13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

There's no doubt in my mind that this deserves five stars because it's so easy to make, very tasty and perfect for hot summer days. I used a bit of yogurt along with the mayonaise, to cut the fat a bit, and tons of pepper and dill.

30 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sackville July 30, 2002

We really liked this. Its very fresh tasting and perfect for summer. I used lots of dill and lots of pepper! It was a nice change from the ordinary salad, and very easy to prepare. We had it with grilled chicken. Thanks!

30 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz July 14, 2002

Very tasty and super easy to make!! I used long english cucmbers and left the skins on. I used about two sprigs of dill, as the recipe didn't specify the amount. Will definately make again, thanks for posting.

30 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Graybert July 01, 2002

I made this tonight, did add some garlic powder in it. Served it in a halved, cored, and seeded tomato. This recipe is excellent!! My husband wants it 4 times a week. Thank you for the recipe , Vicki

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki in Kansas Brown July 23, 2002

Liked the recipe but next time I'll use sour cream rather than mayo - my MIL makes it w/sour cream & no onion. The sour cream coats the cucumbers more.

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HopeK July 28, 2002

We throughly enjoyed this fresh, crispy salad! The dressing is very good. Thanks!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AdamB July 17, 2002

This was great. I had to make it without dill, and it was still very tasty and light. I'll be having this often this summer. I'm curious about why you need to soak the onions and cucumbers in sale..but it wasn't salty so no matter! Excellent. Thanks for the recipe.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy G July 09, 2002

Hubby says he likes it...Now he wants more. So you have your 5 Star right from the eaters mouth. I also used lots of pepper and dill. I will be making this real often Low In Sodium!!!!!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Braunda August 12, 2002

I was very suprised with this dish. I prepared the dish exactly the way the recipe goes. I believe the reason why you soak the cucumber and onion in salt water first is to absorb the onion flavor into the cucumber (I tasted it before adding other ingredients). In the future, I will mix the milk and the mayo first (seems to me it might be a little quicker to mix). I have to admit it was hard to rate this one, it has good flavor, but was \

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leona February 25, 2003

I have been trying to find a recipe for creamy cucumber salad for SO long! Finally I found one that tastes the way I remember!! Now I can't make it fast enough for my family! THANKS FOR THE HELP = ) I didn't soak the cucmbers and used sour cream and a little mayo.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sassy Cassie July 09, 2003
Cool and Creamy Cucumber Salad