Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Copycat Duncan Hines Boxed Cake Mix Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Copycat Duncan Hines Boxed Cake Mix

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on October 28, 2007

      This is an excellent recipe, add egg whites only for a true white cake. Whole eggs make it closer to a yellow cake. By increasing the ingredients by 5 and omitting the wet ingredients you can make this in to a mix and save for future use. To make cake: 5 cups of mix to 1 cups buttermilk, 3 egg whites, 2 t vanilla, 1/2 t almond. Mix well and bake. I make cakes a lot and this is a good mix to have on hand. The amount of servings was missing so I submited a request to show 12 servings, so the nutrition facts are correct.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2011

      This cake at the moment looks great. I like the color of the cake and how light it feels when I press on it. I'm waiting for it to cool a little, before I cut it. I was asked to make birthday cake for a baby.. I have many recipes that I came up with, which are all great, but I wanted to try something different and interesting like finding something close to Duncan Hines. Duncan Hines is the best around. No disrespect to all others intended, just my opinion. I followed the recipe to a "T", doubling the recipe for a 11 by 15. turned out great. Here I go to try it. Fingers crossed. My goodness, PURELY EXCELLENT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2007

      The BEST white cake i have ever made. I didn't know if it would turn out white after i used yellow crisco, but it still did. I got soo many compliments on it! And i also added a little bit of milk with some cocoa powder for some chocolate cake and that was really good also.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2005

      Great cake!Followed your recipe and it came out perfect!!This cake will be used for many things so thank you,Linda.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2014

      This was exactly the texture I was looking for. Very airy and moist. However, it did come out yellow/brown instead of the white/cream I was hoping for. Maybe egg whites instead of whole eggs?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2010

      This cake was great! I actually did not have enough milk so I ended up using 4 oz of whole milk, made up some milk with the powdered stuff. Then I added lemon juice to the whole milk & filled it up to 8oz with the prepared milk powder stuff (Carnation Brand--2/3cup powder +1 cup water). Turned out really moist. I'm gonna have to try it again the right way & i bet it'll be even better! Another thing...I have a 9x13 aluminum pan & it barely covered the bottom...this recipe made a very short cake...about 1-1.5" finished height without cutting the "belly" off. I'll also double the recipe next time. Thanks so much for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      Wonderful! The texture is just what I had expected. Nice and fluffy. Taste was superb. I doubled this recipe and kept half original and the other half I stirred in 5 blocks melted dark baking chocolate and marbled the two together (pan was 13" round by 3" deep)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      I gave this recipe 4 stars. My family really liked this cake. I made this cake for a birthday cake for my future hubby. When I made this cake I used Splenda for baking. I didn't have buttermilk so I used evaporated milk. I didn't have parchment paper so I just put the cake in the pan. I bake this as directed and checked it in 25 minutes. The middle of my cake was still doughy so I put it back in the oven for another 10 minutes and then this burned my bottom and sides of my cake (my oven is a bit touchy). I topped this with a sugar free whipped cream frosting and refrigerated my cake which made my cake kinda hard. Overall the cakes flavor was still very good. The next time I make this I plan to try putting my cake in the middle rack and only baking it for 25 minutes and topping it with a dairy free sugar free frosting. Thanks christine (internetnut)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      This was a wonderful cake that I served with your Kittencal's Bakery Buttercream Frosting/Icing. I will have to try it again with mini chocolate chips as that sounds so good. DH kept on going back for another slice of this. My only small issue with this is that it came out pretty dense and I was hoping for a fluffier more sponge-like cake as I wanted to make it as a birthday cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2007

      I love making homemade cakes. I found this recipe and decided to give it a try. I was not disappointed. This cake is very light, moist, and has a ton of flavor. Since it was a last minute decision to make it, I didn't have any buttermilk. After reading through the reviews, I found someone who used regular milk with no problems. So I decided to try regular milk, along with subbing cake flour for all purpose flour (which is just a preferance of mine when baking cakes). It came out perfect, what more can I say except...Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

    • on June 24, 2007

      I didn't follow this recipe exactly -- I just had the yellow Crisco and omitted the salt -- so perhaps my rating should be voided. I rate this 'ok' (2 stars) because of its great texture and moistness, but we did not like the actual taste of this. Sorry, but I will not make this type of cake again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2007

      I always avoided making a two layer cake, I've always made cookies, quick breads and pound cakes but never a layer cake, so this was my first time making it. I used regular milk instead of buttermilk because I knew buttermilk would make it thicker and I wanted lighter. I added lemon extract into the mixture. I then divided the batter and made two cakes, and I put a lemon pudding inside and made a lemon icing on top. This is so light and excellent that for now on I'm making cakes!!! This was easy. Thank you so much!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2007

      Hi Kit, this is the BEST white cake around it's just like a boxed cake mabey even better, well okay it is better, I will use this recipe instead of boxed white cake from now on, this cake is SOOOOOOOO good, another winner, thanks Kit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Copycat Duncan Hines Boxed Cake Mix

    Serving Size: 1 (80 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 254.5
     
    Calories from Fat 87
    34%
    Total Fat 9.7 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 31.8 mg
    10%
    Sodium 187.3 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.8 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 21.9 g
    87%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes