33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was good, I do prefer more of a corn taste to my cornbread. I can see why people who don't like cornbread like this. It is very mild and the texture not grainy at all. Super quick to prepare for sure!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blue Violet 66 September 02, 2011

Great recipe. Made one batch with egg whites and low fat sour cream in place of the oil and one batch vegan by using soy milk and egg replacer. Both turned out awesome! My new go to recipe for corn bread.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mega September 29, 2010

I can really understand all the wonderful reviews. I made these gluten free by using a gluten-free all purpose flour blend. The end product was delicious. I used a 9-inch cast iron skillet and would probably recommend staying with an 8-inch pan. Made for PAC Spring 2011.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG February 27, 2011

This is a lovely firm cornbread. It was tender and light, had a nice flavor. Best of all it was quick and easy to make and on the table in no time flat. I made this to use as the base in Corn Bread . It worked really well. Boy, was it good. Thank you for sharing your recipe Starry. Made for Culinary Quest Southern USA for the Suitcase Gourmets.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato August 12, 2014

Great cornbread. Even my grandson who doesn't like cornbread, loved this one. I made mine in an 8-inch square baking pan and it came out great. Thanks for sharing Starry. Made for Culinary Quest 2014.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme August 11, 2014

This cornbread recipes was okay. It didn't have the flavor that I normally associate with cornbread and it was missed. I like a stronger flavored cornbread. I think this is a great recipe for people that don't normally like cornbread.

I used a cupcake pan and got about 9 muffins when a 1/4 cup for measurement.

I don't think I will be making these again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Monique #2 October 18, 2011

This cornbread was wonderful, it has a milder taste than my old recipe. It is nicely moist and holds together well as the kids slather it in honey and butter. In the 15 years I've been married to my husband he wouldn't eat cornbread. I tried this recipe and he has now declared that he will start eating it again. (we won't tell my mother that her recipe has just been permantently replaced) It is so easy and quick to prepare but to make it even easier I have mixed up batches of the dried ingredients and stored each batch in a ziplock in my freezer. Now when I want to make it I just grab a baggie out and add the liquid ingredients to it. Ta Da---prepared in less than 2 minutes

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Treenickel February 09, 2011

This an easy and tasty cornbread. I used one cup corn meal and 1/2 cup each white and white whole wheat flour. It took about 20 minutes in a 9 inch pan. I used the egg and 1/4 cup sugar.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dmor6 January 30, 2010

Very nice cornbread but I think I like more cornmeal than flour in mine. As Dreamer did, I reduced the sugar by half. I used the 1 egg option that worked well and used low fat buttermilk (personal preference). Thanks for sharing. Made for Pot Luck tag game. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ December 06, 2009

This is a very nice corn bread. It whips up in no time with great results. The only change I made was to reduce the sugar to 2 tbsp (personal preference) and I used the egg white option. Made for the Theirs Yours & Mine photo tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario November 24, 2009
Corn Bread