Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Coq Au Vin (Chicken Braised in Red Wine) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Coq Au Vin (Chicken Braised in Red Wine)

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on November 13, 2002

      Omigosh, was this great! Made it almost exactly as written, but had to make a few substitutions since I'd underestimated what I had in the house. Didn't have small onions, so took one large one and cut it into eighths, couldn't find my cheesecloth (or I don't have any - I'm still looking!), so just put the herbs in with the broth and wine and just discarded the bay leaf, and only had lowfat bacon, which made for scant drippings, but it all still worked out beautifully. The taste was delicious, the chicken was moist, and soaked up the juice/broth/wine, which is good, since we also didn't have any bread, either! We'll have the leftovers for dinner tonight (gonna get some bread this time), and I can hardly wait. You guys have GOT to try this - it is PERFECT for company, since you can get it cooking before guests arrive, clean up your kitchen (minimal mess, too, I might add), and just wait for the magic to happen. DH and I didn't speak for the first few bites - just made little whimpering noises (for us, this translates into "too good for words", and it was!). This is going into my cookbook immediately and I'll be making this often during the holidays and through the winter. I know I'm raving, but it's worth it - this dish is just superb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2002

      I substituted wild duck in this yesterday, served it over mixed rices and it was incredible!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      Amazing! My family really enjoyed this dish. I changed it a bit by using skinless, boneless chicken breasts and browning the chicken in EVOO. I added real bacon bits later on, during simmering, for flavor. I doubled the sauce and served over noodles to rave reviews. What a wonderfully simple recipe! Easy prep, beautiful presentation. Thank you for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2012

      Delicious! DH said it was his new favorite way to cook chicken. Pretty easy and such a reward - mmmm! I must admit that I was lazy about the Bouquet Garni and just put the herbs straight into the sauce without containing them (just pulled out the bay leaves before serving). Worked just fine.
      Thanks for posting this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2010

      Wonderfully delicious. I was looking for a dish that screamed comfort food and this was it. Used a red wine blend instead of burgundy because it was what I had on hand and it was great. Thanks so much.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      Yummm!! And how easy is this...minimum fuss with major flavor results! I did like others and just cut up 2 large onions into chunks. The second time I made it, I upped the garlic to 3 cloves. I also added about 2 Tablespoons of tomato paste after I sauteed the onions and shrooms. This is my new go-to recipe for Coq Au Vin. Thank you for this wonderful recipe papergoddess!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      Excellent flavor and tender chicken! I used boneless, skinless breasts and pounded them flat. Like others I also cut my large onion into big chunks. I did cheat by using a small can of sliced carrots and adding them at the end to warm through. I thickened the wonderful sauce with a corn starch and water slurry so we could have it over our grits. Thank you for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      This was so elegant and delicious! I used skin-on, bone-in chicken thighs and replaced the bacon with pancetta (it's what I had on hand). I thought I was making enough to last the weekend, but my boyfriend and I finished it off in one sitting. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2008

      What can I say that hasn't already been said? I had to leave the house for a couple of hours and didn't feel comfortable leaving the chicken to simmer alone on a gas range. So, after I browned the bacon, chicken and veggies, I threw them and the remaining ingredients into the crockpot on high. Everything came out so beautifully! My FIL came to dinner and was blown away by the meal! I served this with Mimi Bobeck's Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes (Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes - the Best You've Ever Had). Dessert was Mean Chef's Dutch Babies (Mean's Dutch Babies) filled with Dorel's Blueberry Filling for Pies (Blueberry Filling for Pies) and Cool Whip. Thanks for submitting a recipe that allowed me to serve a truly fabulous meal!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      Excellent recipe! Used a large bone in chicken breast (since there are only two of us) and halved the other ingredients. True comfort food! Served with mashed potatoes and green salad. Potatoes absorbed the yummy sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2006

      Mine wasn't quite traditional but I did use all the ingredients in the amounts asked for. I used boneless skinless breasts and thigns. I cut them into chunks and floured them before browning. I think because there was alot more meat to cover my stew was thicker than it should have been from the extra flour, but it was just fine with us. I used dry herbs as impatient me just does NOT have time to mess with a bouquet garni. I served this over egg noodles. The flavor only intensified with sitting. Leftovers the next day were even more flavorful! Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2003

      This was a very good dish.I used a red cabernet because I couldn't find a burgundy wine.I left the skin on the chicken, but I will definately take it off next time because there was a slightly greasy taste after the dish was finished.I didn't have any small onions so I cut two medium onions into eighths and used two cloves of garlic instead of one.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2013

      Fabulous! I used skinless, boneless chicken thighs that I browned in canola oil and turkey bacon that I cooked in the microwave and broke into bits; otherwise followed the recipe. I finished off in the oven and served over mashed potatoes. What a yummy comfort food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2013

      Wonderful as written (which I try to do the first time so I can accurately review it.) The second time I made it, I omitted the bacon, used a full bottle of wine and added green beans. I cooked it down longer as it had more liquid and I waited until it was near the end to check the salt. We like it best this way, but made according to recipe is a good way to start and very delicious. This recipe is my go to for guests.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2012

      This turned out wonderfully! The chicken meat was falling off the bones. We served this over buttered egg noodles for guests. It was very delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2012

      This is very good. I made this the other day and served it with some buttered noodles and french bread. I subbed in some pearl onions for the onions but otherwise followed the directions exactly. Its really easy to make too. Thank you for sharing this with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2011

      I used up some chicken legs that were leftover from a barbecue (they were uncooked). This turned out really good and was not difficult to prepare. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2011

      This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2011

      This is definately a keeper!! I tasted a dish in Portland, Oregon that was very much like this and I've looked for something simular for a long time. I finally found it!!! My husband was afraid to try it because he didn't like the name...lol. . After he tasted it he totally changed his mind. I plan to make this for my whole grown up family next time everyone's home. I'm positive they will be impressed :) Thanks so much for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2010

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Coq Au Vin (Chicken Braised in Red Wine)

    Serving Size: 1 (714 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 985.7
     
    Calories from Fat 518
    52%
    Total Fat 57.6 g
    88%
    Saturated Fat 16.7 g
    83%
    Cholesterol 263.5 mg
    87%
    Sodium 1446.9 mg
    60%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 4.5 g
    18%
    Sugars 8.7 g
    34%
    Protein 71.1 g
    142%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites