124 Reviews

I LOVE this recipe. I double the sauce, but I only double the Marsala and then 1.5 the cream. Tips: you MUST use cream anything else will curdle. The lemon is a MUST it brings it all together, REDUCE your Marsala or else it tastes like Kailua and cream, and finally, always use DRY Marsala.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kappharmd_5604666 May 02, 2012

Sorry to upset the applecart here but this recipe lacks the most important ingredients to take this to the level of Carrabba's! Firstly, the seasoning of the chicken breasts. It is imperative to use pinches of salt, pepper, a pinch of oregano, and a very light sprinkling of ground marjoram and thyme! Secondly, to GRILL (do not fry) THE CHICKEN after seasoning. Thirdly, the ADDITION OF CHOPPED PANCETTA (not prosciutto) to the first stage of the sautéed ingredients is crucial for bringing this whole recipe together! It would also be helpful to mention that using a good quality of dry Marsala such as Colombo is very important!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Betts F. April 22, 2015

I like chicken marsala but always felt it was just a tad shy in the flavor department. I tried a couple of recipes from here, side by side, and this one won hands down! The little splash of lemon juice really knocked this baby up a few notches to unbelievable mouth watering levels. I highly recommend folks try this one out! I also added about 1/4 cooking sherry which made the recipe really sing.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mavjb December 10, 2010

Absolutely fantastic. My kids ate every bite, and it was so easy to make. I made it low-fat, using olive oil and no-stick spray instead of the butter. I also used fat free half and half (Land O Lakes brand) instead of the heavy cream. I added 1 Tablespoon of dried sweet basil, and 1 1/2 tsp garlic powder. I doubled the entire recipe for leftovers later in the week, and it was so good that my 8 year old asked if we could just eat the leftovers tomorrow for dinner. This is a recipe I will be making for company because it was so flavor-ful, elegant, and yet so easy! Thank you SO much for posting!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PrincessSarahNP March 28, 2011

This is a DELICIOUS, easy and quick meal. It's just fancy enough that I feel like we're eating something really special without spending hours in the kitchen or a ton of money. That being said, I didn't give it five stars because I think the sauce needs to be at least doubled. I usually only make it for two-three chicken breasts because my hubby and I are light eaters, but there is NEVER enough sauce for leftovers the next day. And trust me -- you'll want the left overs! :) It would also be excellent with a little fresh parsley sprinkled over the top after it has finished cooking.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
virginiabean April 18, 2010

Almost identical to Carrabba's. I made this last night and doubled the recipe for the sauce, and I'm not sure there would have been much to go around if I hadn't. My husband, the world's pickiest eater and hater of mushrooms, cleaned his plate. I made garlic mashed potatoes and whipped up a dish of herbs and olive oil to go with a French loaf. I'd say it was better than going out- food was just as good, didn't cost anything because I already had all ingredients on hand, and it cut out the 40 minute round trip drive so I could sink into my food coma right after dinner. 5 stars from us!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laurel W. December 02, 2014

If you want to wow this dish, season your chicken generously before searing and cook til it's nice and golden. I used JM Exotic Foods Sicily Blend along with the salt and pepper on both sides of the chicken and it was wonderful! After sautéing, I transferred the chicken to a cookie sheet and kept it warm in a 300 degree oven. I also transferred the sautéed mushrooms to the chicken before making the sauce. Once the sauce was reduced, I brought everything back to the skillet to simmer for a minute. I used half and half and it did curdle but it completely cooked out during the reduction process. Don't be afraid to REALLY reduce the sauce, if you need more sauce, triple the liquid ingredients. I doubled the sauce for just 2 large chicken breasts and it was barely enough to really cover the chicken and mashed potatoes. This is, by far, one of the tastiest dishes I have ever made and intend to make again at least monthly!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hope Smith Polk January 14, 2014

This was superb, but I did make a few changes just using what I had around at my beach home. I had bacon that needed to be used so I cut it up and used the bacon grease instead of butter, then the marsala wine, but used sweet creamer for coffee - and this was so sweet and savory! The chicken was perfect too. I served them over egg noodles. Actually, I added the egg noodles to the sauce with the chicken breast altogether in one pan before serving. It was wonderful, thank you for sharing your recipe, I loved it even though I made it a little different.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laurita June 29, 2013

Delicious! I doubled the sauce ingredients, and then added a bit of corn starch at the very end to thicken the sauce because it seemed so runny. We gobbled it up. Thanks for the new recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bridget Leigh November 03, 2012

Very good! Easy to make, tasteful, even my picky eater (age 3yrs) ate it (hold the mushrooms for her, more for us!). I wish it made a bit more sauce but that is easily remedied next time I make it. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenisinchina August 28, 2012
Copycat Recipe for Carrabba's Chicken Marsala