60 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very nice with the spices. I used plain yogurt since I didn't have cream around.
Noticed a trick in Bitman as I was researching these corn chowder recipes which is to boil the cobs in water to create the stock.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lethin September 12, 2010

Very flavorful! The cheese on top is a nice touch. I added an eensy bit of cayenne pepper for a little extra zing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I Love Figs! September 27, 2011

This is sooooooo amazingly delicious!!!!! I even wanted it for breakfast! :o To cut down on the fat, we used 1% milk instead of the cream. Though the chowder obviously wasn't as thick as it should be, the taste was still fantastic! The only other change we made was that instead of fresh corn, we used about 3 cups of canned whole kernel and creamed corn combination. We hardly needed to adjust the seasoning--it was perfect for us! We will definitely make again. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
frozen_rain April 08, 2009

My family said this is a "Do Over" recipe! I used 3 cans of corn w/liquid, 3 large russet potatoes peeled (I put them in after the onion mixture sauteed and cooked them a little before adding the chicken stock) I also added 1 rib of celery w/the onion. I didn't have any cream, so I used 2% milk w/ 3 heaping teaspoons of sour cream, added slowly as not to curdle. Delicious!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PB & J December 05, 2013

I really liked this although, or maybe because, it's really high calorie! DS who really likes soup didn't like it, DS who doesn't like soup didn't like it, and DH thought it would be better without corn. I used 4 ears of bicolor corn and celery instead of red pepper. Also dry mustard instead of tumeric like another reviewer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheepdoc September 04, 2011

I have tried several corn chowder recipes, and this is by far the best! The seasoning and the bacon add such a wonderful flavor. The smell of this simmering on the stove is heavenly! I used corn kernels from a couple ears that I had roasted earlier in the week. This is my new go-to recipe for corn chowder.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pheebess August 27, 2011

This recipe is delicious as is although I've made variations, depending on what I have at hand. This is a staple in our household during corn season, but I've used both frozen and canned corn in the winter. The longer you let the flavours "meld" after cooking, the better it tastes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gizmom August 21, 2011

Very nice soup, flavorful and not difficult. I did use 4 ears of corn, but that was the only change. I did garnish with some chopped scallions.
Very good flavors!
Thx for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarasotaCook January 22, 2011
Corn Chowder