23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe made 2 1/2 regular sized AWESOME muffins! Everybody loved them, and they look pretty too. I did sprinkle a little sugar on top of mine before baking. The best blueberry muffins I've ever had.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dknj June 13, 2002

Muffins turned out fine, but not mind blowing. Also, the recipe calls for "1 extra large eggs" but then the directions called for adding "one egg at a time", so I wasn't sure how many eggs were actually supposed to go in. So I added two large (rather than XL) eggs. All in all the flavor was good, but a bit drier than I'd hoped. If I didn't have the egg question, I'd probably try it again but with more blueberries and perhaps a bit more milk. Since I also have the egg question, that's just too many ways I might still not be happy with the results, so I'm going to move on to trying other recipes instead.

Update: HeatherFeather was kind enough to reply to my email - apparently the recipe measurements were converted somehow in the posted. Per her note, here are the true measurements:

Here are the correct measurements for the recipe:
2 1/4 c all-purpose flour
1 Tbsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 cup unsalted butter (1 stick), at room temperature
1 1/4 c granulated sugar
2 extra large eggs
1 Tbsp vanilla extract
3 cups fresh blueberries (NOT frozen)
1/2 cup milk

(Heather - I hope you don't mind me posting this! I thought it would help other people. Msg me again if you want me to take that down!)

I'm going to make these again tonight or tomorrow, and will report back with how the correct version works out!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spammypants July 27, 2010

My best friend ate three of these muffins at one sitting---that is all I have to say!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Richard-NYC May 01, 2003

Blueberrydelishous!!!!! Followed except I topped with Cinnamon and sugar before baking.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ September 22, 2003

These were good, full of blueberries just not the best. They were a little mushy and fell apart when holding them. I added lemon zest and a TBL of lemon and I think that really helped the flavor. We decided to keep looking for a light fluffy batter that holds together after baking a little better. Thanks for giving us something new to try.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PrincessPage July 23, 2011

Well, I am eating one as I am writing this. OUTSTANDING! Made these to bring to my co-workers ..... not sure if they will make it there now ... LOL!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seetiggerbounce July 04, 2011

Forgot to rate these the first 10 times I made them. Today the fresh organic blueberries were on special and in season, there's a batch in the oven as I write this review. These are spectacular and give me reason to wait patiently for our Canadian blueberry season to come around. I make the recipe exactly as specified except I use Imperial margarine quarters. My oven tends to run a little hot so I need to watch them closely the last few minutes in the oven. I love the high golden domes on these. Everyone that tries them wants the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mjane June 12, 2011

I've made this recipe many, many times and they always turn out wonderful. There's a lot of batter- I can usually get about 10 jumbo muffins out of it! I've recently taken to sprinkling the top with sugar before putting them in the oven to give it a crystalized, sweet look and taste. I should also mention that my husband will eat these up and he doesn't even like blueberry muffins!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheTinyBaker April 11, 2010

Yum! I used large eggs since that is all I had on hand and they came out perfect (otherwise followed recipe exactly). I made 6 jumbos and they were delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hissy Hussy February 01, 2010

One question-- is the cinnamn meant to be grounded first?? The muffins look nice(:

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ZannZann July 13, 2009
CopyCat Junior's "Berries on Top" Jumbo Blueberry Muffins