31 Reviews

Most excellent! I used to be a manager for Marie Callender's in the 90's and this is by far the closest copy cat I've come across. But even if you don't know what Marie Callender's corn bread is like, you will still like this cornbread. The Bisquick makes all the difference! I will be making this again and again, and it's going on my wedding menu!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pixieglenn April 01, 2010

I've been making this since Jan of this year and just recently modified the recipe so that it would be easier for me since I never have any Bisquick around the house. In place of the 3 cups of Bisquick I just use 3 cups of Krusteaz pancake and waffle mix. It comes out just the same and I always have some pancake mix around in bulk. Thanks for the wonderful recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana in KS November 15, 2008

Made this recipe for corn bread when I found that the recipe on the box of corn meal was too dry. My husband and I were not disappointed with this recipe! The bread came super moist and retained their moisture for the next day and even after that. I only had whole milk on hand, but that worked well. This was paired with some homemade lentil chile. The Bisquick in the recipe really makes a difference! Thanks Lubie for sharing this recipe. This is a definite staple!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooking_neko83 October 11, 2009

The best cornbread I've ever had though I haven't tried #18947, I think I would probably like this one better b/c it has more sugar so it was sweet. I halved recipe, used 8 by 8 pan as reviews stated and only 1 .5 T of butter--that was Plenty. Very moist and light, almost fluffy cornbread. Baked it for 20 minutes since I halved the recipe. My husband, mom and I devoured it! Thanks for the great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Writer1 May 31, 2005

This was fantastic an sooo easy to make. I made one batch for myself with a gluten-free pancake mix and another batch with the Bisquick heart health mix for my coworkers. I also used egg substitute, I Can't Believe It's Not Butter, and Splenda for both batches. My coworkers loved it, better than the cornbread that came with the bbq! All the substitutions probably made it healthier as well! And my bf told me that using the gluten-free mix did not change the texture that much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kkikii April 28, 2010

Made these today for a family dinner. Everyone loved them. I made them exactly like the recipe and they turned out wonderful, so easy to make and great results. I made them into muffins, yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lovin to Cook April 18, 2010

I love this cornbread! It is so easy and everyone eats it as if it were cake. Every time I make it and take it somewhere, I am asked for the recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jessicagoering March 27, 2010

I really liked this recipe. I have the tried and true that I always use, but wanted a smaller amount, so this easily cut down to 1/3. I used it for the stuffing in "Southern Cornbread Dressing in Acorn Squash". I liked that it used Bisquick since I have a large box on hand that needs to be used every once in a while! It was very moist and just a tad sweet like we like it...Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 March 18, 2010

Wow, this was scrumptous! I don't know who is using 2 sticks! of butter, but 2 Tablespoons worked perfectly for me. Went great with V8 Chili. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BekW January 06, 2009

This was my first time making cornbread. It was great! As recommended from previous reviews, I used two sticks of butter, which turned out great. The bread was so fluffy and it was perfectly sweetened. I forgot to make honey butter...next time I won't forget. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cagrown27 November 10, 2008
Copycat Marie Callender's Cornbread