Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Copycat Pace Picante Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Copycat Pace Picante Sauce

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on August 01, 2011

      I followed the recipe - with a few changes. I used fresh tomatoes, peppers and onion from our garden. I used 28 oz of fresh tomatoes I pureed in my processor, 1 onion and 1 jalapeƱo and 1 serano - also pureed in processor. I reduced the amount of water to 12 oz. I also chopped one addtional onion and one green pepper to make it a little chunky. I cooked for 1 hour. The outcome was more spicy than I like (from serano) but my hubby likes it. Great consistnecy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2011

      Great! Made as stated, except had to cook longer to thicken it up, and ended up with about 5 cups. This is very similar to the original Pace picante sauce which is thin, perfect for use as a condiment over eggs although at my house picante goes with everything. This recipe is not "thick and chunky," but neither is the original Pace. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2011

      I make this stuff all the time. This recipe is alright You don't have to cook it either. You do need to let it sit over night for all the flavors to come together though. To add more of a traditional pace flavor, I would try to add some lime juice and cilantro and pepper to this Pace. If you want it to be more spicy, just add a 1/2 tablespoon of crushed red peppers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      This is delicious! I don't know why some felt like this was too much water. I took someone else's suggestion and used crushed tomatoes and was very satisfied with the resulting texture. I used the no-salt added tomatoes and just 1/2 tsp salt to reduce the sodium amount and it tastes great. Very easy to make. This is a MILD picante sauce - even adding the seeds. If you want it hotter you will need to add more jalapenos. This recipe made 5-1/2 cups for me. It is excellent! Thanks Sue for this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2007

      I read the other reviews before making this so I reduced the water to 14 ounces. I also added fresh tomatoes instead of tomato sauce...just threw everything in the food processor. I did use the vinegar from canned jalapenos and added a good many jalapenos since I like it hot. Seems I got it a little TOO hot and have to put less in next time. I had to cook mine for 1 1/2 hours so I might back down the water some more...probably due to the fresh tomatoes instead of sauce. Mine definitely has the texture and flavor of Pace's Picante...which I usually buy once a week. So this will save us a LOT of money. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2004

      This is a great recipe. I used a can of Del Monte Petite cut diced tomatoes with zesty jalapenos because I like my picante chunky. It turned out great. Next time I won't use as much water because it took a long time to boil off the excess. Much longer than the 30 minutes in the recipe. However, the wait was worth it. I also used a few more jalapenos again because I like the hot. This is a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      This picante sauce is peferct for me and my family! I used a can of crushed tomatoes in place of the tomato sauce and it gave it just enough "chunk" for us (We don't like chunky salsa). I added four jalepenos (two with seeds & all) to try to up the heat but it was still very mild. Maybe it was the peppers, I don't know. But the flavor of this sauce is excellent! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      Very good tasting sauce. I just couldn't get it hot enough. I added the recommended amount of peppers, but it was so mild we didn't taste it. Then I added more, and still nothing. I think I got a batch of bad peppers. But overall it was stupendous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2008

      This was a wonderful complement to my "Streamlined Chimichangas". If you are sensitive to spice I would only use 1 jalapeno. I followed ericaj's advice and only 14 oz. of water and it turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2007

      This is not Pace Picante Sauce, IT'S BETTER! It will undoubtedly be a standard in my frig from now on. I followed some of the other reviewer's suggestions. I used 2 (14 oz.) cans of diced tomatoes with their juice and 3 fresh Jalapenos, seeded and devained. The vinegar was from a jar of pickled jalapenos. In order to thicken it to the desired consistancy I had to simmer it for 1 1/2 hours. Thanx for posting this great recipe. Pierre

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2005

      I've tried a Pace copycat recipe once before without luck. This one (with small modifications) turned out much better. I used 14 oz tomato sauce and 14 oz diced tomatoes, and only 14 ounces water. With my brand of tomatoes (Muir Glen), to get a similar salt content to Pace I calculate that I should add almost a Tablespoon of salt! I added 1.75 tsp. and it tasted pretty salty however. It doesn't taste exactly like Pace, but it's darn close, and *way* cheaper. Some suggestions for next time: Looking at the Pace ingredient list, I see it's made with *crushed* tomatoes not sauce. Also, jalepenos come before onions in the ingredient list, so next time I'd use only 1/2 an onion and one jalepeno with seeds and at least two without seeds, to get more jalepeno flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2004

      I just love the money saving copycat recipes found on Zaar!! This one is great. I used diced tomatoes as I like it a little more chunky. I did use my wand blender to thin it a bit though. The taste is great and I froze a bunch in jars for later use. Thanks Sue L

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2012

      Tried this recipe but with a few changes resulting in even more of an accurate taste of Pace
      by adding 1/2 teaspoon of sugar and 1/4 teaspoon of ground coriander.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      OMG this is PERFECT!!!! I made it this saturday and its just like the real thing. I make this recipie where I add my own touch to only I use the real Pace Picante sauce. I made this for a small gathering I had yesterday and nobody knew I had made it from scratch. They were in shock when I told them it wasn't Pace Picante but homemade. THank you SO MUCH for this awesome knock-off. I can make this anytime now. Super easy and inexpensive.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2007

      I've made this recipe several times, and like many others I've added my own twist. I usually make half the recipe and use petite diced tomatoes. I use the same amount of water, but use tomato paste to thicken it to the consistency that I like. I also add just a small amount of sugar, something I've always done with tomato sauces, and cumin. Unfortunately all jalapeno peppers are not made equally, therefore I adjust the amount accordingly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2007

      Made this the first time a few months ago, following the instructions/ingredients to a "tee". I found it to be too salty and watery, and would have given it 2 or 3 stars. Today I made it again, with a couple of changes: I used one 19 oz can of chili-style tomatoes (undrained), one 28-oz can of diced, no-salt-added tomatoes. I omitted the water and the salt, and added about 1 tb. dried cilantro. I added the rest of the ingredients as listed, and simmered everything for about 45 minutes. After letting it cool for about 20 minutes, I poured everythng into my food processor, and pulsed bout 4 times, until everything was well blended but still chunky. 5 stars!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2005

      This is better than a copycat. I had to simmer a lot longer than 30 minutes, but I think that's just my aged burner. Excellent!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2014

      Very good!<br/>I followed the recipe as listed with a couple of modifications.<br/>I used crushed tomatoes in the can.<br/>I like it hot so I used three peppers, for me it was still a little on the "not hot" side so I'll use four next time.<br/>I also added 1TBS of chopped Cilantro and a the squeeze of a wedge of lime. <br/>I simmered for 1 hour.<br/>This turned out very very good and I'll be making it again.<br/>Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2013

      I used half red onion and half yellow and substituted onion powder for onion flakes. Used 3 jalapenos with most of the seeds removed and it was plenty hot for us. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2011

      Fabulous!Now I can make my own :).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Copycat Pace Picante Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (1805 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 279.2
     
    Calories from Fat 15
    44%
    Total Fat 1.6 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 6551.5 mg
    272%
    Total Carbohydrate 60.9 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 15.2 g
    61%
    Sugars 41.9 g
    167%
    Protein 12.7 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites