Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Copycat Restaurant Recipes

    Top 20 Restaurant Clones

    Top 20 Restaurant Clones

    From Cheesecake Factory to IHOP
    Red Lobster Remakes

    Red Lobster Remakes

    Make Your Own Cheddar Bay Biscuits
    15 Best Starbucks Copycats

    15 Best Starbucks Copycats

    Skip the Morning Coffee Run
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Copy-Cat Panera Cream of Chicken and Wild Rice Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Copy-Cat Panera Cream of Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on April 21, 2011

      Yum! This is the soup I love at Panera, so I was glad to find a recipe at all. And this one was excellent. I was glad I read the reviews, though, and used half the flour; it would have been like cement if I had any more! I also used a wild rice instead of the Uncle Ben's because I had it and we're trying to avoid the high-sodium mixes (and I had about 1 1/2 cups already cooked). I used an additional 1/3 cup uncooked rice boiled in 4 cups of broth with finely chopped carrots, celery, onion, and garlic. I also used half & half because that's what I had.

      Thanks for posting this recipe, Raquel! I can't wait for something like having the girls over for lunch to make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2011

      Oh my, my, my!!! This soup is delicious!!! I had to make a few adjustments since I had the long-cooking Uncle Ben's Rice. I'm assuming this recipe is for the quick-cooking version since it said to pour in the rice and remove from heat. My adjustments were to use 7 cups of broth (to make up for the long-cooking rice soaking up more liquid), 1/2 cup of butter, scant 1/2 cup of flour and 2 cups of heavy cream. I changed the amount of flour because I was afraid of it turning too thick. I knew I could add more later if I needed to. I'm very happy with the way it turned out. I have never had Panera's version of this soup......but I can't imagine it tasting any better!!! This was sooooooo yummy!! Thanks so much for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2011

      Panera's rice soup is my absolute favorite! I've been looking for this recipe for about 3 years! I used all ingredients as called for. Soup was just the right texture and thickness. The only thing I will change for next time is the seasoning mix in the rice. I will cut that by at least 1/2. The flavors of the spices were way too intense! Panera's has a subtle flavor and I didn't feel like there was anything subtle about this. Had company for dinner & they all enjoyed it, just too intense for me. Can't wait to try it again, as I can certainly see the potential for this to become my favorite soup at home! I live a long way from Panera's and I crave this soup all winter long! Yum! Yum! It's October so I'm ready to master this! Thanks SOOOOOOO MUCH for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2014

      So good! Loved this and will make all the time. Only used 1 1/2 c. ff half and half and 1 stick butter.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2012

      I made this for company tonight, and it was loved by all! We served it with garlic toast and salad. I doubled the recipe and decided to adjust a couple of things based in part on other reviews and in part on trying to lower the calorie count. So for a DOUBLE batch, I used 1 cup butter total. And I also therefore cut the flour for the roux to 2/3 cup. I used 3 of the rice-a-roni long grain & wild rice mix (the 4oz. box size), but only 2 of the seasoning packets, and it was perfect. And then I used part evaporated milk and part half n' half for the cream. It really turned out wonderful & we will definitely be making again! Thanks for sharing a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2011

      Just made this tonight. Followed the directions, but did use the 3/4 cup flour and the evaporated milk (what I had). I like the thickness of Panera's soup. I'm thinking I'll use half the seasoning package the next time, and add some tarragon, maybe some white wine.
      Otherwise, excellent. (the entire pot is gone btw, kids ate the whole thing).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2011

      absolutely amazing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2014

      I found this recipe winter of 2012, after visiting Panera several times with my boyfriend and watching him order their Chicken & Wild Rice Soup. I made this for him with a few modifications (1/2 & 1/2 combined with milk, sometimes a little heavy whipping cream, as well as extra veggies, some garlic & I always add mushrooms- yum!)- he thought this was better than Panera's. Even after visiting Panera again- he still thinks my version of this recipe is better! This recipe is definitely a keeper for anyone who loves a creamy soup on a cold day- I've made it so many times since the day I first tried it- swapping in & out different ingredients, and it never disappoints. So flavorful & delicious! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2014

      OMG!!!! This soup is soooooooooooo delicious! I can't get enough of it! I've made it 4x since I saw this recipe online and have gotten excellent reviews from friends who've tried it. I did tweak it slightly and only used 1/3 cup of flour instead of 1/2 to tone down the thickness. I also only used 2 cups total of dairy products (1 cup of light cream and 1 cup of evaporated milk). And lastly, I used low sodium chicken broth. To prepare my chicken breast, I boil them in low sodium chicken broth and add fresh garlic, pepper, and onion powder. It's so amazingly delicious! Thanks for sharing! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2014

      Delicious perfection! I used half 'n half and added crimini mushrooms and it was as good, if not better, than what I had at Panera. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2014

      excellent, use half of the flour and add extra as needed

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2014

      I like the soup but it doesn't taste like Panera's. I am a little dissapointed :-(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2014

      Wonderful soup! I made it again today. This time I made a slight adjustment by adding 6 ounces of sliced pickled jalapenos with juice and some corn. Gave it a little southwestern kick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2013

      This was delish! I followed the recipe with the exception of the rice. I used zatarans wild rice mix. It's right on with panera bread! Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2013

      Excellent recipe! Though I added some sliced shiitake mushrooms to the vegetables as they were sautéing and instead of the Uncle Ben's roasted chicken wild rice mix, I used a wild rice mix with a herb seasoning packet. The herbs gave it a milder taste, but it was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2013

      Fantastic!! I added chopped frozen kale and I love it. thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2013

      Wow...I have to add my words of praise to this great soup ! Although I have never tried Panera cream of chicken I am now a new fan......this soup is the bomb! Had 2 bowls tonight and looking forward to another one tomorrow......I made a few goofs with the recipe but it was very forgiving. I bought the express Uncle Ben's rice which has the seasoning mixed in with the rice.....also got ahead of myself and added the veggies to the broth mixture......but no harm done as the end result was heavenly ! Thanks so much for sharing my new favourite chicken and rice soup!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2013

      This tastes exactly like Panera's (only this one actually has some chicken in it!) I didn't use a seasoning packet but instead made a mix of dried parsley, cumin, turmeric and a dollop of ginger paste, and I only used the half cup of flour recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2013

      Amazing soup. Replica of panera bread. I brought all the ingredients (the ones which i already didnt have at home) and decided to give it a try. I think I added a little too much of chicken broth which resulted the soup having a very thin consistency. So I added corn starch to make it thicker. That was my own fault. Otherwise very good soup. Highly recommend it. Right now I'm enjoying it with french bread. Thanks !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2012

      This is a wonderful recipe and I've made it twice in a month already! I did change the flour amount. But on my second time around I made the mistake of using "chix and Broccoli" rice from uncle bens, I added some mushrooms and an extra 1/4 cup of the three other veggies. It's turned out really fantastic so I just wanted to promote experimented for those that are brave enough with different soup mixes added. I loved your soup, thanks for the help, I craved Panera so much it was breaking the bank!

      Also, use a really good quality chicken broth, it definitely matters in the final flavor, I felt.

      Courtney

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Copy-Cat Panera Cream of Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (368 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 578.5
     
    Calories from Fat 450
    77%
    Total Fat 50.0 g
    76%
    Saturated Fat 30.0 g
    150%
    Cholesterol 155.6 mg
    51%
    Sodium 1041.9 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.4 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 15.1 g
    30%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    long grain and wild rice blend


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes