Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Copycat Restaurant Recipes

    Top 20 Restaurant Clones

    Top 20 Restaurant Clones

    From Cheesecake Factory to IHOP
    Red Lobster Remakes

    Red Lobster Remakes

    Make Your Own Cheddar Bay Biscuits
    15 Best Starbucks Copycats

    15 Best Starbucks Copycats

    Skip the Morning Coffee Run
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Copycat Olive Garden Minestrone Soup by Todd Wilbur Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Copycat Olive Garden Minestrone Soup by Todd Wilbur

    Average Rating:

    329 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 329

    Sort by:

    • on February 15, 2011

      This recipe is great and is an excellent meal to make for company. You can visit while it is simmering and many compliments are paid when it is done! It however needs a few tweaks. I fully agree it needs red wine. I use whatever kind I have on hand. I add 1/4 a cup to 1/2 a cup depending on how strong the wine is. DO NOT DRAIN THE TOMATOES! I add an extra 1/4 a cup of tomato sauce or V8 juice to get more flavor in the broth. I always use fresh ingredients and so the thyme, oregano, and basil were fresh and minced and that really jazzed it up,. Finally, I felt there was not enough broth (it%u2019s easy to go overboard with the vegetables). To fix this, on the side in a separate saucepan, I mixed 3 cups of vegetable broth, 2 1/2 cups hot water, and 1/4 a cup of tomato sauce/V8 juice to a boil then added 1/4 a cup of red wine and brought it to a boil again then let it simmer alongside the soup. You can just not do this part separately and just add it to the soup but I did it this way so I could store some broth separately for leftovers. That way, the liquid that is lost in the refrigerator can be restored. When I serve, I mix this in with the soup and it doesn't taste any different.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2011

      This soup is amazing! I've been searching for years for a good minestrone soup. I followed a few suggestions that others had posted. I didn't add extra salt, didn't drain the tomatoes and added 2 cans of small white beans and 1 can of kidney.... I added 3/4 cup of pasta shells and next time will do 1 cup. I added about 1/4 cup of tomato paste after all the main ingredients were in.....Also added 1/2 cup of Chianti when I added the spinach, which I did a rough chop on. This will be a staple in this house and it was relatively quick and easy to make :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      This soup is absolutely nothing like Olive Garden's. It is a very tasty soup, but I have been having crazy pregnant cravings twice a day for their minestrone and this ain't it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      I gave this recipe to a friend to make for our Christmas dinner. She subbed reg green beans for the italian and thought it needed something and added some red wine. We all thought it was ok, but rather bland . I think a combination of chicken and beef broth might improve it and a lot more herbs and seasoning.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2008

      This was TERRIBLE. The first time, I made it with the spinach it called for, which turned it green and made it taste of nothing but spinach. The second time I made it, I omitted the spinach and now it is just tastes of thyme-y salt. The addition of wine did not improve things. This never tasted anything like the OG version..it's been a disappointment and a sad waste of ingredients. Better luck next time!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2008

      I love the Minestrone Soup at Olive Garden. I searched and found this receipe. I tried it tonight. It was terrible. I went directly by the instructions and the ingredient list. I have read that Red Wine is used at Olive Garden. Maybe I will try that next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      The foundation of this recipe is very good, but I found that it needed a good deal of tweaking for it to TRULY taste like OG's. I added -- a little bit of salt a lot of pepper 4 ozs. of tomato paste 1 cup of red wine an extra stalk of celery an extra hand full of needles After it was done, I also decided that it probably could have used about double the garlic. Oh well! Close enough.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2006

      We liked this, but we had to Dr. it up with tomato sauce to give it more of a tomato base like OG. Also, Olive Garden soup doesn't have nearly as many beans in it and no spinach in the minestrone (they put spinach in the pasta figioli) Anyway, it's a good base, but need to add a bit more to give it more of a tomato base like traditional minestrone and OG minestrone. Thanks for a good start though, not bad!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      Taste was very good, however, this had way, way too many beans in it. I only added l can of each kind of bean and it still had too many beans.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2014

      There is no need to guess or use trial & error for Olive Garden dishes. All Olive Garden recipes are on their website at www.olivegarden.com/recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2014

      The family really enjoyed it. Thank You for sharing your recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2014

      I made this with half the amount of canned beans, using all black beans ( that's all I had), I think the full amount of beans directed would be way too many. I also added to the recipe 1/2 small head of sliced cabbage, frozen baby lima beans in place of green beans ( again, that's what I had), 1/2c. Dry white wine & 2T balsamic vinegar, doubled the tomatoes since it seemed to need more at the end. The wine really made the dish, definitely complimented the flavors. Topped with parmesan cheese & added some cooked spinach feta chicken sausage to half (which I froze for a later date, as this does make a lot ). So good, thanks for an inspirational soup recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2014

      This is fantastic !!! <br/>No trouble at all getting anyone to eat their vegetables when I make this and I often make it once a week with extra for leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2013

      I'm kind of a personal chef for an elderly man and made a pot of this for him and gave my husband a taste. Both meat and potato guys and both LOVED it. Followed as written except I added a pound of browned ground turkey to it to make it even more of a meal. Making a pot for OUR house today! THANK YOU!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2013

      Made as written. I thought it was fine. It was good, just didn't think it was amazing or a recipe I'd save to make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2013

      Add some balsamic vinegar, grated parmesan or romano, some celery salt or leaves, unseasoned ground turkey for the meat lovers in your home, definitely some red wine, and adjust herbs and spices to taste. I subbed more cans of vegi broth for water and it was perfecto!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2013

      This soup is delicious and easy to make. I made a few changes because I didn't have some of the ingredients--such as subbing okra for green beans--but I left it mostly the same. I am looking forward to eating it for lunch tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2013

      This was fantastic. I made it with "a little bit of everything"'s adjustments and added a cup or so of Pinot noir. I've never had it at Olive Garden but this was just a great minestrone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2013

      I added more zucchini and more green beans. Also increased the salt, pepper, thyme & basil and added about 1/2 t. cayenne. Finally, I used only a scant 2 c. water rather than 3 cups. It still made a generous 8 servings at 1 1/2 c. per serving. Fabulous soup, and so very close to Olive Garden's. It made me very happy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2012

      This soup was amazing! my whole family loved it! Although I do advise to add less beans...... i added two of each type! Pairs well with the garlic bread sticks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Copycat Olive Garden Minestrone Soup by Todd Wilbur

    Serving Size: 1 (426 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 353.4
     
    Calories from Fat 56
    15%
    Total Fat 6.2 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 471.6 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.7 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 15.1 g
    60%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 19.2 g
    38%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites