69 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Our church had a cinnamon roll bake-off tonight and I made these... Problem was, they didn't make it to the bake off. It took more like 4 hours to make them (even using a warm oven to speed the rising time) and they weren't done in time. Alas! We had to eat them all ourselves. No one in my family was too disappointed as they were the best cinnamon rolls ever! Thanks Lennie! To dress them up to the max, we sprinkled the tops with sliced almonds.

32 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharlene~W March 17, 2002

Very nice touch with the cream cheese frosting; that was something new for me. I never liked cinnamon rolls much; only my hubby does. But this was REALLY GOOD! I also liked the fact that the dough was soft but still was a tender texture

31 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Izzy Knight January 19, 2002

these cinnamon rolls are wonderful!! they are so soft and stay soft - and so BIG! i'm not used to the cream cheese icing, and though it was really, really good - it was a little too sweet - so i would probably stick to the normal cinnamon roll icing! i will definitely make again! thank you, thank you!!

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elliebelle April 11, 2002

These were quite easy to make,a little time consuming but worth every second! The most tasty cinnamon rolls I've had other then Cinnabon's, and now I can just make my own! Excellent recipe.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
treko April 29, 2002

These are heavenly!!!!!!!! My family is begging for more! Thank You. Thank You. THANK YOU!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Virginia March 15, 2002

My daughter served these at a brunch this morning and everyone there agreed they were "To die for". Can't wait to make them myself.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darlene Ross October 13, 2002

We enjoyed these very much. I think the recipe for the icing could be cut in half. Next time I make them I am going to use a different icing, the cream cheese put the rolls over the top for richness. They were fun to make, we especially got a kick out of cutting the dough with thread.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gen C January 11, 2003

Delicious!! Next time I would follow the advice of other reviewers and cut the dough in half before rolling out, didn't get them rolled as tight as I would like. The icing is amazing and I had to make a carrot cake and use this icing for it. Perfect.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shemarie00 March 03, 2009

Awesome! I took these to ladies night and they were devoured. To make the frosting spot on for Cinnabon add 1 stick of softened butter to frosting and whip for 12 minutes.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cherry2445 December 06, 2009

Top Notch, Lennie! My physique is not one that really needs desserts but I can not, for the life of me, find any regret in having eaten these. They were just fantastic. Made up four times the recipe to take to work and I thought it was going to turn into an ugly mob scene there was so much competition for them. If I had to change anything I would possibly cut down on the amount of the icing as the recipe makes a more than ample amount. But otherwise, what can I say...flavor was great, aroma was sirenic in it's lure, total satisfaction was the outcome. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rick Young November 15, 2003
Copycat Cinnabon Rolls With Icing