32 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Really yummy! I would describe it as a corn bread pudding (I don't mean a corn flavored bread pudding but rather a corn bread with a pudding-like consistency). I only used half the amount of sour cream because someone in my house opened it up and ate a bunch before I could write on the top that it was for a recipe. I also used 15 oz cans of both corn and creamed corn because I didn't notice that the recipe called for small cans until after I was home from the store.

Future alterations:
More regular corn (frozen? canned?, I love me some corn!)
Zucchini? (more veggies!!)
Light Sour cream (calorie cutting)
Egg (to solidify it a bit)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HocoRuco November 10, 2010

Ha ha, I did this the hard way...I mixed up my own cornmeal/flour/baking powder/salt. Then I realize my corn is 14 1/2 oz size. THEN I realize I have no canned corn. Ah well, proceed with my 8 1/2 oz of home mixed cornbread mix with my big can of creamed corn. I used the empty can to measure out the frozen corn. ;) Added the sour cream & butter...it seemed a smidge dry because I had rounded up so I added a splash of buttermilk (I had finished the sour cream, lol). I also added a big ole pinch of cayenne. Tossed it all in the oven for an hour & voila! Beautiful comfort food!! A fabulous recipe & very easy if you make sure you have the ingredients called for, lol. But not difficult even if you don't. ;) Made for the comfort food photo swap.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elmotoo January 12, 2008

I can't believe I haven't reviewed this recipe. I make it all the time. My husband requests this recipe any time I ask "What should we have for a side dish?" I've also brought this to a few potlucks at work and EVERYBODY asks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WildIrishRose January 23, 2010

Could this be any easier? Seriously, this is simple dimple to make and it is really delicious! Everyone went crazy for it and was fighting over the spoon!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JuJuBeJen August 24, 2009

EXCELLENT! Moist and delicious. I added 1 cup of cheddar cheese. My DH fell in love with this casserole. Truly a comfort food dish! Thank you, Blue Rose, for sharing this recipe. Prepared for the January 2008 Comfort Food Photo Forum Event.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seasoned Cook January 14, 2008

I made this for Thanksgiving. I loved it! I've had it at a couple of potluck dinners and had been wanting to make it. My family wasn't too sure about it but they are slow to warm up to new things. It'll take 3 or 4 times before they decide they like new things sometimes. It's really different from the things I usually make. We never have anything with cornbread in it. I told them they better learn to love it cause it's going to be on the table every year! Thank you for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Realtor by day, Chef by night November 29, 2012

In the catering business this is called a corn souffle. Delicious, loved by kids and adults alike. My kids are very picky and 3 out of 4 asked for more.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Portugarians November 11, 2012

Love corn, cornbread, and casseroles ... and the more crunchy edges I get that is even better yet. Made our with 6 tablespoons of butter instead of 8. Thanks for sharing, Blue Rose.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal March 13, 2012

Delicious ! Imade the recipe as directed. This is so good it's hard to stop eating this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorac March 02, 2012

I have several recipes similar to this & am always happy to try another one! I always think of this kind of casserole as corn pudding, but that's neither here nor there ~ What is important is that it is absolutely delicious, whether as a side or as a snack all on its own! Thanks so much for sharing the recipe! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike December 28, 2011
Corn Casserole