52 Reviews

Yum! This is the soup I love at Panera, so I was glad to find a recipe at all. And this one was excellent. I was glad I read the reviews, though, and used half the flour; it would have been like cement if I had any more! I also used a wild rice instead of the Uncle Ben's because I had it and we're trying to avoid the high-sodium mixes (and I had about 1 1/2 cups already cooked). I used an additional 1/3 cup uncooked rice boiled in 4 cups of broth with finely chopped carrots, celery, onion, and garlic. I also used half & half because that's what I had.

Thanks for posting this recipe, Raquel! I can't wait for something like having the girls over for lunch to make it again!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jili April 21, 2011

Oh my, my, my!!! This soup is delicious!!! I had to make a few adjustments since I had the long-cooking Uncle Ben's Rice. I'm assuming this recipe is for the quick-cooking version since it said to pour in the rice and remove from heat. My adjustments were to use 7 cups of broth (to make up for the long-cooking rice soaking up more liquid), 1/2 cup of butter, scant 1/2 cup of flour and 2 cups of heavy cream. I changed the amount of flour because I was afraid of it turning too thick. I knew I could add more later if I needed to. I'm very happy with the way it turned out. I have never had Panera's version of this soup......but I can't imagine it tasting any better!!! This was sooooooo yummy!! Thanks so much for posting!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catsoplenty January 29, 2011

So good! Loved this and will make all the time. Only used 1 1/2 c. ff half and half and 1 stick butter.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound January 06, 2014

Just made this tonight. Followed the directions, but did use the 3/4 cup flour and the evaporated milk (what I had). I like the thickness of Panera's soup. I'm thinking I'll use half the seasoning package the next time, and add some tarragon, maybe some white wine.
Otherwise, excellent. (the entire pot is gone btw, kids ate the whole thing).

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ailyrr October 31, 2011

Panera's rice soup is my absolute favorite! I've been looking for this recipe for about 3 years! I used all ingredients as called for. Soup was just the right texture and thickness. The only thing I will change for next time is the seasoning mix in the rice. I will cut that by at least 1/2. The flavors of the spices were way too intense! Panera's has a subtle flavor and I didn't feel like there was anything subtle about this. Had company for dinner & they all enjoyed it, just too intense for me. Can't wait to try it again, as I can certainly see the potential for this to become my favorite soup at home! I live a long way from Panera's and I crave this soup all winter long! Yum! Yum! It's October so I'm ready to master this! Thanks SOOOOOOO MUCH for the recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cakeworks October 02, 2011

Wow! This was delicious! I made this using low sodium chicken broth, tripled all ingredients except I only used 3 1/2 sticks of butter, and 1 32 ounce container of 1/2 and 1/2. (it's all I had) and I used brown rice (I had in the cabinet, and cooked it as directed in the broth, and added some of the spices listed on line for Uncle Bens wild rice box, turmeric, paprika, garlic powder, and black pepper) It turned out delicious. Everyone can add there own salt and pepper to taste, and it freezes in individual containers beautifully. I will be making this for many years to come. Thanks for the recipe and adding the substitution. It made it less intimidating to substitute.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patti D. November 22, 2015

I found this recipe winter of 2012, after visiting Panera several times with my boyfriend and watching him order their Chicken & Wild Rice Soup. I made this for him with a few modifications (1/2 & 1/2 combined with milk, sometimes a little heavy whipping cream, as well as extra veggies, some garlic & I always add mushrooms- yum!)- he thought this was better than Panera's. Even after visiting Panera again- he still thinks my version of this recipe is better! This recipe is definitely a keeper for anyone who loves a creamy soup on a cold day- I've made it so many times since the day I first tried it- swapping in & out different ingredients, and it never disappoints. So flavorful & delicious! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kali K. October 14, 2014

I made this for company tonight, and it was loved by all! We served it with garlic toast and salad. I doubled the recipe and decided to adjust a couple of things based in part on other reviews and in part on trying to lower the calorie count. So for a DOUBLE batch, I used 1 cup butter total. And I also therefore cut the flour for the roux to 2/3 cup. I used 3 of the rice-a-roni long grain & wild rice mix (the 4oz. box size), but only 2 of the seasoning packets, and it was perfect. And then I used part evaporated milk and part half n' half for the cream. It really turned out wonderful & we will definitely be making again! Thanks for sharing a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Colorado Mel April 03, 2012

absolutely amazing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debdeb121862 January 05, 2011

Not really like Panera's, but still delicious! I added extra black pepper and next time will add some Paprika to give it a little more depth.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
abigail.roybalart April 12, 2016
Copy-Cat Panera Cream of Chicken and Wild Rice Soup