Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cool As a Cucumber! Cheese, Cucumber and Chive Sandwich Spread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cool As a Cucumber! Cheese, Cucumber and Chive Sandwich Spread

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on May 11, 2010

      Used 1/3 of a European cuke leaving some of the peel on to add a bit more color to the spread I had about 3/4 cup finely diced total. I had it first (with the mint) as a sandwich spread then on melba toast (without the mint) as a late night snack. Yep, made it twice. Still iffy about the mint. TFS this scrumptious recipe. Made for Aussie/NZ RS#40.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2013

      Delicious and light. Very refreshing. I used minced Vidalia onion since I was out of chives and green onions. It's a perfect late dinner or snack since it won't weigh you down. I ate mine as a sandwich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2011

      i found this a bit too cream cheesy as written so i went ahead and added the other half of the cuke. i also added some more onion, some garlic, and some dill. i think it might have benefited from a bit of chopped celery for texture. i went easy on the mint since my fresh stuff is quite strong. this is nice but seemed to me to be missing something that would have balanced out the flavors a bit more, maybe a little minced sun dried tomato or something. i used low fat cream cheese which is a little softer then regular so we'll see how it holds up for lunches tomorrow. i'm hoping being stiffened up by chilling will balance the liquid coming out of the cuke. might be nice with fresh basil instead of mint. reminds me a bit of egg salad crossed with cucumber cream cheese sandwiches for a fancy tea. overall this is a nice change of pace, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2011

      Wow. This was great! I made fancy cucumber sandwiches with this for a fancy Sunday afternoon "do". They all disappeared! Many, many compliments on this. I think the secret in this recipe is the inclusion of the mint. It is not an overpowering mint taste, but it does sharpen all of the other flavours. One batch made exactly one loaf of sandwiches (crusts cut off, of course). Thanks French Tart. You hit another one out of the park!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2011

      This is really good. Sorry French Tart I save 5 stars for only a few recipes and believe me you made some of them. I love cucumbers I used half of cream cheese though I used Neufchatel cheese instead of cream cheese as with my gallbladder less fat works better for my system. My spring onion dried out so I had to use red onion but this was still good. Even though there is no mint around here sorry I had to leave it out. Perhaps If made as written it would be better but I can only do what my area has.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2011

      Excellent!! Made as is. Perfect.
      Used it as a spread on a mix of rye and pumpernickel bread and cut them in quarters. Not quite tea sandwiches, but close to it. Served it with a fresh roasted tomato soup. A perfect lunch for a potential catering clients.
      It was wonderful. A great fresh mix of flavors.
      Thx for a wonderful recipe.
      Kim

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2010

      I made this today for a Christmas luncheon. Everyone loved it! I adored the chive, onion, cucumber combination. It was such a great choice because I was running late and it goes together super fast. I didn't use mint, because I had none of either variety on hand. I wanted to spread it on celery, but that went by the wayside because of time. Instead just served it on crackers. I will definitely make this again. Thank you so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2010

      Uh... this was so good it was never used for its intended purpose (sandwich spread) because I ate it plain with a spoon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2010

      Wonderful just the way it is. Lovely & fresh :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2010

      Karen, this dip is fabulous!!!! It is so refreshing, very creamy and super tasty! I luved the combination of chives, green onion and cucumber. What a springy combination! :) I used this with crudites and it was perfect! I imagine it to be quite lovely on scones, too. Cant wait to try it out! I will most certainly use this easy, yummy dip again and again! THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing another keeper of a recipe with us! Made and reviewed for Veggie Swap #23 June 2010 and the Magic of Herbs Event in the Photo Forum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2010

      Onion lovers this is for you! The chives and scallions stand out then the mint comes through. All complementing the cukes. I used this as a spread in a wrap filled with arugula and grilled chicken. Thanks Karen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      There's not much more I can say, FT, that hasn't been said already! It was made as a quick, cool spread for assorted crackers. I, also, made sure to have a few crudites ready, too. I just couldn't stop eating it! But managed, with great restraint, to save a little for my sister. Thank you, thank you, for sharing your recipe. Made for French Forum Herb of the Month--May - Chives!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2010

      OMG!Loved it,loved it,loved it!!! I had to leave out the chives and I used Naneh - Mint Paste ( Persian) for mint,left out the salt since the paste had some.I used butter taste cream cheese.I had it on white fresh bread and little's little#2 got a taste of it,even tough she already had breakfast. This spread is out of this world.Even though these days we don't seem to eat many dishes twice(there're just too many recipes out there ),this is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      Loved it! I served this as a dip with veggies from my garden and a nice baguette. Everybody loved it. I didn't have mint on hand so I just omitted it. It was still delicious! Thanks for the recipe. Update: April, 2010....I've made this on several occasions and it is always good. Today I didn't have green onion on hand so, I added a tablespoon of finely diced red onion and also added a tablespoon of freshly chopped parsley and it tuned out really yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2010

      Wow! This is really good! And I made it with dried herbs. I bet it's fantastic with fresh mint and chives. I plan to find out this summer! Thanks! Reviewed for the Veg*n Recipe Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      Soooo tasty!!! Love the addition of the mint...just right. Interestingly enough, in looking in the pantry for crackers, I happened upon some graham crackers...WOW! Is this great on graham crackers!! Who knew? Made for English leg of the GB Tour of the Isles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2009

      This was really good! I think the fresh mint really shines and you should not make this without it! I used the spread to make pinwheel sandwiches using tortillas. My only complaint is that I think I spread it a bit too thick, so the filling to tortilla ratio was not ideal. I will make this again for sure, but I will spread it thinner on the wraps. Or I may use it as a dip also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2009

      I don't know what else to add that hasn't already been said about these delicious sandwiches. All fresh ingredients either from our garden: cucumbers, chives and mint, the Mennonite bakery: honey-wheat bread, or the local dairy: cream cheese. My little trick for really soft cream cheese is that you can whip it yourself. Yes, it's easy. Take regular cream cheese (full fat or low fat at room temp) and beat it with a mixer until light and fluffy. Whipped cream cheese is available on the market but you're going to pay a little bit more for the convenience when you can make it easily yourself at home. Plus, it is much easier to spread than standard cream cheese. Thanks for posting. Oh, I would highly recommend fresh mint only. The salt and pepper may seem like an afterthought but it brings everything together. cg

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      My son loved this SO much I had to stop him from eating the entire bowl. This is a fantastic use for cucumbers fresh from the garden. Will definitely make again, next time as sandwiches. My teenager has asked to have this made for lunch at school! Husband also liked it.. I prepared this exactly as written. Thank you for such wonderful recipes, FT! I tried several this weekend and all were hits!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      Very refreshing spread on crackers and topped with sliced pepperoncini for an added kick. Thank you :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cool As a Cucumber! Cheese, Cucumber and Chive Sandwich Spread

    Serving Size: 1 (51 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 101.0
     
    Calories from Fat 87
    86%
    Total Fat 9.7 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 5.4 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 31.2 mg
    10%
    Sodium 92.0 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    5%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes