339 Reviews

I work at Olive Garden, and every time I dish out a bowl at work for a guest, a crave comes over me the size of the empire state building! And while I could probably get away with it, I don't feel like risking my job for a quick gulp of the best soup ever. So, I've been scouring the web for something that would satisfy this craving. This recipe was close. Very close. A few things I'd change to make it more true to the Olive Garden recipe: I wouldn't chop the zucchini, but slice it. I'd add cabbage. I'd leave out at least one can of beans, and add another can of tomato. It needs more pepper. I'd increase the amount of green beans. There is something else too, that I can't put my finger on . Maybe I'll do a little digging at work and find out. But anyway, this is really close and very good so thanks for posting.

47 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Of Everything July 22, 2009

I just have to say that the wine makes all of the difference in this recipe. It's good without it...but it's totally Olive Garden's soup with it. I used about 1/2 cup of Yellowtail Shiraz in the last 15-20 minutes. When it was done I nearly died. This is seriously the secret to Olive Garden's minestrone!!!!!!

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PescatariYum November 22, 2010

Wow! This is some good soup. I have never tried it at Olive Garden, but if you say this is close I will have to go try it soon. Flavors, color, just the right amount of herbs and seasonings are all here. I did not add the red wine until I try OG's to see if it really is in there. However, this was absolutely lovely and I thank you Suzy for sharing it. I would recommend this to anyone!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie January 14, 2004

Great Soup! I did make a few adjustments. I did not chop my celery, I sliced it with leaves. I did not add my garlic or zucchini (sliced) until I added my spinach. I hate mushy zucchini and I wanted the garlic punch. I did not drain my tomatoes. After reading the reviews about adding tomato paste I thought why toss out all that good juice. Due to the added liquid and the fact that I cook my pasta per servings in a separate pot (due to freezing) I only added 2 cups of hot water. I did add the 1/2 cup red wine and about 1 T. red wine vinegar with about 15 minutes to go. I topped it with grated asiago at the table. I'm in soup heaven! Thanks for posting! Di ;-)

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dib's April 07, 2011

I read this recipe and it sounded delicious. That is how I start most of my recipes, is to start with one that is good to begin with. I like meat in my soups so I started with about 1 1/2 lbs. of mild Italian sausage, casings removed and sauted until cooked and slightly browned. Drain grease. Add onions, green beans, celery and garlic. Saute. Instead of 4 cups vegetable broth I used 2 - 1 Litre tetra boxes of vegetable broth and minus the hot water. I also used 4 cups Italian stewed (homemade) instead of the diced tomatoes plus I did not drained the tomatoes. As the tomatoes were Italian, I also did not use the spices, although if I had used regular stewed tomatoes I would have used the spices stated. I also used 3/4 cup of small shell pasta. I also used only 1 can each of the beans. This made for a very delicious and hearty soup. I thank you for my good beginnings.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jorgydee October 24, 2010

This soup is amazing! Even if it's not EXACTLY like Olive Garden's, it's just as delicious. I have a friend who has told me it's some of the best she's ever had! I changed it a little bit: I only added one can of each of the beans, doubled the amount of water, eyeballed the amount of vegetables (probably more than what the recipe calls for), sliced (instead of chopped) the zucchini, and per recommendation of other reviewers, added in a can of tomato paste. I also didn't drain the diced tomatoes or add as much spinach. Didn't have any red wine on hand, but next time I'll definitely have to try that.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nildesperandum October 20, 2010

We had this soup at an Olive Garden when we were in Michigan last year. And, yes, it was this soup! Tasted just like it! This will be a staple in our kitchen! Thanks for the recipe!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz February 18, 2004

My husband LOVES OG Minestrone. We have tried the "other" recipes claiming to be it--but this is the real deal. We added a splash (okay, maybe more!) of a light, sweet red wine and it was wonderful.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missy Stanisz February 06, 2004

We absolutely loved this soup. I added a small can of tomato paste, used Italian stewed tomatoes which I had on hand, and added 2/3 cup red wine. I had to use half chicken broth, because I live in a hick town that doesn't have veggie broth. And I only used 1 can each of the beans because, really, 4 cans is just too much! Now if I could just have some OG breadsticks and salad with it...

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scfl76 September 08, 2011

This was a very nice soup. Was it Olive Garden Minestrone ... NO. There was a few flavors off, not enough tomato flavor and depth of flavors. Spinach, MY OG does not add spinach, but ...
Yes, this was a very nice soup. And I did enjoy it. And yes, there is a little red wine vinegar at the end of cooking, but also red wine in the broth. NOW, everyone has to remember, that a lot of their ingredients are commercial, so we can't duplicate it exactly. But this was very nice.
I added a bit of tomato paste for a little richness, and as I said ... it is close, and very good which is why I gave it 5 stars. I just can't say it is just like OG's recipe.
But definitely worth making!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarasotaCook April 06, 2011
Copycat Olive Garden Minestrone Soup