30 Reviews

Used 1/3 of a European cuke leaving some of the peel on to add a bit more color to the spread I had about 3/4 cup finely diced total. I had it first (with the mint) as a sandwich spread then on melba toast (without the mint) as a late night snack. Yep, made it twice. Still iffy about the mint. TFS this scrumptious recipe. Made for Aussie/NZ RS#40.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie B's Hive May 11, 2010

Delicious and light. Very refreshing. I used minced Vidalia onion since I was out of chives and green onions. It's a perfect late dinner or snack since it won't weigh you down. I ate mine as a sandwich.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nott September 06, 2013

i found this a bit too cream cheesy as written so i went ahead and added the other half of the cuke. i also added some more onion, some garlic, and some dill. i think it might have benefited from a bit of chopped celery for texture. i went easy on the mint since my fresh stuff is quite strong. this is nice but seemed to me to be missing something that would have balanced out the flavors a bit more, maybe a little minced sun dried tomato or something. i used low fat cream cheese which is a little softer then regular so we'll see how it holds up for lunches tomorrow. i'm hoping being stiffened up by chilling will balance the liquid coming out of the cuke. might be nice with fresh basil instead of mint. reminds me a bit of egg salad crossed with cucumber cream cheese sandwiches for a fancy tea. overall this is a nice change of pace, thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spiritussancto September 24, 2011

Wow. This was great! I made fancy cucumber sandwiches with this for a fancy Sunday afternoon "do". They all disappeared! Many, many compliments on this. I think the secret in this recipe is the inclusion of the mint. It is not an overpowering mint taste, but it does sharpen all of the other flavours. One batch made exactly one loaf of sandwiches (crusts cut off, of course). Thanks French Tart. You hit another one out of the park!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Regina V. Smith July 26, 2011

This is really good. Sorry French Tart I save 5 stars for only a few recipes and believe me you made some of them. I love cucumbers I used half of cream cheese though I used Neufchatel cheese instead of cream cheese as with my gallbladder less fat works better for my system. My spring onion dried out so I had to use red onion but this was still good. Even though there is no mint around here sorry I had to leave it out. Perhaps If made as written it would be better but I can only do what my area has.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muffinlady June 20, 2011

Excellent!! Made as is. Perfect.
Used it as a spread on a mix of rye and pumpernickel bread and cut them in quarters. Not quite tea sandwiches, but close to it. Served it with a fresh roasted tomato soup. A perfect lunch for a potential catering clients.
It was wonderful. A great fresh mix of flavors.
Thx for a wonderful recipe.
Kim

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarasotaCook March 01, 2011

I made this today for a Christmas luncheon. Everyone loved it! I adored the chive, onion, cucumber combination. It was such a great choice because I was running late and it goes together super fast. I didn't use mint, because I had none of either variety on hand. I wanted to spread it on celery, but that went by the wayside because of time. Instead just served it on crackers. I will definitely make this again. Thank you so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GibbyLou December 17, 2010

Uh... this was so good it was never used for its intended purpose (sandwich spread) because I ate it plain with a spoon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paris D December 04, 2010

Wonderful just the way it is. Lovely & fresh :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Candace Michelle 2 August 24, 2010

Karen, this dip is fabulous!!!! It is so refreshing, very creamy and super tasty! I luved the combination of chives, green onion and cucumber. What a springy combination! :) I used this with crudites and it was perfect! I imagine it to be quite lovely on scones, too. Cant wait to try it out! I will most certainly use this easy, yummy dip again and again! THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing another keeper of a recipe with us! Made and reviewed for Veggie Swap #23 June 2010 and the Magic of Herbs Event in the Photo Forum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula June 02, 2010
Cool As a Cucumber! Cheese, Cucumber and Chive Sandwich Spread