67 Reviews

Perhaps this is blasphemy but I substituted 1% milk for the melted butter and it was delicious. I try to modify recipes to make them more heart healthy for my family but want them to enjoy their meals too. It was very good.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bren in LR July 18, 2012

Great. Add the egg for sure and mix the shredded cheddar right into the batter. For a bit extra flavor use the melted butter to saute a small chopped onion. Cool a bit and then add the other ingredients and bake.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dede11 April 20, 2011

Classic. Always use Jiffy. It imparts the classic "sweet"ness. Yum.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LorenLou January 10, 2010

This recipe was the shining star in our Thanksgiving this year!!! Everyone loved it. But the consensus was to leave off the shredded cheese. As the casserole cools on the table, the cheese layer gets hard and unappetizing. It is simply an unnecessary and fatty addition to an already delicious treat. In future Thanksgiving dinners, I am eliminating my candied yams (which have been a tradition with my family for over 50 years) and am including this as our new tradition. My daughter in law made a sweet potato casserole with a pecan crunch topping that was delicious and will now be our new yam tradition instead of my candied yams. This recipe is incredibly yummy. I'm not reserving it for Thanksgiving. I will be making this throughout the year.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailmail10 November 27, 2015

My husband and I have never been a fan of cornbread, so needless to say I have never had corn cassarole. I was raised in Ky, ( i know right??? ) . Someone brought corn cassarole to a potluck luncheon at work, so I tried it, it was just ok for me, alittle on the dry side. I saw this recipe, and thought it sounded promising. I used the recipe as a base for what I had on hand. I used cheddar soup in place of the creamed corn, sliced 1 green onion, and 1/2 a jalapeno, seeded and devained, added 1 egg,the jiffy, sourcream, and corn kernals, and about 1 cup of shredded colbyjack chesse. Mixed it altogether and poured into my 8x8 baking pan. It baked to perfection, added the 1/2 cup of chesse, let it melt and it was " Out of this world "! My husband absolutley loved it and he's a yankee :) I'm taking it to our Thanksgiving dinner. I hope everyone, has a very Happy Thanksgiving . Give your children a hug and be thankful for them....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cita705_12754854 November 27, 2014

I absolutely love this recipe. It is my new go-to recipe that is quick and easy. The only changes I made were that I added chopped green onions--green blades and all , I mixed the cheese in the casserole, and topped with crushed cheese its and a little bit of butter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jeannie d. September 05, 2014

This was delicious! I did use about 3/4 stick of butter and only maybe 3/4-1 cup cheese. I mixed in some cheese and put a little on top. Was still rich and delicious! Could see where a little sauteed onion would be a great addition.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 April 22, 2014

I tried this recipe as a side with my Paula Deen stuffed green peppers tonight. I made it just like the recipe. No one in my house has ever had a corn casserole and everyone loved it. What a great way to take corn to a different level. I love corn and I will be making this recipe again. As always Paula never disappoints me!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
taryn7703 December 14, 2013

Made this exactly and it was delicious, although I kept thinking that all that butter may not be necessary. After reading the reviews I think I may agree that I could have added another can of whole kernel corn. And maybe the cheese would have been even better mixed right in or reduced if putting on top as directed. Think I'll add an egg next time as suggested by several reviews. But, I will be making it again! Mmmm, good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Puff June 20, 2013

I took this to a friend's house to go with dinner and everyone, kids and adults, ate it up! I made it exactly as directed. I would have been fine without the cheese, but everyone else seemed to like it that way.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lemonJAM May 05, 2013
Corn Casserole (Paula Deen)