Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Corn Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Corn Bread

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on September 02, 2011

      This was good, I do prefer more of a corn taste to my cornbread. I can see why people who don't like cornbread like this. It is very mild and the texture not grainy at all. Super quick to prepare for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2010

      Great recipe. Made one batch with egg whites and low fat sour cream in place of the oil and one batch vegan by using soy milk and egg replacer. Both turned out awesome! My new go to recipe for corn bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2011

      I can really understand all the wonderful reviews. I made these gluten free by using a gluten-free all purpose flour blend. The end product was delicious. I used a 9-inch cast iron skillet and would probably recommend staying with an 8-inch pan. Made for PAC Spring 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2011

      This cornbread recipes was okay. It didn't have the flavor that I normally associate with cornbread and it was missed. I like a stronger flavored cornbread. I think this is a great recipe for people that don't normally like cornbread.

      I used a cupcake pan and got about 9 muffins when a 1/4 cup for measurement.

      I don't think I will be making these again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2011

      This cornbread was wonderful, it has a milder taste than my old recipe. It is nicely moist and holds together well as the kids slather it in honey and butter. In the 15 years I've been married to my husband he wouldn't eat cornbread. I tried this recipe and he has now declared that he will start eating it again. (we won't tell my mother that her recipe has just been permantently replaced) It is so easy and quick to prepare but to make it even easier I have mixed up batches of the dried ingredients and stored each batch in a ziplock in my freezer. Now when I want to make it I just grab a baggie out and add the liquid ingredients to it. Ta Da---prepared in less than 2 minutes

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      This an easy and tasty cornbread. I used one cup corn meal and 1/2 cup each white and white whole wheat flour. It took about 20 minutes in a 9 inch pan. I used the egg and 1/4 cup sugar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      Very nice cornbread but I think I like more cornmeal than flour in mine. As Dreamer did, I reduced the sugar by half. I used the 1 egg option that worked well and used low fat buttermilk (personal preference). Thanks for sharing. Made for Pot Luck tag game. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      This is a very nice corn bread. It whips up in no time with great results. The only change I made was to reduce the sugar to 2 tbsp (personal preference) and I used the egg white option. Made for the Theirs Yours & Mine photo tag game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2013

      Great recipe. I've always had trouble making cornbread...came out too dry and crumbly. Not the case with this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2012

      This was good and very easy to make. We liked it but thought it was a bit dry. I only cooked mine for 15 minutes and it was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2012

      I love cornbread and this one, too! I must admit I used whole milk for skim. The cast iron
      skillet was placed in the oven while preheating. Went well with this gazpacho recipe: Summer Gazpacho With Garlic Cumin Sauce believe it or not! Reviewed for Veg Tag/July.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2012

      This is the exact same recipe on the back of my the Quaker yellow corn meal canister.
      Pretty basic, just okay. Not sweet or moist enough for my taste. I like to add 1/4c brown sugar (in addition to the white sugar) and substitute softened butter (salted) for the oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2012

      I like this corn bread it is great for pulled pork dinner I used 1 cup flour and 1 cup corn meal. I also cut the sugar since the meat is a little sweet so I didn't want to over do it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2011

      Was not the recipe I was looking for. Not quite sweet enough, and not enough cornmeal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2011

    • on February 13, 2011

      Easy to make, quick to bake, and adaptable, too! I used 1/2 cup ww flour, and as I was serving it with a couple of not-so-southern salads, I added 1/2 cup asiago shredded cheese, which was a delicious addition. Loved it!! Thanks, Starry! Made for Veggie Swap 30, January 2011!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2011

      I had never made corn bread before and this is so easy! I used about half the amount of sugar and a teaspoon of crushed chilli paste and it turned out so well that I just had to post my pic as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2011

    • on January 07, 2011

      This cornbread was a true winner in my house! Everyone from my dad to my sis to me loved it! It is coarse and thick in texture with a nice crunchy crust. Great for slathering with butter. lol
      I used part whole spelt flour instead of ap and thought even with this substitution the corn flavour still shone through nicely. I didnt feel anything was missing in this quick to make and tasty concoction. :)
      THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing yet another winner with us, starry!
      Made and reviewed for Veggie Swap #30 January 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2010

      Pretty tasty, but not very corn-tasting. I used 1 cup of (fresh-ground) wheat and 1 cup of corn meal, also added a bit more sugar. The flavor was nice, just not the corn bread flavor I was going for. A very mild corn bread I would say. My 7 year old said it tasted kind of plain.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Corn Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (84 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 214.3
     
    Calories from Fat 67
    31%
    Total Fat 7.5 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.6 mg
    0%
    Sodium 272.4 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 6.4 g
    25%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites