40 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Sorry...but this is not it! These are good...but the REAL recipe includes the shavings of an 8-oz Hershey's chocolate bar to be mixed in to the dough. I used to have the recipe and haven't made them for years because I lost it! If I ever find it...I will post it!! :-)

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dachsymom65 February 23, 2010

Good cookies, but here are some improvements. Use cake margarine, not butter. Add 2 and 1/2 cups uncooked oatmeal, like Quaker. Also I mix in the chips with the wet ingredients first, makes it a lot easier. If you don't want the oatmeal, I suggest increasing the flour to 4 cups or even 4 1/2, because they come out very flat and gooey with the amount listed in the recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
papaclanc November 24, 2008

I have been using a chocolate chip recipe which uses a vanilla pudding, however I wanted to try a new recipe and really liked this recipe. I was so sure of this recipe that I doubled it. These cookies were perfect. I followed the directions and was rewarded with absolutely beautiful, chewy on the inside and crisp on the outside cookies. Thank you for posting this recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JOY1998 October 09, 2007

Very good cookies. I added a little extra flour, as I always do for that perfecting touch. LOVE that they stay chewy. Made a double batch & froze some of the dough, so all I have to do is put on trays & bake. Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WJKing October 29, 2008

These were very good cookies, and I appreciate the dead-on cooking time (I was worried, after 8.5 minutes, that they weren't ready to come out; the sides were lightly browning but the middles were very puffy and appeared a little underbaked yet. However, as they cooled on the baking sheet, they became perfect: soft and chewy (but not uber-gooey) in the middle, just how I like them). They didn't dazzle me, so I'm still looking for my signature chocolate chip cookie recipe, but these were enjoyed by all. Thanks so much for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hannahactually July 05, 2007

I think these cookies actually tasted better the day after baking them than they did fresh! I was amazed at how they stayed chewy and flavorful days afterwards. Perfect for making ahead for snacking on the rest of the week. I will only ever make these chocolate chip cookies, now.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Atherine June 29, 2010

Very Very good cookies, but Mrs, Fields they aren't. Not putting them down at all, hence the 5 star review, but there are a lot of copycat recipes out there, and they are never exactly like the originals. I would definitely recommend this recipe to anyone. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
knaylor76 May 17, 2010

It tastes really good and it tastes almost like mrs. fields cookies. Though I suggest putting only 1 bag of chocolate chips.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shesbittersweet June 14, 2009

Magnifique! The only difference in ingredients is that I substituted 1/2 cup of Crisco and 1/2 cup butter in place of 1 cup of butter. Plus, I used 12 ounces of semi-sweet chocolate chips and 6 ounces of Nestle Toll House premier White morsels since I did not have 18 ounces of semi-sweet chocolate chips. Baked for 10 minutes. Wife and kids loved the smell as they emerged from oven and even better the taste. Thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mr.Rich September 20, 2008

Very good. the only thing I changed, is I used shortening instead of butter. They turned out perfect! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
No Destination September 17, 2008
Copycat Mrs. Field's Chocolate Chip Cookies