Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Copycat IHOP Harvest Grain & Nut Pancakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Copycat IHOP Harvest Grain & Nut Pancakes

    Average Rating:

    110 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 110

    Sort by:

    • on March 01, 2011

      These really are just like IHOP's...which are my favorite! I used lemon juice milk in place of buttermilk. Chopped the nuts in my "mini-prep" (mini food processor) and ground the oatmeal in the mini-prep as well. I combined everything with a wisk instead of electic mixer. Worked perfectly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2008

      I've never had these pancakes at IHOP, but I was happy to try them in the quest for a healthy, substantial pancake. I loved the hearty texture of these along with that signature flavor buttermilk gives; I wasn't sure if I noticed the tangy flavor other reviews described, at first, but realized that it did indeed have that "flavor" IHOP's pancakes do, so it made it very unique. I used a 1/4 cup unsweetened apple sauce in place of the oil and the pancakes were moist inside and not raw from the replacement. I also replaced the sugar with a few tablespoons I had of honey and a half a pureed banana to add some natural sweetness; the pancakes weren't as sweet as I imagine them being at IHOP, but I really liked the natural flavor the banana lent to it. These are really filling and a great recipe to share!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2007

      The flavor of these was good, but for whatever reason my batter turned out very thin. Not sure if this was normal or not, but with it being as thin as it was it spread quite a bit on the griddle. Thus the recommended 1/3 c. batter was WAY too much, and I had to cut it down to 1/8 c. batter just to be able to fit 4 pancakes on at a time. (Usually I cook 6 at a time using a 1/4 c. scoop.) Even after they were well browned on one side they were difficult to flip and threatened to fall apart each time. Sooo...not the pretties pancakes to serve, but like I said, the flavor was pretty good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      I made these just for me so I wanted to make them as simply as possible. I used soy milk with 1 tsp of vinegar (worked great) and brown sugar Splenda. I did not process the oats but soaked them in the clabbered milk while I prepared other ingredients. I added 1 Tbsp steel cut oats and 1 Tbsp flax seed for more fiber. I also did not use a blender (I like a lot of texture) but mixed everything by hand. They turned out great! Next time, I may try using just egg white to make them even healthier

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      These pancakes are a definate keeper. I have made these twice; once as directed and once using 1/4 c. white flour and 1/4 c. wheat flour. I like it better with the white flour. I also did not blanch the almonds. I have been eating these almost every day for about 2 weeks, and they are still great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      I just recently tried the Harvest Grain and Nut pancakes at IHOP, and went searching for the recipe the very next day! I love this recipe! I've made it using buttermilk and once using milk with vinegar added - using actual buttermilk works much better I think. I make a double batch and freeze them, then reheat in the microwave and it works out great for a healthy breakfast on those mornings when you're pressed for time. I use all walnuts (almond allergies) and they still taste great. I have a hard time flipping them, so make much smaller pancakes. I use an 1/8 cup as the ladle. My new breakfast favorite.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      We really liked this recipe. The texture was great. Mine were a little thin, but I think it's because I substituted skim milk for the buttermilk. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2008

      These pancakes are the most delicious I have ever had! Very satisfying. I slightly heaped the nuts and only chopped them lightly after toasting them - it gave the pancakes a wonderful texture. By the way, this recipe makes more than 4 pancakes (or 4 massive ones)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2007

      Excellent pancakes. These are the best pancakes we have ever had. We love that they are made with whole wheat flour. We didn't have any almonds, so we just used 6 tablespoons of walnuts. We will be having these again real soon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2007

      When I followed the recipe, my pancakes were very dry and not very "cakey", even after adding additional buttermilk. We didn't eat them. I modified the recipe -- 3/4 cup oats; 1/2 cup all-purpose and 1/4 cup whole wheat flour; 1 T. corn meal; 2 eggs; 3 t. baking powder and no soda; and whole milk rather than buttermilk. I left out the sugar, because if you're using maple syrup, honey, or jam, you just don't need additional sweetness. I have been using pecan meal and toasted almond meal from King Arthur. And, as with ALL pancake batter, let it rest for at least 30 minutes before you use it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2007

      I was SO EXCITED to see this recipe, as the Harvest Grain & Nut Pancakes are my FAVOURITE at IHOP!!! I always wondered exactly how "healthy" they were... I always felt like I was making a good choice in getting those, but never completely sure. But now I can make them at home and I think they're delicious! Made them for the second time this morning and will make them again. I used 1/2 cup of yogurt and 1 cup of nonfat milk instead of the buttermilk, used Splenda instead of sugar, and actually tried making them without the oil. Came out fine! And super yummy. Thanks SO much for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2007

      Unbelievable...I wasn't expecting them to be this good! I didn't have almonds so doubled up on the walnuts and made buttermilk using skim milk and 1 1/2 T. vinegar. I also used 1/4 c. egg beaters instead of a whole egg. What a great Sunday afternoon lunch. Now we're ready for a nice, long nap!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2006

      I want to add my two-cents worth to the list of ratings. When watching carbs and refined sugar you miss things like pancakes, and these were a reminder that it is possible to eat right and still enjoy things like pancakes. Also, there are a couple of intimidating things in the list of ingredients - things that don't have to be intimidating. If you don't have buttermilk and don't want to make it - the recipe does fine with normal skim milk. Also, I didn't blanche the almonds and I don't think it hurt a bit. This is actually a simple recipe to mix up, and tastes good with or without any butter or toppings; and it is healthy! Yea!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2006

      The ONLY pancakes I make, delicious and healthy. I've made them quite a few times and I always end up adding an extra cup of flour because the mix is so runny. Despite that, these are just awesome.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2006

      This was very good and pretty healthy too. I didn't change a thing except to use sour milk instead of buttermilk. At first I thought the batter would be too thin, but the oats absorb a lot of the moisture within a minute or two. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2006

      I used regular skim milk and ground hazelnuts but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. These have a wonderful nutty flavour. Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2005

      We liked these so much that my kids and I made this up into mixes (dry ingredients only) and gave them as part of our Christmas food gifts for family members. The only change I made was to use all walnuts instead of walnuts and almonds. We made our own wheat and oat flours in the Vita Mix. Delicious, and they're so much more filling and satisfying than white flour pancakes!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2005

      These pancakes are awesome!! I will never make any other kind! I didn't realize I was out of wheat flour when I started, so I used white this time. I don't have a food processor/blender so no way to grind up the oats. I thought it wouldn't matter much since I already had nuts in there making them nice and chunky. (I used a full cup of flour to make up for not grinding up the oats.) The only problem I had was they were hard to flip. But I don't like my pancakes very dark so I was probably just jumping the gun a bit. :) Thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2005

      Wonderful recipe! I substituted pecans for the walnuts because that's what I had on hand, but stayed true to the rest of the ingredients. I'll be making these again and use walnuts next time as I believe the stronger flavor will be a better complement to the recipe. Thanks for bringing a nice, healthier change of pace to pancakes for all of us at 'zaar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2004

      We loved these DELICIOUS pancakes. SOooo light also Healthy. I cut the recipe in halve for the 2 of us, used splenda instead of sugar. DH said to be sure and make them again soon. Thank you for posting the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Copycat IHOP Harvest Grain & Nut Pancakes

    Serving Size: 1 (92 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 432.7
     
    Calories from Fat 217
    50%
    Total Fat 24.2 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 50.1 mg
    16%
    Sodium 1127.8 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.7 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 4.9 g
    19%
    Sugars 17.6 g
    70%
    Protein 11.8 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites