Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Copycat Restaurant Recipes

    Top 20 Restaurant Clones

    Top 20 Restaurant Clones

    From Cheesecake Factory to IHOP
    Red Lobster Remakes

    Red Lobster Remakes

    Make Your Own Cheddar Bay Biscuits
    15 Best Starbucks Copycats

    15 Best Starbucks Copycats

    Skip the Morning Coffee Run
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Copycat KFC Coleslaw: the Real Thing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Copycat KFC Coleslaw: the Real Thing

    Average Rating:

    60 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 60

    Sort by:

    • on July 08, 2010

      I've been making this recipe for the past two years and I get the same question every time I serve it at gatherings, "Did you get this at KFC?" ...... My tips? 1.) I use dried tarragon and apple cider vinegar (instead of tarragon vinegar), and still get the same flavor; and 2.) I make the coleslaw about three days in advance so it has the flavor and sharp bite of KFC's.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2012

      I worked at KFC for years and made the coleslaw every few days and this is very close to the recipe. We used apple cider vinegar though, Miracle Whip (not regular mayo)and CELERY SALT. That may be the missing ingredient. I have not tried this recipe yet but I will and I'm looking forward to it. I love cole slaw in general and KFC is my all time favorite. I craved it constantly while pregnant, haha

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2012

      I managed a KFC in Southern Oregon and had to make the slaw dressing quite a few times. This is the closest recipe I've found online. I'm sure there is really no difference between this and the recipe we used from corporate. The Miracle Whip is true, and NO MILK.... I can't tell you how many times I was asked what milk we used. The recipe was very simple. 1 part then 1/2 part then 1/2 part. So if you use 1 cup of miracle whip, you use 1/2 cup sugar and 1/4 cup, here is the argument from everyone, Apple Cider Vinegar, dash of salt, no pepper. This is a recipe for 1 head of cabbage, 1/4 head of red cabbage, 2 medium carrots and 1/4 white union, all rough shred. Increase it as you need it just use the. It's always made in the morning after the previous days batch is packaged. If you ever get a dry slaw from KFC, they had to make a late batch and it didn't get a chance to marinate. 24 hour minimum to marinate. Corporate never would give the recipe to a manager but the GM of our franchise was a bit lazy and called each of us so he wouldn't have to come in and make it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      was only so-so.... i added a few dashes of worcestershire sauce made it way better. also put the chopped cabbage in a fine mesh strainer over a larger bowl.. salt the cabbage and let sit for an hour. rinse it then pat it dry. this will draw out any excess moisture and prevent the slaw from getting runny.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2009

      OMG!! This coleslaw recipe was AMAZING!! I hadn't heard of tarragon vinegar before and wasn't sure I could get it in our town (think very rural south), but surprise, I did! It truly is the secret!! Btw, I HATE miracle whip, but decided to try the recipe the way it was written...it was perfect!! I dont think it would have been as good had I gone and used the mayo. Follow all ingrediants and definetly let it sit overnight in fridge (duh) before serving! I made a stew pot full and by the end of the 2nd day, I had a small bowl left for me! Family came out of the woodwork to try it and I was an instant hit!! I had NEVER made anything with cabbage before, much less attempted coleslaw! BEST RECIPE EVER!! Thanks soo much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2011

      This is truly a fantastic recipe for "dixie" cole slaw. It tastes just like KFC. Don't substitute ANYTHING. The tarragon vinegar make is perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      I let it set overnight in the fridge and it was every bit as good as KFC! I will be using this recipe for my barbecue competitions from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      Some notes to get this closer: * Less mayo (Might try a different mayo, MW is strong) * More tarragon vinegar * More FINELY diced onions * Definitely more sodium (try out MSG)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      better than KFC

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      Not an exact reproduction of KFC's coleslaw, but much closer than most (we actually bought a KFC coleslaw to compare them). Still missing a little something, although I can't put my finger on exactly what yet - it may be that "2 heads" is a subjective thing, and it needs to be quantified in the recipe a little better. Also, as the others have said, you MUST let it sit in the fridge at least overnight, hopefully longer, to get something that is remotely close to the real thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2009

      I couldn't find tarragon vinegar, so I made my owm by soaking tarragon leaves in white vinegar for a few days. Worked great. Also, I substituted stevia for the sugar. This recipe is delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      Turned out great. I used cider vinegar cause that is what I had on hand. I also used a packaged coleslaw mix to save time. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2003

      That's it. The name says it all, "The real thing." It is. I know. I have worked there. Also my favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2014

      For those that are wondering where to get Tarragon Vinegar, Heinz makes a bottle 12oz for about 3 bucks you can get in walmart stores http://www.walmart.com/ip/Heinz-Gourmet-Tarragon-Vinegar-12-fl-oz/10294538

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2009

      This is the first time I have been disappointed with a RecipeZaar recipe. The flavor was fine. Not necessarily KFC but still it was good. However the best I can say about the consistency is "gloppy". I added a third head of cabbage and it is still "gloppy". Should the recipe actually read 2 1/2 cups of Miracle Whip?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      Very good copycat. I made this for a famiy bbq last Sunday and it was a hit. I will shredd the cabbage a bit more next time, but that is no fault of the recipe. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, I love it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      Thank you for posting this recipe. It was very easy to make and very good :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2014

      I went with brentdalbec's advice and it was great. I thought I had settled in on my favorite recipe for coleslaw until I tried this and I now have a new favorite. Thanks brentdalbec.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2014

      Love this Recipe and have made it for years. I have made some adaptations to it though. I like to use Sweet onion (Vidalea) and use regular Mayo instead of Miracle Whip. I have tried Cider, Wine and Tarragon vinegars but find the Tarragon works the best. I also like to add in Garlic Pepper seasoning to the sauce. Since I like my Slaw Crispy I mix just before serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2013

      The real recipe had equal parts of tarragon vinegar and oil, no onions, and the other ingredients are about right

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Copycat KFC Coleslaw: the Real Thing

    Serving Size: 1 (124 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 149.4
     
    Calories from Fat 78
    52%
    Total Fat 8.7 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 6.9 mg
    2%
    Sodium 236.3 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.5 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 13.8 g
    55%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tarragon vinegar


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites