Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Copycat Lipton's Onion Soup Mix Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Copycat Lipton's Onion Soup Mix

    Average Rating:

    99 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 99

    Sort by:

    • on July 26, 2002

      Awesome! I used this in Figgie's Saucy Forgotten Beef and it was sooo flavorful. (I am going to cut back a little next time as this seems to have even more flavor than the store bought variety.) I did substitute Splenda for the sugar. I love that I can make my own and reduce the preservatives in my family's food even more. Next time I'm going to make with my own home dried onion flakes too! Thanks Miller!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2002

      Millie, I cannot thank you enough for this recipe. I have to order the real Lipton soup mix from the net and the cost is ridiculous. Finding this recipe made my day! You're a gem for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2003

      Fabulous!!! I didn't have a packet of the onion soup mix in my pantry and needed it for my roast. This was a life saver and it added more flavor than the original. Many Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2003

      Fabulous flavoring for turkey meatloaf. I also used it in my V-8 Soup recipe and it worked GREAT!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2002

      I used this in a potroast crockpot meal and it was so good my husband said it was better then his moms!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2010

      I was a little scared of this recipe because of the celery seed. I hate celery. But after it was mixed in with the other ingredients and added to the sour cream....oh man, I'm hooked! I used a vegetarian beef powder substitute, and it still tastes like the real thing, but without all the nasty things they add to it--and cheaper too. I needed some mix for a spinach recipe and decided to try this, given the good reviews. This is a real keeper, and will be used OFTEN!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2010

      I'm an onion-dip addict who has been deprived since my youngest child's soy allergy was discovered; I could not find onion soup mix without soy. I had tried making my own mix but couldn't quite get it right; I think the celery seed adds that little extra "something" that was needed! I quartered the recipe, making just a small batch to try it, and it's perfect! I'm going to make the full batch next time so I can have it always on hand. Thanks for a PERFECT substitute recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2010

      I made up a batch of this to have on hand for making dip for Thanksgiving. We loved it, and it was so easy to make too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      So good! First time I've ever made my own and I think I'm hooked! Tasted so much better than the packaged stuff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      Scaled this down to equal one soup packet, and let the husband (self-proclaimed onion soup dip afficianado) sample some mix on the end of his finger... Without telling him what it was, to see if the the taste was right... I'll let his response sum up my review... "MMMMM..... all we need is some sour cream!..." I think that means it's spot on! Thanks much for sharing. UPDATE: Coming back to this no-fail recipe again... I didn't realize Miller was gone the first time I used this. You, and your recipes, are missed. I've tried several Miller recipes, and they are wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2007

      Made this today. Didn't have Celery seed so i used Celery salt and just cut back a bit. Love makeing my own spice blends.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2003

      One can also use low sodium beef bullion powder for those of us who don't need extra salt. Great flavor and easy to make! Would be great mixed with sour cream for a chip dip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2003

      yep!!! definitly a keeper! I made this last weekend and I always use lipton's when making a crockpot roast. However, was out of lipton's and remembered seeing this. Now I won't have to worry about even buy Lipton's and will save money too! Thanks so very much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2003

      This was superb, made and added to Crockpot Round Steak #9029. The combination was great. I will make this often and will save money by making my own instead of purchasing ready made from the store.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2011

      I never buy onion soup mix because there is too much sodium. This recipe is perfect cause there is no added salt. I used a low sodium beef bouillon powder. Thanks Mille :) Made for I Recommend tag game

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2010

      Fabulous Flavor! Actually I like it much better than Lipton's

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      I am sure almost 5 years after his passing, Mille® would be happy to know so many are still benefitting from his great recipes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      I made this today to use when making www.recipezaar.com/17904 today. Made just as posted, except I didn't have bouillion powder, so I just used boullion cubes and some brown gravy dry mix and then placed all ingredients into the food processor. Perfect! Much better than the "real" stuff! Will make this to keep on hand at all times!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      I used this to make Cranberry Chicken - yummy! I only had bouillon cubes, so I had to crush them. Thank you for a great (cheap and ingredient controlled)alternative for one of my favorite recipes!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2003

      Love the homemade mixes with everyday ingredients. Very similar to #24952

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Copycat Lipton's Onion Soup Mix

    Serving Size: 1 (13 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 47.0
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    48%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 55.0 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 4.4 g
    17%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites