17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe is great for the inexperience cook. It was easy to follow and the meat turned out tender with a great tomato taste. The gravy was even better. Served it with mashed potatotes and green beans.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Audrey M December 10, 2003

I think I've found out that I prefer a creamy mushroom gravy with pot roast, but this was good and the family went up for seconds.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary F March 08, 2013

I made this recipe several times using the meat called for in the recipe. Turned out dry. so, the 3 stars mean I used a boneless chuck roast, which cooked up tender and moist. I did add the carrots and it turned out great. My husband said this way is better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diane S July 20, 2009

This was very good. I added extra italian seasoning because we like our food well seasoned. Also added approx. 1/4 cup water...just in case. The gravy was awesome. I mixed in some wondra to thicken it a bit more. Served over egg noodles for dinner and lunch! Had a small bit left over and served it for breakfast with a fried egg on top. I'd make this again and it's a great recipe to experiment with. I think a can of rotel tomatoes would be a nice addition too. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jrusk June 06, 2009

This was pretty good. The flavor was nice, and it was very easy, but the meat was a bit dry. (I'm beginning to think I just don't like bottom round roasts.) I did add a bag of baby carrots, and they were cooked perfectly and very nicely seasoned. I cooked for 1 hour on high and 7 on low. I served it with mashed potatoes, but the sauce/gravy would have been very nice on gnocchi. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori in NC January 31, 2009

I can't use crockpot recipes with high sodium due to my DH"s health problems. My family was raving about this one. I am so pleased because the sodium content is extremely low and it is easy and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
recipesrmypassion October 07, 2008

Well, I have to admit, I was skeptical to try this one. I'm not usually a crock pot fan...and hubby has been traumatized by many a rotten crock pot meal as a kid...so he fears them even more than I do. With that said, this was AMAZING. The flavor was excellent, and the texture of the meat was to DIE for. We didn't even need a kife. I will definitley make this one again. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L-Burden May 13, 2008

This recipe was liked by husband. I'm not such a beef fan but this was really easy and quite tasty. Served with spaetzle.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pha March 18, 2008

This was a good roast, very tender. Next time I will probably add some Italian spices in addition to the Italian salad dressing mix for a little more flavor, but I did enjoy it though. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sky Valley Cook October 15, 2007

great roast! We really enjoyed it, I did thicken up the gravy with a little cornstarch and water at the end....will make again I am sure...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc September 24, 2007
Cooking Light's Crock Pot Italian Pot Roast