Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Copycat Dq Ice Cream Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Copycat Dq Ice Cream Cake

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on May 23, 2007

      I didn't try your recipe but I know a lot about dq cakes. I worked in a dq for 4 years, I made a huge amount of cakes in that time. I would freeze the pans first(there was no top or bottom on pans). Then put a ring of vanilla all the way to the top (around the rim). That is so you only see vanilla ice cream from the outside. Then put chocolate ice cream at the bottom to about half way up. {Then for the cookie layer, it is called krunch with cold fudge. The best description of krunch is a plain chocolate wafer cookie. It is the same type used for treatza pizzas and the wafer of their ice cream sandwiches. Now most dqs use a pre made insert for the cookie layer but you can just blend krunch and cold fudge to make it.} Place a thin layer on top of chocolate then finish with vanilla. I would scrape the top smooth and then freeze in the pan, later I would let it sit out 5-15 min to soften, for pan removal then scrape the sides for the line pattern. Refreeze then decorate. I think heavy whipping cream was used for that. We wouldn't use gel that often for writing since it looks horrible when frozen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      This cake was very very easy, but I didn't think it tasted like the DQ cakes at all. #1, the frosting isn't anything like DQ. It was too soft and runny to work with and spread on the cake. By time I got to the 2nd half of the cake to ice it, the 1st half was melting. (not the cake, just the frosting - look at the bowling cake in the pictures). I was very disappointed and should have gone with my first instinct to change the frosting to something that I knew would resemble the DQ cake more, not only in taste but in appearance. The boarder, writing and image on the bowling cake cake were made from buttercream icing and when you got a bit of that and the ice cream, it tasted more like the DQ cake. After this cake I was in our local DQ a and made some inquiries. What they use for the frosting is a non-dairy whipped icing. When I asked if it had ice cream in it, she said no. #2, the Oreos in the center do not taste anything like the “crunch� that is in the DQ cake. While it is good with Oreos, it isn’t the same and #3 it definitely needed more Oreos and chocolate fudge topping even tho I used an 18 oz. jar. Next time I would use 2 packages of Oreo's and 2 jars of fudge topping. Overall, a good cake that got lots of good reviews from our party guests, but I definitely would not call this a DQ knock-off cake. I’ll definitely be making this again, but with the desperately needed changes as noted above to make it more like a DQ cake. Thanks! UPDATE: Made this for a friend this past weekend and used Rich's Bettercream for the icing (Happy Birthday Emma Cake in the photos). Not exactly like DQ's frosting, but it was much better than the coolwhip/ice cream frosting in the recipe. The BetterCream was PERFECT. If you can find it, use it. I get mine at Gordon's. It's like cool whip, but better! You can color it and decorate with it too. One thing I did differently this time was I used my food processor to crush the oreo's. DON'T DO IT! It comes out to fine of a crumb and when cut, the crumbs fall everywhere and your cake doesn't stay intact. I'll be making this again, but with my changes. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      I was a little concerned reading some of the more negative reviews on this but wanted to try it anyway. Glad I did. This was really good and although it has been many years since I had a DQ cake, this tasted alot like one to me. I did use the Whipped Cream Frosting #39013 as some others have mentioned and #17309 for the hot fudge sauce. My kids loved it , in fact my 6 year old has requested one for her birthday! I used the color gel to write on the top and as it thawed the gel does run. Next time I will either tint some of the whipped cream frosting or buttercream for decorating and see how that works. Thanks for this, what a nice treat especially during a hot summer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2013

      This cake is absolutely a hit! All the reviewers can't be wrong, so I too used Whipped Cream Frosting Whipped Cream Frosting for the frosting. Everything else as per recipe, fantastic!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2012

      This was great and really easy to make. Everyone just loved it. Next time I will add more crushed cookies inside and use a better quality fudge sauce. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2012

      Made this cake for my husbands birthday with chocolate and strawberry ice cream. For the filling i used the fudge, but instead of the cookies i mixed the fudge with toffee bits and i frosted the cake with whip cream frosting. everyone loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2011

      This recipe is wonderful! Based on other reviews, I used the whipped cream frosting recipe, and it worked perfectly. Also, because of the comments from other reviewers on the Oreo layer, I added 1/2 c. of melted butter to the crushed Oreos before spreading them on the first ice cream layer. That combined with the Mrs. Richardson hot fudge topping I used (1.5 jars) tastes just like a DQ cake. I'll be making this again without a doubt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2010

      I first made this recipe a week ago for my son's birthday. The only thing I did differently, was made it using a muffin tin that way the portions were more controlled. My family loved it. We ended up having a Christmas party with the relatives 2 days ago where I made it again but used the size pan requested but used vanilla ice-cream and strawberry ice-cream. Both tasted extremely good! Thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2010

      This cake was very easy to make and it tasted almost identical to DQ. everyone loved it. and i couldn't stop eating it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      This was ok. doent taste like a DQ cake though. It just tasted like regular ice cream. It taste better to just have ice cream with hot fudge. Thanks for sharing but i wont be making this again. im going to stick to bye the cake. My 9year olds hated this! And my 4yrold and my 13ear old.Advice: Dont use this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2009

      Made this for my daughter's birthday. Everyone claimed to like it better than DQ! Like another reviewer, I used Whipped Cream Frosting Whipped Cream Frosting to frost it. http://www.recipezaar.com/Whipped-Cream-Frosting-39013 Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2008

      This was great!! I used birthday cake ice cream (tastes like a yello cake) and chocolate. We loved it! Maybe not exactly like DQ, but for the price difference I would choose this everytime!! I love the frosting also. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2008

      This turned out pretty well for me, though I had some issues with the cookie/fudge layer. I used a whipped cream icing (http://www.recipezaar.com/39013), which was perfect for the cake. I used Smucker's microwavable fudge, which was a mistake. It was much too runny, made the cake messy, and was probably responsible for the fact that I was unable to cut out nice, full pieces in tact. I also put the cookies in a blender, which I wouldn't do again. It seemed like the crumbs might have been too small, which also might have been responsible for my slices falling apart. For those wondering (as I was) whether you should read the ingredients list as containing 2 quarts or 4, I used 2 (one chocolate and 1 vanilla) and it seemed right.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2007

      This is amazing. I've made it 4 times now and every time it turned out great! People can't believe I made it myself. I do, however, make the fudge homemade using Rave Reviews Hot Fudge Sauce. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      Awesome! We really enjoyed this. Thanks for a new favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2007

      I had never had DQ icecream cake before, but OMG was this cake good!! We don't get hot fudge topping here so I used Hot Fudge Sauce - Microwave for this, which made alot and I poured some of the extra sauce over the cake every time I had some. Thanks for posting this recipe Redneck Epicurean :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2007

      I made this for my sister's birthday. The taste is phenomenal! I was a little confused as to whether I was supposed to use 1 quart or 2 quarts EACH of the different ice creams. I used almost 2 quarts of each type of ice cream. I used chocolate crunch on the bottom and vanilla on the top. I put it all in a 9x13 pan. It was huge! For the topping, I think I used 2 cups of ice cream and 2 cups of whipped topping. Thanks for the great recipe! Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2006

      This recipe does taste identical to a DQ cake! I made mine in a cheesecake pan with removable bottom. The only problem I had was with decorating the cake.I used tubes of gel which didn't seem to adher properly to the surface. (Maybe the cake could have been frozen harder.) Great recipe. Thanks for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Copycat Dq Ice Cream Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (181 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 820.2
     
    Calories from Fat 361
    44%
    Total Fat 40.2 g
    61%
    Saturated Fat 23.5 g
    117%
    Cholesterol 58.5 mg
    19%
    Sodium 545.5 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 107.2 g
    35%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 75.5 g
    302%
    Protein 10.2 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes