Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Corn Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Corn Cake

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on May 12, 2014

      Easy and awesome. I upped the sugar to 1/2 cup (I like it sweet) and drained half of the liquid from the reg can of corn. I had to cook it longer than 30 min to get it to brown on top. For those saying it was gritty, consider cooking it longer until it's firm and light brown on top. I know when I tasted mine at 30 min, it was gritty from the jiffy mix. After letting it cook longer it came out creamy, sweet and smooth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2011

      Good :) but it wasn't quite as sweet as at mexican restaurants, or as rubbery :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2010

      Made if for supper club and everyone raved. Only change I made was to put some fresh jalapeno - minus the seeds - on top. Great recipe, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2010

      SO GOOD! I used 1/4 cup sugar and 4 TBSP butter. Not gritty at all. Creamy and delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      Good desert, simpler than some of the others posted and tasted great. Awesome as is but also very easy to alter this recipe with good results. So far I've tried it with coconut milk as a topping, great. I have also tried less butter and more sugar, good also. I've even tried a low calorie version suggested from a friend, apple sauce instead of butter, and using splenda, good results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      This tasted pretty good but had a sort of gritty texture to it. Other corn casserole recipes I have tried have eggs in them and they don't seem to be as gritty. Made an alright side dish for pork chop night, though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2008

      Loved it! We used to have this at a local mexican restaurant that is no longer open! It was just like it! Very yummy and easy to make! I might add just a little more sugar, because we like it a little sweeter! Thank you for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2008

      Was good. Needs a little something..........It may have been the brand of corn bread mix that I used. Will try this next time using Jiffy and report back. Thanks for sharing. I love mexican food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      I also reduced the butter to 1/4 cup and increased the sugar to 1/4 cup. It was perfect and I will make this often, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      I made this exactly as written. It was good, but it had a slightly gritty texture. ***Re-rating this after making it again on 11/13/07. Not sure if it was because I used a different brand of corn muffin mix (Pioneer vs. Jiffy) or if it was because I let the batter set a while before I baked it, but it was not gritty this time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2007

      I loved it!!! I added just a little less butter and a little more sugar...perfect!!! Just like they serve at the Mexican restaurant!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2007

      This was very good and very easy to make. I just put in a 1/4 stick of butter and was just fine. I like my corn bread a little sweeter so I added a tablespoon of sugar. A great dish to take over for a get together but I would double the recipe it goes quick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2007

      I loved the texture and taste of this spoon corn cake. Knowing that I would be eating the entire dish over the next few days, I just couldn't put in a whole stick of butter. I used a 1/4 cup instead, and think there was definitely enough butter. I do think it needed a tab more sweetness, so next time I would add 1-2 tbsp of sugar instead of 1/2 tbsp. With the reduction in butter, and 2 whole cans of corn, I feel better eating this as a veggie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      I love this! This is exactly the Corn Cake recipe I have been searching for! To me, this tastes just like the Chi Chi's restaurant version of Sweet Corn Cake which we loved! : ) I will be using this recipe often, MathMom.calif! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Corn Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (139 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 278.6
     
    Calories from Fat 126
    45%
    Total Fat 14.1 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 27.6 mg
    9%
    Sodium 607.5 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.2 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    13%
    Sugars 8.8 g
    35%
    Protein 4.1 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes