14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Easy and awesome. I upped the sugar to 1/2 cup (I like it sweet) and drained half of the liquid from the reg can of corn. I had to cook it longer than 30 min to get it to brown on top. For those saying it was gritty, consider cooking it longer until it's firm and light brown on top. I know when I tasted mine at 30 min, it was gritty from the jiffy mix. After letting it cook longer it came out creamy, sweet and smooth.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ThaGirl4Ya May 12, 2014

Good :) but it wasn't quite as sweet as at mexican restaurants, or as rubbery :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hannahpikus June 14, 2011

Made if for supper club and everyone raved. Only change I made was to put some fresh jalapeno - minus the seeds - on top. Great recipe, thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susan D in Indianapolis, IN November 07, 2010

SO GOOD! I used 1/4 cup sugar and 4 TBSP butter. Not gritty at all. Creamy and delish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melissa823 August 12, 2010

Good desert, simpler than some of the others posted and tasted great. Awesome as is but also very easy to alter this recipe with good results. So far I've tried it with coconut milk as a topping, great. I have also tried less butter and more sugar, good also. I've even tried a low calorie version suggested from a friend, apple sauce instead of butter, and using splenda, good results.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Puffnstuff April 28, 2009

This tasted pretty good but had a sort of gritty texture to it. Other corn casserole recipes I have tried have eggs in them and they don't seem to be as gritty. Made an alright side dish for pork chop night, though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mistydisa December 19, 2008

Loved it! We used to have this at a local mexican restaurant that is no longer open! It was just like it! Very yummy and easy to make! I might add just a little more sugar, because we like it a little sweeter! Thank you for this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisajean77 November 13, 2008

Was good. Needs a little something..........It may have been the brand of corn bread mix that I used. Will try this next time using Jiffy and report back. Thanks for sharing. I love mexican food!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
padreaming October 18, 2008

I also reduced the butter to 1/4 cup and increased the sugar to 1/4 cup. It was perfect and I will make this often, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaec January 22, 2008

I made this exactly as written. It was good, but it had a slightly gritty texture. ***Re-rating this after making it again on 11/13/07. Not sure if it was because I used a different brand of corn muffin mix (Pioneer vs. Jiffy) or if it was because I let the batter set a while before I baked it, but it was not gritty this time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nanita November 18, 2007
Corn Cake