20 Reviews

I thought I had some condensed milk in the cupboard for a recipe I wanted to make but I didn't and couldn't be bothered going down the shops so used this instead. It worked really well, only the sugar didn't quite dissolve fully, maybe caster sugar would be better than regular sugar. As my recipe was a cake it didn't hinder that in any way so 5 stars for saving me from having to go the the store. Thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** September 04, 2010

I just made it. I replaced the sugar with Splenda. WOW! It was great.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Don426 April 23, 2011

Wonderful recipe. I used Splenda and it worked out great!! I put it in a copycat Wendy's Frosty recipe and it tasted just like a frosty but less sugar! Yum!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
erical72 May 12, 2010

So glad I happpened to look this up. It's recipes like this that end up being my favorites. Simple money savers. This stuff tastes great and worked just fine. I won't buy SCM again. Give it a try. The first couple times I checked on it during blending it was still a bit grainy. So I just turned it on and went to fold laundry lol When I came back it was good to go. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma April 06, 2009

Wonderful substitution recipe. We thought it was a tad grainy in comparison to the canned kind but easy to make. It does set up very thick-depending on the recipe I would possibly add another couple of teaspoons of boiling water.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooksci March 22, 2009

I made it with splenda. I took a chance and it worked out great. It's thick enough like the real thing. The taste is great. Thanks Kittencal. Made for Top Favorites of 2008 tag game

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette March 18, 2009

You saved the day for me, Kittencal! We had a craving for a Wendy's Frosty so we stopped at the grocery store on our way home to pick up chocolate milk and Cool Whip, thinking I always have sweetened condensed milk in the cupboard. Every time except this time, I was out! So I ran to the computer to find a substitute and found your recipe! I always have powdered milk in the cupboard ; ) This worked perfectly and I didn't have to run to the store a second time : ) Thanks again, Kittencal!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev January 17, 2009

To all of those reviewers who substitute with SPLENDA. Please don't do that. Splenda turns to formaldehyde in your body so using copious amounts of this synthetic laboratory produced sugar is getting you ready for embalming. Do your research! It is not good for anyone to eat.<br/><br/>Loved the recipe though as written and is much better than a previous version I have on hand. I keep my low fat powdered milk in the freezer to keep it from turning rancid.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TxTufTif February 15, 2015

This recipe came in really handy as alas... I forgot to get sweetened condensed milk at the grocery. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melanie Adrienne November 08, 2012

I am letting it cool now to make a flan. The consistency should be getting a bit thicker and the taste is good but I can somehow taste the skim milk on it. It still seems to be ok. I like the idea of adding splenda to cut down on the sugar.Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blacksky_ms July 08, 2011
Copycat Borden's Sweetened Condensed Milk