39 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Omigosh, was this great! Made it almost exactly as written, but had to make a few substitutions since I'd underestimated what I had in the house. Didn't have small onions, so took one large one and cut it into eighths, couldn't find my cheesecloth (or I don't have any - I'm still looking!), so just put the herbs in with the broth and wine and just discarded the bay leaf, and only had lowfat bacon, which made for scant drippings, but it all still worked out beautifully. The taste was delicious, the chicken was moist, and soaked up the juice/broth/wine, which is good, since we also didn't have any bread, either! We'll have the leftovers for dinner tonight (gonna get some bread this time), and I can hardly wait. You guys have GOT to try this - it is PERFECT for company, since you can get it cooking before guests arrive, clean up your kitchen (minimal mess, too, I might add), and just wait for the magic to happen. DH and I didn't speak for the first few bites - just made little whimpering noises (for us, this translates into "too good for words", and it was!). This is going into my cookbook immediately and I'll be making this often during the holidays and through the winter. I know I'm raving, but it's worth it - this dish is just superb!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lizzie-Babette November 13, 2002

I substituted wild duck in this yesterday, served it over mixed rices and it was incredible!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chief Jack December 19, 2002

Amazing! My family really enjoyed this dish. I changed it a bit by using skinless, boneless chicken breasts and browning the chicken in EVOO. I added real bacon bits later on, during simmering, for flavor. I doubled the sauce and served over noodles to rave reviews. What a wonderfully simple recipe! Easy prep, beautiful presentation. Thank you for sharing this recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PetesNina January 14, 2010

Delicious! DH said it was his new favorite way to cook chicken. Pretty easy and such a reward - mmmm! I must admit that I was lazy about the Bouquet Garni and just put the herbs straight into the sauce without containing them (just pulled out the bay leaves before serving). Worked just fine.
Thanks for posting this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maven in the Making January 17, 2012

Wonderfully delicious. I was looking for a dish that screamed comfort food and this was it. Used a red wine blend instead of burgundy because it was what I had on hand and it was great. Thanks so much.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattygogo April 30, 2010

Yummm!! And how easy is this...minimum fuss with major flavor results! I did like others and just cut up 2 large onions into chunks. The second time I made it, I upped the garlic to 3 cloves. I also added about 2 Tablespoons of tomato paste after I sauteed the onions and shrooms. This is my new go-to recipe for Coq Au Vin. Thank you for this wonderful recipe papergoddess!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scoutie May 03, 2009

Excellent flavor and tender chicken! I used boneless, skinless breasts and pounded them flat. Like others I also cut my large onion into big chunks. I did cheat by using a small can of sliced carrots and adding them at the end to warm through. I thickened the wonderful sauce with a corn starch and water slurry so we could have it over our grits. Thank you for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef-Boy-I-Be Illinois March 31, 2009

This was so elegant and delicious! I used skin-on, bone-in chicken thighs and replaced the bacon with pancetta (it's what I had on hand). I thought I was making enough to last the weekend, but my boyfriend and I finished it off in one sitting. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SilverOpera November 10, 2008

What can I say that hasn't already been said? I had to leave the house for a couple of hours and didn't feel comfortable leaving the chicken to simmer alone on a gas range. So, after I browned the bacon, chicken and veggies, I threw them and the remaining ingredients into the crockpot on high. Everything came out so beautifully! My FIL came to dinner and was blown away by the meal! I served this with Mimi Bobeck's Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes (Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes - the Best You've Ever Had). Dessert was Mean Chef's Dutch Babies (Mean's Dutch Babies) filled with Dorel's Blueberry Filling for Pies (Blueberry Filling for Pies) and Cool Whip. Thanks for submitting a recipe that allowed me to serve a truly fabulous meal!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hunkle February 14, 2008

Excellent recipe! Used a large bone in chicken breast (since there are only two of us) and halved the other ingredients. True comfort food! Served with mashed potatoes and green salad. Potatoes absorbed the yummy sauce.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kayc1218 January 21, 2008
Coq Au Vin (Chicken Braised in Red Wine)