23 Reviews

I followed the recipe - with a few changes. I used fresh tomatoes, peppers and onion from our garden. I used 28 oz of fresh tomatoes I pureed in my processor, 1 onion and 1 jalapeƱo and 1 serano - also pureed in processor. I reduced the amount of water to 12 oz. I also chopped one addtional onion and one green pepper to make it a little chunky. I cooked for 1 hour. The outcome was more spicy than I like (from serano) but my hubby likes it. Great consistnecy!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
julia1216 August 01, 2011

Great! Made as stated, except had to cook longer to thicken it up, and ended up with about 5 cups. This is very similar to the original Pace picante sauce which is thin, perfect for use as a condiment over eggs although at my house picante goes with everything. This recipe is not "thick and chunky," but neither is the original Pace. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama July 09, 2011

I make this stuff all the time. This recipe is alright You don't have to cook it either. You do need to let it sit over night for all the flavors to come together though. To add more of a traditional pace flavor, I would try to add some lime juice and cilantro and pepper to this Pace. If you want it to be more spicy, just add a 1/2 tablespoon of crushed red peppers!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
quicksterdnb February 15, 2011

This is delicious! I don't know why some felt like this was too much water. I took someone else's suggestion and used crushed tomatoes and was very satisfied with the resulting texture. I used the no-salt added tomatoes and just 1/2 tsp salt to reduce the sodium amount and it tastes great. Very easy to make. This is a MILD picante sauce - even adding the seeds. If you want it hotter you will need to add more jalapenos. This recipe made 5-1/2 cups for me. It is excellent! Thanks Sue for this great recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DJo November 17, 2008

I read the other reviews before making this so I reduced the water to 14 ounces. I also added fresh tomatoes instead of tomato sauce...just threw everything in the food processor. I did use the vinegar from canned jalapenos and added a good many jalapenos since I like it hot. Seems I got it a little TOO hot and have to put less in next time. I had to cook mine for 1 1/2 hours so I might back down the water some more...probably due to the fresh tomatoes instead of sauce. Mine definitely has the texture and flavor of Pace's Picante...which I usually buy once a week. So this will save us a LOT of money. Thanks for the recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ericaj August 17, 2007

This is a great recipe. I used a can of Del Monte Petite cut diced tomatoes with zesty jalapenos because I like my picante chunky. It turned out great. Next time I won't use as much water because it took a long time to boil off the excess. Much longer than the 30 minutes in the recipe. However, the wait was worth it. I also used a few more jalapenos again because I like the hot. This is a great recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thomas Denson October 13, 2004

This picante sauce is peferct for me and my family! I used a can of crushed tomatoes in place of the tomato sauce and it gave it just enough "chunk" for us (We don't like chunky salsa). I added four jalepenos (two with seeds & all) to try to up the heat but it was still very mild. Maybe it was the peppers, I don't know. But the flavor of this sauce is excellent! Thank you for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
steelerz8 October 13, 2008

Very good tasting sauce. I just couldn't get it hot enough. I added the recommended amount of peppers, but it was so mild we didn't taste it. Then I added more, and still nothing. I think I got a batch of bad peppers. But overall it was stupendous!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mmsanchez09 September 23, 2008

This was a wonderful complement to my "Streamlined Chimichangas". If you are sensitive to spice I would only use 1 jalapeno. I followed ericaj's advice and only 14 oz. of water and it turned out great!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emily Darlin May 21, 2008

This is not Pace Picante Sauce, IT'S BETTER! It will undoubtedly be a standard in my frig from now on. I followed some of the other reviewer's suggestions. I used 2 (14 oz.) cans of diced tomatoes with their juice and 3 fresh Jalapenos, seeded and devained. The vinegar was from a jar of pickled jalapenos. In order to thicken it to the desired consistancy I had to simmer it for 1 1/2 hours. Thanx for posting this great recipe. Pierre

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pierre Dance January 05, 2007
Copycat Pace Picante Sauce