everyone, including the children loved it. They said next time, make a bigger batch! Thanks for sharing a new family favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2009

      This was delicious--but if I could, I'd drop half a star because the recipe is a tad too rich. It could be my own fault, tho, since I realized too late I only had 2 cups of stock handy. I should perhaps have substituted a cup of water for the missing portion, in order to cut the fatty flavor; didn't because I was afraid of dulling the flavor--but since this recipe's packed with yum, it wouldn't have hurt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Corn Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (514 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 631.7
     
    Calories from Fat 394
    62%
    Total Fat 43.7 g
    67%
    Saturated Fat 22.3 g
    111%
    Cholesterol 121.4 mg
    40%
    Sodium 534.3 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.1 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 4.8 g
    19%
    Sugars 8.1 g
    32%
    Protein 14.0 g
    28%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh thyme

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes