99 Reviews

Awesome! I used this in Figgie's Saucy Forgotten Beef and it was sooo flavorful. (I am going to cut back a little next time as this seems to have even more flavor than the store bought variety.) I did substitute Splenda for the sugar. I love that I can make my own and reduce the preservatives in my family's food even more. Next time I'm going to make with my own home dried onion flakes too! Thanks Miller!!

23 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vverkin925 July 26, 2002

Millie, I cannot thank you enough for this recipe. I have to order the real Lipton soup mix from the net and the cost is ridiculous. Finding this recipe made my day! You're a gem for sharing it!

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babyoil December 04, 2002

Fabulous!!! I didn't have a packet of the onion soup mix in my pantry and needed it for my roast. This was a life saver and it added more flavor than the original. Many Thanks!!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Audrey M February 27, 2003

Fabulous flavoring for turkey meatloaf. I also used it in my V-8 Soup recipe and it worked GREAT!!!!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookbookCarrie February 25, 2003

I used this in a potroast crockpot meal and it was so good my husband said it was better then his moms!!!!!!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paulcm August 26, 2002

I was a little scared of this recipe because of the celery seed. I hate celery. But after it was mixed in with the other ingredients and added to the sour cream....oh man, I'm hooked! I used a vegetarian beef powder substitute, and it still tastes like the real thing, but without all the nasty things they add to it--and cheaper too. I needed some mix for a spinach recipe and decided to try this, given the good reviews. This is a real keeper, and will be used OFTEN!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jujubegirl June 28, 2010

I'm an onion-dip addict who has been deprived since my youngest child's soy allergy was discovered; I could not find onion soup mix without soy. I had tried making my own mix but couldn't quite get it right; I think the celery seed adds that little extra "something" that was needed! I quartered the recipe, making just a small batch to try it, and it's perfect! I'm going to make the full batch next time so I can have it always on hand. Thanks for a PERFECT substitute recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ketchupqueen July 25, 2010

I made up a batch of this to have on hand for making dip for Thanksgiving. We loved it, and it was so easy to make too!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BluEyedCookette November 29, 2010

So good! First time I've ever made my own and I think I'm hooked! Tasted so much better than the packaged stuff.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Classy Gal March 17, 2010

Scaled this down to equal one soup packet, and let the husband (self-proclaimed onion soup dip afficianado) sample some mix on the end of his finger... Without telling him what it was, to see if the the taste was right... I'll let his response sum up my review... "MMMMM..... all we need is some sour cream!..." I think that means it's spot on! Thanks much for sharing. UPDATE: Coming back to this no-fail recipe again... I didn't realize Miller was gone the first time I used this. You, and your recipes, are missed. I've tried several Miller recipes, and they are wonderful.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Roachie January 04, 2010
Copycat Lipton's Onion Soup Mix