14 Reviews

This recipe has nothing to do with "Uncle Ben's." It couldn't be further from what it's trying to copy; Uncle Ben's has no chicken, no turmeric, no cumin, and no ginger. The finished product is actually orange-colored from the turmeric. It's not bad, it's just not at all a copycat of Uncle Ben's as it claims.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LanceHaverkamp June 15, 2011

I thought it tasted like Uncle Ben's, but next time I make it I will halve the amount of salt and turmeric. It was too salty and a little bitter from all the turmeric. We used brown rice and wild rice and cooked it longer, still tasted great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chloe P. June 30, 2014

Not even close to the Uncle Ben's in flavor. I loved the finished product, though as many other reviewers point out, the wild rice needs to be cooked a bit before hand. I used the full teaspoon of turmeric, and it did impart something of an Indian flavor, but not objectionable. Used finely chopped fresh sweet onion instead of the dried onion flakes, and forgot the parsley, too. The overall product was quite yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SLynch7346 March 31, 2013

Yummy! I used brown jasmine rice & omitted the wild rice (forgot it actually). I didn't actually measure the spices, just used the basic proportions. I didn't have any turmeric, so that was also omitted. The whole family loved it - this will definitely be added to the menu list. I made this to accompany baked salmon & it was a very nice balance of flavors. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goji Girl February 24, 2011

Ok...so I reduced the turmeric to 1/4 tsp, as suggested by Scrivener1, and I thought the flavor was outstanding! Not sure what a full teaspoon would have done, but I'm so happy with the 1/4 tsp, I won't bother trying the full teaspoon. Similar to other reviewers' comments, my rice was crunchy, even after doubling the cooking time, which was kind of disappointing. But the flavor was SO GREAT, that we just ate crunchy rice (and my fiance even had seconds) ;-). I love that this can be pre-mixed and stored in Ziplocs for quick side dishes. I'm gonna mix up a bunch!! (Next time I'll try pre-cooking the wild rice for 15 minutes, then adding the rest of the ingredients and cooking for 45...)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robyn's Cookin' May 07, 2010

I made this as written, and my rice was crunchy too. There was definately too much turmeric in this recipe. The Uncle Ben's version does show turmeric in the ingredient list, but maybe it should be cut back to 1/4 tsp. This really didn't taste like the Uncle Ben's version.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scrivener1 January 20, 2010

I am not sure if this tastes like the Uncle Ben's version but it was very tasty and easy to make. I agree with the previous poster that turmeric, cumin and ginger are not typical of a American boxed food but the dish was nice all the same.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tee Angel November 21, 2008

The turmeric made the shade really wrong as a copycat. I thought the spice mix was completely off - the ginger, cumin, and turmeric aren't flavors I would expect in American boxed foods.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Couperine June 02, 2008

We really liked this! It's very close to the real thing, almost identical. Next time we're going to add some slivered toasted almonds. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenlyn October 29, 2007

This was very tasty. As another reviewer said, wild rice needs to be cooked first. I cooked it for about 45 minutes and then started the rest. Great with some sauteed onions, mushrooms and toasted almonds. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GrumpyIrishLady October 05, 2007
Copycat "uncle Ben's" Long Grain & Wild Rice