28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was part of my "last supper" before trying to be good and cut out calories.....it was worth every single one! Yum! It might sound gross to some but a little melted honey butter on top...so good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
startnover March 04, 2007

Somehow I'd missed this recipe the last few years - not anymore! I doubled the amount and baked it for 1 hr, 15 min in a 9 x 13 pan. I had wondered how sweet it would be, given the flavor of the muffin mix and the natural sweetness of the corn. It was sweet, but not overly so. We may try adding some green onions or cheese next time (as much as the girls loved it I know there *will* be a next time!) I didn't really think of the consistency as 'bread,' as it was very dense and moist, but that made it perfect for breakfast the next morning when I sliced it thinly and fried the slices in butter (diet? What diet?)..oh my goodness, that was heavenly! Thank you so much for posting a wonderful new addition to our menus. :o)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
winkki November 25, 2006

I love the corn cakes that I used to get at a Mexican restaurant when I lived in California. This casserole has that same creamy consistency and the flavor is incredible.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katie Y August 23, 2006

This is THE recipe for a corn side dish. It's so easy a child could make it (or a husband) and it comes out perfectly every time. I did add a tablespoon of honey and 2 shakes of cayenne for a spicy sweetness. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DuChick December 25, 2005

I made this as one of the sides for our Thanksgiving dinner. Since I cook the entire meal for a relatively large gathering, it is nice to have a simple, quick recipe that is easy to whip up at the last minute. I doubled the recipe and baked it (a little longer than stated) in a 9X13-inch pan. Everyone enjoyed it--thanks for posting the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaJ November 27, 2005

Yummy, warm and ooooh so good. I use a pie plate, so it took a bit longer for the middle to set. This was the best part of our Thanksgiving dinner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy Brunell November 26, 2005

This is a great recipe. Keep in mind you do have to use the right size pan or it will not bake all the way through and be more like a pudding texture verses a cornbread. A twist to cornbread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Txcook74 November 23, 2005

Dense and moist, more a corn pudding than corn bread. An excellent side dish, as a previous review suggested. I added a bit of cayenne but will try some of the other add-in suggestions next time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Not So Good Cook September 05, 2005

this is very much like the recipe I use, but mine does not call for butter, and I use 1/2 cup sour cream & 1/2 cup softened cream cheese. Very good easy dish that is now a staple at all family gatherings

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessica Costello June 18, 2005
Corn Casserole